We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect cottage for exploring the peak district”
other travellers have booked this property
Swift Cottage in Tideswell
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swift Cottage in Tideswell
Our unrivalled outdoor dining area has superb views Comfortable Living Room. Free Wifi ,BluRay ,HD FreeSat , Selection of books , games and DVD's
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Swift Cottage in Tideswell
Our unrivalled outdoor dining area has superb views
Comfortable Living Room. Free Wifi ,BluRay ,HD FreeSat , Selection of books , games and DVD's
Our dining table seats six.
Our modern kitchen is well equipped.
The warm and welcoming landing area.
Our Luxury Bathroom with separate shower, whirlpool bath and underfloor heating
Basin and mirror with shaver point and demister
Clean and modern our shower is pure luxury
View from the bedroom window
Quality teak garden furniture
Savour the views whilst relaxing in comfort.
Well-maintained enclosed garden
Sunset from the terrace
Snowy dawn from the bedroom
Tideswell Church St John the Baptist, February 2012
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tideswell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maisiedog...
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect cottage for exploring the peak district”
Reviewed 29 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

A very welcoming, comfortable cottage. Well maintained with excellent attention to detail including welcome pack of local produce and great selection of books detailing peak district walks, a netbook, and a pay as you go phone was also supplied although we didnt use it. We found the cottage to be very clean, constant hot water/heating and particularly comfortable beds/pillows. The log burner is an added bonus with initial logs and kindling supplied. Location is great with handy co-op and bakery in the village. We ate out at several local pubs our favourite being the Red Lion at Litton.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: overall standard of the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Reviewed 6 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monkeys_M...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Comfortable cosy cottage, great location.”
Reviewed 2 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Having both grown up in the Peak District we were looking for a cottage in Tideswell as we knew it as a pretty village with most of the amenities you could require in the middle of the Peak District.

The cottage itself was delightful; very comfortable, especially the beds, and is equipped to a high standard. It felt like a home from home.

The cottage is on the south facing slope of a little valley leading out of Tideswell, a five to ten minute walk from the village centre. This offers views of fields from the deligthful terrace that gets sun all day, if the weather is in your favour. Of all the cottages we saw in Tideswell, Swift Cottage had the largest terrace, and the only one with a table large enough to enjoy alfresco dining. The location combines the feeling of both village and countryside; you can often wake up to the sound of birds, cows, sheep and other wildlife.

The owners were very helpful, though we did not need to call on them.

There were a few nice touches like the flowers, milk and wine upon arrival.

The village itself has a real community feeling. There are enough shops that you could survive without a trip to the nearest big supermarket (Buxton 6 miles). There is a butchers, bakers, greengrocers, florist, dairy, post office, small convenience store, plus various cafes, fish and chip shops and pubs. There are three pubs in the village, plus two others less than a mile outside the village (The Anchor and the Red Lion), which should keep most people happy.

The surrounding countryside is absolutely beautiful. We were lucky with the weather, but even if you're not there is plenty to do; there is a lot of information available in the cottage to help you decide what to do/where to go.

We would recommend this cottage as a great base to explore the Peak District.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
Reviewed 16 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cornwall
Reviewed 12 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: very clean and tidy, fully equipped
Liked least: can't find anything to say
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jun 2011
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you and family again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing