We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely play to stay in countryside”
Review of Saracens Head

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wolterton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saracens Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Wolterton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“lovely play to stay in countryside”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We found this via the Good Pub Guide and Trip Advisor. Doubtful whether you would come across it by chance as it is situated along narrow lanes and is entirely on its own. However, this is a great place to stay. Excellent room, beautifully renovated and kept. Food in the evening was rather pricey (6.50 for a slice of treacle tart is well over the top) but the main courses were superbly cooked. Friendly welcome. The bar area is compact but the beer is local and well kept. Breakfast was as good as it gets, though the service between starters and the hot dishes was very slow. But this is a minor point in an otherwise great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _davidius61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    36
    8
    8
    0
See reviews for
22
80
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

If you manage to track down this pub then take the time to go in and have a drink and something to eat. The food is excellent, the owner, Tim is warm and welcoming and the real ale is well kept. There is a lovely courtyard outside to sit in.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeysav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Have been meaning to review the Saracens Head since we were there for my husband's birthday in February. We booked a room as well so we could both enjoy a drink with the meal. The food was fabulous, the wine excellent and at a perfect temperature. The service was fantastic and the owner had gone out of his way to help me get the evening booked beforehand. The room was lovely, clean and very comfortable with everything you could want available, and they use lovely locally made soaps and shampoos. My only teeny downside was that the room was boiling and I couldn't turn the heat down at all, so kept having to try and push the window open more. But frankly, that's minor. It was a lovely evening with great food. Worth the trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VFRMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This pub is very much in the middle of nowhere, the kind of place I like really. Firstly travelling alone I didn't feel that I had been ripped off with the price I paid for the room. The chap who helped me was very friendly. He did his best to get the connection for the internet but I had to do without any contact with the outside world that night. The room was fine, I had a large double bed & the bathroom was very clean & well appointed. The bar area is a bit dull, but there were some very lively people in there that night, so I didn't notice it much. My food was tasty, though maybe a bit on the pricey side. Everyone in the room seemed quite satisfied with what they ate, apart from one lady, who wanted her duck pink & it wasn't, mind you she did appear to have some marital issues! It was a very quiet night with little traffic passing & I always sleep with my window open. For me what made this place was the breakfast, among all the usual things to eat & drink, the coffee was out of this world. I have to say it's the best I've ever tasted. I finished my breakfast feeling contented & full. Although the food was a bit on the pricey side, my stay was an enjoyable one & I would go back again...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We waited 45 minutes for our food on what appeared to be a slow Sunday. There were only 5 other people in the dining room and very few more in the bar. I estimate there were maybe 20 in the courtyard.
The menu looked extensive and varied. I chose the Dogfish with chilli and garlic oil - delicious. My wife ate a Courgette Gratin - good
I complained about the wait and we got the drinks free. They did apologise.
We didn't like the piped pop music.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheppoNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolterton
11.1 km away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
826 reviews
6.1 km away
Felbrigg Lodge
Felbrigg Lodge
#1 of 5 in Aylmerton
527 reviews
7.3 km away
The Pigs
The Pigs
#2 of 27 in Holt
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
The Green House B & B
The Green House B & B
#1 of 4 in Thorpe Market
239 reviews
17.0 km away
The George Hotel Cley
The George Hotel Cley
#3 of 6 in Cley Next the Sea
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saracens Head? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracens Head

Property: Saracens Head
Address: Wall Road | Wolterton, Wolterton NR11 7LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wolterton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wolterton
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,390
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arty,comfortable B&B, and scrumptious food, lost in the lanes ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel Wolterton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing