We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
94
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones on arrival local walks handel's muse a wonderful stay alton towers lovely touch beautiful cottage welcome basket games room short break tissington trail gym emma countryside dogs fab
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Emma was a very welcoming host and a lovely welcome basket awaited us on arrival with fresh scones and eggs, and some milk etc in the fridge - lovely touch! The cottage was very cosy and really stylish inside. The kitchen was very well stocked with all the utensils you could need! We were ever so lucky to arrive as the heat wave did, so we enjoyed sunny local walks, bike rides along the local Tissington Trail and a great fun fueled day at Alton Towers. The garden was beautiful and peaceful, and we enjoyed dinner outside in the heated seating areas once or twice. A gym is available if requires as well as a games room with well stocked games and books. Wifi was good too. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlotte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldfieldsFarm, Owner at Oldfields Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review, Charlotte. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

I stayed in Gorsey Hayes (6 people) with my family for a few days in May 2017.
We were delighted with the property- everything was very clean and tidy, brilliantly kitted out, with a modern kitchen but homely bedrooms and lounge area. We made good use of hte outdoor seating, and the table tennis / gym was an added bonus.
It's in a great spot for walking in Derbyshire, not far from Dovedale, and removed from the huslte and bustle of everyday life. The nearest shops are in Ashbourne so a short drive away, and there's plenty to do in the wider area - Carsington water for watersports, Alton Towers and so on.
Would definitely recommend, and hope to come again in future to explore the area a bit more.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linzibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed during the spring bank holiday weekend. We were very impressed by Handel's Muse and other facilities at Oldfields Farm. Vaughan and Diane were also very welcoming and helpful! Would love to visit again. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank soulma9e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan C, Owner at Oldfields Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you for the positive review of your stay with us. We're pleased you were impressed with the accommodation and facilities we have on offer here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Oldfields farm between the 13-16 of May for a long weekend. There were 6 of us from my family.

We were made to feel welcome in a beautiful barn conversion where there was excellent attention to detail. The rooms were spacious and comfortable the kitchen dining area excellent for spending evenings cooking and socialising.

My mum enjoyed walks around the grounds seeing the horses, whereas my brother and I enjoyed the table tennis table in the rec room!

In the local area there is lots to do. We spent one day cycling the tissington trail, another going clay pigeon shooting and the final day going to Chatsworth house and Carsington water.

I'm sure we will be back because my parents were so bowled over by it.

Thank you for the great hospitality.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Zhainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan C, Owner at Oldfields Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

We're so pleased that your whole family enjoyed their stay with us and appreciated the facilities we have here at Oldfields Farm and the lovely surrounding area. It would be great to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely weekend break in the Derbyshire dales. Vaughn and Diane are very hospitable and the converted barn was perfect for our family of 6. Ideally placed to explore the sights. We recommend visiting bakewell and trying the original bakewell tart from bloomers.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank omarmC3091BF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan C, Owner at Oldfields Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you for posting your review. We're pleased you found the accommodation to your liking and enjoyed the lovely local area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews