We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and very friendly staff”
Review of The Castle

The Castle
Ranked #11 of 22 Restaurants in Castleton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Castle - Castleton offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

I can heartily recommend The Castle. The beer is great, the staff are excellent and the food is superb. I doubt that there is a better value place to refresh yourself in the Hope Valley.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi Jon O, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Castle, Castleton. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We sincerely thank you for the positive review, and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Team Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 173 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

A great, welcoming stop after a weary walk. Dog-friendly, and when we moved outside, the girl even brought a water bowl out to make sure my rascal was well-watered.

Pub is clean, tidy and smart, but still has a traditional feel to it.

Beer is well-kept, bar well-maintained.

Good pub, well-run.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank whothefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Castle, Castleton. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!
Team Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We booked a table for dinner and asked if we could bring our dog and were told it was fine in the bar area. When we arrived we had a friendly welcome and our dog was given some treats which she rather enjoyed! We both had very good meals here together with a nice bottle of wine. Would definitely recommend especially if you are looking for somewhere dog friendly,

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy and jac R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi Andy And Jac R, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Castle, Castleton. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day!
Team Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Had a lovely meal served by very friendly and efficient staff. The atmosphere is always cosy and relaxed and my dog is always made extremely welcome. Thankyou, will definitely be back !

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dhubbad294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Castle, Castleton. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!
Team Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Great service, lovely food, staff can't do enough to help. Don't understand the poor ratings. And I'm fussy. Definitely recommend!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank tescoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day!
Team Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Castle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing