We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, relaxing and just simple perfect.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cross View

Cross View is the right hand cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cross View is the right hand cottage.
Cross View (right-hand cottage) Cross View showing the green.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Cross View is the right hand cottage.
Cross View (right-hand cottage)
Cross View showing the green.
Cross View lounge-dining room
Everyone loves a log fire, including our dog Georgia.
The double bedroom has just been completely refurbished.
The twin bedroom has also been refurbished (April 2016).
Another view of the twin bedroom.
Cross View garden and patio area
Cross View kitchen-breakfast room (kitchen end)
Cross View kitchen-breakfast room (breakfast room end)
Cross View - view from double bedroom
Litton village green in spring
Our shower with rain head is very popular with guests.
Double bedroom
Cross View is pet-friendly and dogs love the walks. Roly likes the view from the top of this stile.
These woods are within easy walking distance of Cross View.
Our local pub, the Red Lion, is just across the green and dog friendly..
Tideswell Dale, Good Friday  2016.
Cressbrook Dale in summer
Ideal winter walks
Fine frosty weather
Our local dale, Cressbrook Dale, has spectacular views.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Tideswell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maryrdec
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, relaxing and just simple perfect.”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I would most definitely return to this cottage. The value price for this cottage is really good that included everything there. It's just perfect!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elle K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't speak more highly of it!”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Cross View cottage was the most perfect setting for our girlie getaway celebrating a friends birthday! The village itself is mostly quiet, but attracts walkers and cyclists throughout the day at The Red Lion pub. The cottage fits in with the village beautifully, with a slightly old-fashioned theme running throughout the interior, stunning views of farmlands and fields, and a fabulous open log fire! Personally, I disagree with the comments stating that it needs some TLC as everything is in perfect working order, we had no issues whatsoever during our stay; the beds were extremely comfortable, tablets are provided for the dishwasher, washing powder for the washing machine, iPod docking station, free wifi, TV with freeview in the lounge, TV in twin room, shower was perfectly powerful and a great temperature! Everything we could possibly need during our stay there was wonderful! There was even a shovel and a sledge, which both came in handy as it was snowing!

If you get the chance, take a walk to the next village along called Tideswell. It's only a 20 minute walk along a road with fantastic views of the peak district. There is a co-op, post office, natwest bank and a great pub called The George inn!

Overall, a fantastic stay! Carol, the owner, could not have been more helpful throughout the booking process! Can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cross View cottage was very comfortable but would benefit from some TLC. We loved the location and it was ideal for travelling with 2 dogs. The village and surrounding areas are beautiful. The pub opposite serves wonderful food but is a bit pricey and we went into Tideswell and can recommend George Hotel (Dogs welcome) and the Corner Chippy. A must to visit is Vanilla Kitchen, the staff are wonderful and dogs are welcome. Overall it was a wonderful week in a beautiful part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful location
Liked least: The tired decor and furniture
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2015
I spoke with this reviewer and got detailed feedback. We now send a detailed feedback form to all guests, so that extra TLC can be provided promptly when and where it is needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tastytrea...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value stay...opposite village pub!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The owner have created a very homely cottage that is clean, compact and great to access the Peak District. The pub over the road was excellent after a day out and the cottage had pretty much everything you would need and had a cosy feel. Would have benefitted from better outdoor space as we had gorgeous weather but was great value compared to other places we stayed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhawes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

wow what a lovely warm and cosy cottage. just perfect for what we wanted we stayed as a married couple with our daughter and 15 month old granddaughter. so child friendly it has to be seen to be believed. the rooms inside the cottage are much bigger than they look in the photos. the open log/coal fire was magical. the beds were comfortable and the towels and sheets were of good quality. the use of a dishwasher added a nice touch and the washer drier was good. we were provided with everything required for the fire and the kitchen was very well equipped and included tea bags and a bottle of milk in the fridge. the only thing i would have liked would be a safety gate for the top of the stairs for our toddler but that was all. overall excellent weekend would recommend highly and would certainly love to stay there again. thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: log/coal fire
Liked least: nothing all good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing