We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Orange Tree(Thornham)
US$ 185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No 33 Thornham(Thornham)
US$ 211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caley Hall Hotel(Hunstanton)
US$ 191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 228
US$ 198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hoste(Burnham Market)
US$ 263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
200
109
42
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
109
42
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssausagebiscuitsnew ownerscalamariroaring fireformer glorythe puboverlooking the seathe main dining rooma lovely place to staymini breaklounge arealong walkstaff were attentivewhilst on holidayevening mealreturn visit
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Having used this group before we had a delightful pre-Easter three night stay and were not disappointed. The bar and lounge have plenty of character with fires adding to the ambience. The menu gave plenty of choices and our meals were of an excellent quality, even a sausage for our Border Terrier for breakfast. Our room was of a high standard with good coastal views, bedding, towels and toiletries were of a high standard.

We very much look forward to a repeat visit.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicholas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EwenT77, General Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Nicholas

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us following your stay, its great to read that you enjoy staying with the Agellus hotel group and picked the Lifeboat this time! I'm so pleased that we met your expectations and you had a great stay with us. Mybe next time you could try our sister hotel just down the road the Chequers Inn?

Kind Regards

Ewen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We went for a family supper this evening and it was the worst meal I have had for a long time. It was also £160 for 4 adults and 1 small child - sausage and mash was £8.95 and she is 2 years old on the child’s menu.
None of us finished our meals - all the plates had lots of food left on them and NOBODY asked if everything was ok. Obviously they are used to people leaving their food.
The fish platter was a disgrace and was £19.50. With the sea almost in view every horrible piece of fish had come from a freezer. Don’t even start me on my fish pie
It was disgusting - John Torode would have had a melt down!
Shocking!
The only good thing was the very sweet waitress who served us, although I would question her taste because she said the fish platter was delicious!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EwenT77, General Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Sara

Thank you very much for your feedback following your visit to us, would you please contact Keith Barnes our Assistant Manager who oversees the food and beverage operation on keith@lifeboatinnthornham.com as he would like to discuss your feedback with you in person.

Kind regards

Ewen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Our family loved the food and superb service here. The fish starter to share was huge and everything on it was super tasty...the breads were also a highlight. The fish was super fresh and had lovely crispy batter. My veg option was also excellent, the sweet potato fries were tasty. My daughters chocolate ice cream sundae was so good we ordered another one. We expected fish , we got fish and it was good fish. There are plenty other meat options too though. The only thing I would change is the heating was on too high!! It got hotter and hotter.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank kathmac100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EwenT77, General Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review of the Lifeboat Inn, its really great to read such lovely feedback on the food offering at the hotel. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the kitchen team. I will also review the heating to ensure its at the right level.

I hope we get to welcome you back again in the near future

Kind regards

Ewen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We went for a sort of late lunch early tea in the week last week. Chose a couple of starters and a Fish platter to share with some skinnys. Skinnys were hard so we sent them straight back. The fish platter was sad. VERY disappointing at nearly £20, not fresh, as you would expect being right on the Norfolk coast, where were the beautiful things locally sourced and treated with flair? not on this board at all. Frozen crispy prawns that were all exactly the same shape and size and tasted of nothing, average white bait that also tasted like frozen, very oily. The sauces were just flavored mayonnaise, and no lemon served, so i had to get up and ask as no one came to check us, it needed lemon to try and give it some taste. The bread served was not home made either (as the menu declared) and is the same pink beetroot bread and pumpkin bread that is made at a local bakery and served in lots of shops in the area. When I ordered the food, I was prompted to offer a tip by the card machine (as payment up front required) I declined as what would I be tipping for????? very bad idea that, as it makes the meal feel almost un - cared for from start to finish. we were very let down as always like the life boat usually fresh fish and great atmosphere, It was very lacking in any of that on the day we visited.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EwenT77, General Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Jo

Thank you very much for your feedback following your visit to us, would you please contact Keith Barnes our Assistant Manager who oversees the food and beverage operation on keith@lifeboatinnthornham.com as he would like to discuss your feedback with you in person.

Kind regards

Ewen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed a long weekend stay at this inn. We were surprised when we arrived and the large car park was very busy. We had not realised that this establishment is listed as "the greatest doggie hotel" and consequently lots of the patrons had their canine friends of all sizes with them. But we were shown to a very comfortable and well equipped room, showing no signs of previous animal residents. We later found out that dogs and their owners have their own area of rooms in the hotel and a separate restaurant, which was very pleasing.
We had arranged to eat "in" for all three nights of our stay. The dinner menu had a wide choice of food which came in extremely large portions. We only managed sorbets/ice creams for pud. The food was delicious and well presented and the service warm and friendly, even on a very busy Saturday evening, when a third overflow restaurant came into use.
The surrounding area was very good for bird watching (Titchwell RSPB) and exploring local history in the nearby villages.

Ratings (buttons not working). Service: 5; Food: 5; Value: 4.

Room Tip: Make sure they know if you are or are not bringing a dog/S with you.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank champagneandoysters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EwenT77, General Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Lifeboat, its fantastic to read that you had such a great time staying with us, its especially pleasing to read that you found the food and service to be of such a high standard.

I do hope you will be back to visit again in the future

Kind regards

Ewen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews