We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Strutt Cottage

The cosy relaxing living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cosy relaxing living room
Warmed by a no fuss cast iron real-flame gas stove. The stable door makes the most of the summer breezes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
The cosy relaxing living room
Warmed by a no fuss cast iron real-flame gas stove.
The stable door makes the most of the summer breezes
Strutt Cottage in its lovely location
Sumptous King Size bed and a lovely view of a 13 century chapel
Comfortable, stylish and luxurious
The lovely view across to the 13th century chapel. Can you imagine reading a book here?
Well equipped and stylish kitchen.
Quality fixtures, fittings and furniture.
Clean, bright colour coordinated bathroom.
The Bathroom
View of  the 13th Century St.Johns Chapel and its grounds from Strutt Cottage
Sunset from Strutt Cottage
Looking towards Strutt Cottage
St. John's Chapelyard, a lovely spot for an evening stroll.
Belper Market Place, a two minute walk from Strutt Cottage
Just around the corner lovely Georgian architecture and cracking views and fabulous shops
World Heritage Listed Belper Mills. The North Mill & East Mills seen from the River Derwent
A remnant medieval landscape, Belper Parks is just two minutes walk from Strutt Cottage
Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall are only a short car or bus journey away
The sun trap terraced gardens, planted with cottagey Mediterranean style plants and herbs.
The top patio enjoys expansive rooftop views of Belper and the surrounding countryside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Gillian G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute Cottage”
Reviewed 25 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Cute little cottage ideally situated for local amenities. Fire was lit when we arrived which was a nice touch. Cottage was very cosy despite it being cold outside, and the bed was seriously comfy! Sadly we had to cut our stay short owing to hubby falling ill so we didn't get to do and see half the things we'd planned.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2018
Thanks for the lovely review! Hope your husband made a swift recovery and sorry you didn’t get to do all you wanted to. You’re welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cameron A
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nearly Top Marks !”
Reviewed 17 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Strutt Cottage, deserves to be graded higher:

Location : 5/5

The location of this sweet cottage could not be better, walking distance into the Center of Belper, with its wonderful array of shops, Cafes and Bars.
Also Handy for the buses and trains, should you want to let the Local transport take the strain.

Bed : 5/5

A perfect nights sleep on a wonderful Comfortable bed, with beautiful quality of bedding.

Cleanliness 2/5

On reading the Booklet provided i thought perfect that everything was in place to make this an amazing break. However i was sadly wrong, Either the cleaner needs to pay a bit more attention to detail or book a sight test. On the first night relaxing on the sofa, some change fell out of my pocket onto the floor and under the sofa, The amount of dirt under it was absolutely shocking, On further investigation, Cobwebs hanging from the bathroom ceiling, a mass of dirt and grime on the extractor vent and on the shower rail also in the bathroom, and the tiled floor in the kitchen at the side of the fridge and cooker, well..YUK, i wont even mention the Lightshade in the kitchen..

The hoover provided, did not look like it had been cleaned in weeks, packed to the hilt, and the pad, was filthy.

On a saftey Note, Be warned The shower is far the worst i have ever used, it was impossible, the bars to get temperature made no difference, last grey bar you expect some heat, None! First red bar, FAR FAR TO HOT- UNBEARABLE and i love a hot shower.

The heater on the stairs, not only sends out great warmth it also heats the Bannister above it.. Nearly burnt my hands on the metal!

As i said, on the whole Strutt is an amazing cottage, Great Location, and well appointed, a few missing things, like occasional table for drinks in the evening and its mentioned on other reviews, nets on the window, unless you like being naked in front of people coming out of the bathroom!

From the churchyard opposite clear view right into the bedroom!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mariiarog...
2 reviews
“Lovely long weekend stay”
Reviewed 28 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed for 3 nights on a weekend and it was lovely, there was a cosy fireplace that kept us nice and warm while the weather outside was freezing, the whole house was comfortable cosy and warm, the owner was helpful and responded to any enquirys quickly and was very helpful. Me, my husband and my 3 month old baby stayed here and he has never slept so well as he did There, so my baby loved it too. The kitchen has everything you need to make anything you want. And the view from the back window of the house is amazing. Loved our stay and would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing