We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hollywell Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
090861
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely stay.”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked as a last minute break for 3 nights as my partner had been feeling a bit out of sorts recently. We booked and paid on Tripadviser with paypal (dead easy). On arrival, Andrew showed us round what turned out to be a lovely cottage. There was a paddock adjoining, which Oscar loved. Everything in the cottage was clean and well thought out. We cooked a meal on the last night and there was nothing that we needed that wasn't provided (apart from the food, of course). The cottage is well posisioned for walking and on the first day we did Wirksworth, Cromford, Cromford Canal, Black Rock and back home. A lovely walk On the second day we drove the short distance to Carsington Water and walked around there. The weather was lovely and i enjoyed a few pints in the welcoming and very dog friendly Malt Shovel on our return. we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage and have indeed paid much more for very inferior cottages which were adverised as 'luxury' and were most certainly far from it. Thanks again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil T
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay and great location”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at Hollywell Lodge which is well equipped, comfortable and relaxing. The cottage has its own private entrance and patio area with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. There is a local pub down the road and the centre of Wirksworth (with pubs/restaurants/tea shops etc) is approximately 20 minutes away on foot. This cottage is ideal for those who love walking and cycling. We enjoyed cycling the Tissington Trail and around Carsington Water, both nearby. The stunning Chatsworth House is a short drive away and a must-see. We also enjoyed visiting the Crich tram museum, Wirksworth steam railway, Ashbourne and Bakewell. Thank you to the owners Rob and Tracy for a very enjoyable visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerstin M
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hollywell Lodge- perfect accommodation for us and our hounds!”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We booked the Lodge last minute for us and our 2 dogs after finding that a lot of holiday cottages only allow for one ' well - behaved' dog. Booking & payment was very simple and the owner responded very quickly to our initial enquiry.
We can't actually believe how reasonable the cost was- the Lodge could easily cost much more!
We were given all of the information needed about the Lodge and found Robert ( the owner) very welcoming upon our arrival.
Having the field right next to the Lodge was brilliant for the dogs and they loved it!
The Lodge is very well equipped ( apart from a bread-knife ) and was absolutely immaculate.
We spent 5 days here and had a fantastic time exploring the magnificent area.
Thoroughly recommended - we can't wait to come back!
Thank you Robert and Tracy.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Holly H
Kirkby Mallory, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet, friendly getaway”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Owners were friendly and helpful.
Beautiful little building, full of character and kitted out nicely with everything we needed.
Great location with a STUNNING view, great parking and really close to everything we wanted to do.
Comfortably fit 4 adults (one of us is 6ft 7!) and a large dog.
Would definitely come again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the property
Liked least: Shower was a tad on the small side but it wasn't an issue
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing