We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening”
Review of Castle Hotel

Castle Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in Castleton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Castle - Castleton offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Had a lovely meal served by very friendly and efficient staff. The atmosphere is always cosy and relaxed and my dog is always made extremely welcome. Thankyou, will definitely be back !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dhubbad294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Castle, Castleton. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!
Team Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Great service, lovely food, staff can't do enough to help. Don't understand the poor ratings. And I'm fussy. Definitely recommend!

Thank tescoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day!
Team Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Adequate service and attention but were unable to cook and serve a Rump steak. Mine was tough and rare, I had ordered Medium.
While refund swiftly made meal with partner spoilt.
Good range of beer well served.
I expected better from a Vintage Inn.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hi Charles C, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.
We would love to have the opportunity to invite you back as we do not take reviews lightly, and would like to ensure you remember us for the right reasons.
If there is anything the management team can do for you do not hesitate to give us a ring on the number provided below.
We hope that if you take us up on the offer of visiting us again we are able to impress you and give you something to smile about!
Thank you for taking your time out to give us valuable feedback, as we cannot improve without it!
Your comments have been handed over to the team so we can provide higher quality service and food.
Thanks again.
George White
Duty manager
01433 620 578
castlehotelcastleton@vintageinn.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

What can I say? A little pricey but absolutely superb! How many mornings can you leave the room to get a paper, and have a Church, Castle & Pub in front of you? Location can't be bettered! The breakfast could do with being updated from "Continental", but when you're looking through the window at a Castle first thing.....

Thank TigerTattoo97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Castle, Castleton! Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day!
Team Castle
01433 620 578

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

"I bet the manager won't respond to this review" What a Joke never got deserts after 40 minutes of waiting. We had a refund for not having the dessert but less than what we paid for. Only eat there because we were stopping there. Staff didn't like been questioned for there actions. All we got was can you leave and not addressing the mater. Look forward to response

6  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing