We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellant cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Overdale Cottage

Lounge with spiral staircase, beamed ceiling and a comfy leather suite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with spiral staircase, beamed ceiling and a comfy leather suite
Original gritstone fireplace with wood burning stove and exposed stone wall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
115 reviews
Lounge with spiral staircase, beamed ceiling and a comfy leather suite
Original gritstone fireplace with wood burning stove and exposed stone wall
Bathroom with shower over bath
The roof terrace - sit and relax and take in the fantastic views of Bradford Dale and beyond
Overdale Cottage showing the roof terrace
Looking towards Bankside and Overdale Cottage
The old clapper bridge at the bottom of the footpath, looking towards Middleton Dale
Bradford Dale - at the bottom of the footpath
The swimming area in Bradford Dale
Clapper bridge at the bottom of Bradford Road
The packhorse bridge, Bradford Dale
The Fountain, erected after a campaign by local women who had to haul water up from the river
Lathkill Dale, just a short walk from the cottage
There are numerous walks in and around Lathkill Dale
Lathkill Dale - spectacular scenery
Looking down on Lathkill Dale
Alport - another short walk from the cottage
Alport - vagabonds be warned!
Try a Bakewell Pudding from the original shop
Bridge over the River Wye, Bakewell
Peak Rail - take the steam train from Rowsley to Matlock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 115 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dibde
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellant cottage”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were very pleased with the lovely accomodation offered at overdale cottage. Like stepping back in time if you want peace tranquility and access to amazing views and walks this is definately the place to go . Do be aware that overdale is on a step path and would probably not be suitable for less mobile.
The facilities in the cottage were perfect everything clean
There are 3 pubs in walking distance but our favourite was the farmyard inn excellant food but its reputation means you have to book even on a monday .
All in all an amazing four days spent walking and enjoying the scenery of the peak district.
My only negative comment would be that probably the roof terrace not so dog friendly we were unable to let our cocjer out there alone for fear of him jumping over the low wall but there is a lovely river just a few steps from the cottage so wasnt too much of a probkem.
I wouldnt hesitate recommendibg this cottage and the owners were very quick with the booking process
Thanks again for a great 4 days

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl M
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful cottage in an amazing location”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had a really great 4 days in this lovely cottage. Perfect location in the heart of a very pretty village with great pub across the road. Had everything you could need, very cosy and nicely decorated. Made us and our dog feel very welcome. Stunning views and walks from the door.
What more could you want? Would love to stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie F
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely little cottage, very cosy, good facilities and great views. Great to take your doggies and there are lovely walks out of the door, you don't need to get in the car to take them! Big plus.
Enjoyed our stay very much, nice and relaxing, a home from home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachands...
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage in a Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We've just returned from a beautiful and relaxing week at Overdale Cottage. It's such a cosy place full of character that we instantly felt at home. Despite it being a one bedroom cottage there's bags of room for everything we needed to take away with us. Sitting on the roof terrace each evening with a glass of wine whilst enjoying the lush greenery of Bradford Dale was the perfect way to end a busy day's walking or cycling! Breakfast in the sunshine was so nice too.

We've stayed at Youlgreave a few times before but haven't always been satisfied with the location but Overdale offers all that and more! Phill ans Susan are so nice and clearly take pride in providing a memorable holiday home. We'll definitely be back next year and would recommend it to anyone who loves a tranquil time in Derbyshire!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and character.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin d
Forsbrook, United Kingdom
1 review
“cosy cottage with fantastic views walks pubs and local butchers shop”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

What a fantastic few days we didnt use the car during our stay. Fab walks to suit your fitness and time available from the doorstep then theres either a trip to one of three local pubs or call into local butcher for excellent choice of goodies. Then you can relax in very comfy sofa or sit out in your own patio area with bradford dale views.
Thank you Philip and Susan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: walking and patio garden no need for car all holiday
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing