We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful cottage, thoughtfully equipped...”
other travellers have booked this property
Swift Cottage in Tideswell
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swift Cottage in Tideswell
Our unrivalled outdoor dining area has superb views Comfortable Living Room. Free Wifi ,BluRay ,HD FreeSat , Selection of books , games and DVD's
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Swift Cottage in Tideswell
Our unrivalled outdoor dining area has superb views
Comfortable Living Room. Free Wifi ,BluRay ,HD FreeSat , Selection of books , games and DVD's
Our dining table seats six.
Our modern kitchen is well equipped.
The warm and welcoming landing area.
Our Luxury Bathroom with separate shower, whirlpool bath and underfloor heating
Basin and mirror with shaver point and demister
Clean and modern our shower is pure luxury
View from the bedroom window
Quality teak garden furniture
Savour the views whilst relaxing in comfort.
Well-maintained enclosed garden
Sunset from the terrace
Snowy dawn from the bedroom
Tideswell Church St John the Baptist, February 2012
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tideswell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caroline...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful cottage, thoughtfully equipped, tastefully furnished, great location”
Reviewed 12 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We caught the final week of a Peak District Indian summe, so our lovely holiday was rather magical in such warm weather - the rain arrived on the day we left!
The whole process from booking to return of deposit post-holiday worked really efficiently and questions were promptly answered.

Tideswell is a great location for exploring in all directions and the village itself is charming and its shops enough to not need a 'big shop' in a Buxton supermarket. Swift Cottage is just as quaint as the photos suggest we were four adults and retriever and we were comfortable and cosy. The kitchen is pretty well-equipped and the whole cottage tastefully decorated. The bedlinen was lovely & crisp and the bathroom spotless. Off-road parking is an essential for us and was really convenient. Plenty of walks from the cottage so no need to use the car every day.

It felt like the owners were really bothered that we had a great holiday and enjoyed their lovely cottage and we all absolutely did!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was what we were led to expect!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mandybark...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in an ideal spot with lovely views.”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent Xmas in Tideswell after searching the internet for the ideal location. We found it in Swift cottage. From the start of our enquiry to our return home Charles and Adelle were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The cottage is set in a perfect spot with lovely views and only a short walk into Tideswell village. It is very well equipped and spotlessly clean and the bathroom is stunning with the an amazing spa bath which was very relaxing after our long walks in the surrounding countryside. The beds were extremely comfortable so we all had a goods night sleep, even myself who struggles to sleep away from home. The couple who live next door were very friendly as were everyone we met in the village ( especially a large group of locals we met on boxing day in The Horse and Jockey who made us feel really welcome ).All in all we had a fabulous Xmas in Swift Cottage and hopefully will return. Thank you Charles and Adelle for making it a Xmas to remember!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nell A
Newmarket
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in a great location for exploring the Peak District”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at Swift Cottage, and every bit as enjoyable as before. Many cottages once they've been 'done' will then be left to gradually deteriorate over the years, eventually becoming shabby - not so with Swift Cottage! Charles and Adelle are committed to continual improvements, and will immediately replace/repair as required, ensuring a very high standard is maintained. We find the cottage very clean, comfortable and well-equipped, and the whirlpool bath is a godsend after a hard day's hiking (after enjoying a glass of wine on the terrace to watch the sun set....). Tideswell is a great base for exploring the Peak District, whether it be for the wonderful and varied walking, or visiting it's many other attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting out on the terrace to watch the sun set
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CdT
UK- london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect retreat”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed here for the second time this yea, initially as a base for house hunting, but second time just cos it@s so fab! Comfy, well equipped and great location for walking and eating.
Charles and Adele are real stars, when we got caught up and thought we'd miss our grocery delivery, they asked the lovely neighbours to help. Only holiday home where a laptop has been provided, so hubby and I can enjoy true marital bliss- his'n'hers pooters.
The only downside was that our favourite restaurant had a corporate do on all week, so my mission is to go back for my birthday next year- hope you'll have us back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing