We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful perfect place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Strutt Cottage

The cosy relaxing living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cosy relaxing living room
Warmed by a no fuss cast iron real-flame gas stove. The stable door makes the most of the summer breezes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
The cosy relaxing living room
Warmed by a no fuss cast iron real-flame gas stove.
The stable door makes the most of the summer breezes
Strutt Cottage in its lovely location
Sumptous King Size bed and a lovely view of a 13 century chapel
Comfortable, stylish and luxurious
The lovely view across to the 13th century chapel. Can you imagine reading a book here?
Well equipped and stylish kitchen.
Quality fixtures, fittings and furniture.
Clean, bright colour coordinated bathroom.
The Bathroom
View of  the 13th Century St.Johns Chapel and its grounds from Strutt Cottage
Sunset from Strutt Cottage
Looking towards Strutt Cottage
St. John's Chapelyard, a lovely spot for an evening stroll.
Belper Market Place, a two minute walk from Strutt Cottage
Just around the corner lovely Georgian architecture and cracking views and fabulous shops
World Heritage Listed Belper Mills. The North Mill & East Mills seen from the River Derwent
A remnant medieval landscape, Belper Parks is just two minutes walk from Strutt Cottage
Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall are only a short car or bus journey away
The sun trap terraced gardens, planted with cottagey Mediterranean style plants and herbs.
The top patio enjoys expansive rooftop views of Belper and the surrounding countryside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Lindseyba...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely place to stay, perfectly placed beautifuly clean everything you could need for a special birthday weekend, also a great sun trap of a garden !!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Thanks for the lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goomaks
Ware, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lacks the finishing touches”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Nice property, very clean. Good information pack supplied. Old cottage so no central heating, log effect gas fire downstairs, gas heater at top of the stairs. Poor quality bedding - bottom fitted toweling sheet `bubbly` old, worn and needed replacing, pillows old foam ones that needed replacing. There were bath towels and hand towels but no bath sheets. There was no bath mat to step onto when getting out of the shower/bath. Poor cheap quality toilet paper. It seems that they are trying to keep rental costs down, but some things are suffering because of this

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
Many thanks for the comments. We have now replaced the bedding and pillows you mentioned. Admittedly they were slightly overdue for it. The towel set has also been replaced, this was a spare set and was the only set we had that had bath towels rather than sheets and no matching bath mat. Thanks for bringing these to our attention.
As it is self catering we supply an initial toilet roll, which is the brand we use at home - people are obviously welcome to get their preferred brand during their stay.
We hope you found the 7.5KW output gas coal-effect cast-iron stove warm, along with the upstairs heater and heated towel rail. We used to live in this cottage and found these more than adequate and space saving over boilers and radiators, as you probably observed. We are pleased that you found the property nice and clean.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginette B
1 review
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a wonderful 5 nights stay over the New Year and the locals of the various pubs and restaurants we visited where most pleasant. Belper is a quaint little village with all you need to relax. The Ritz Cinema was so cute watching a film with a glass of wine.
Just wish we could have had our New Years Day Dinner in the Cottage but we couldn't get the oven to work which was a little upsetting at the time, but we managed with the simpler foods for the day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Comfy Bed & Lovey towels
Liked least: Oven not working
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thanks for your comments and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and the local area.. We checked the oven and it was in good working order, it may have been the ignition device, which we have replaced.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robperrym...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Cosy little place. had a great stay and would definitely consider visiting again. Belper is quite a nice place with some decent places to eat

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2015
Many thanks for the review Rob, glad you liked Belper and enjoyed our local food offer. It's certainly something Belper is becoming increasingly known for!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thorntons...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet area of Belper close to amentities”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Close to all amenities and convenient for train and bus station. Coop near by and Morrisions a short walk away. Plenty of quality eateries and an amazing delicatessen 'Fresh Basil'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bath and shower available
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Thank you for your comments. Belper is a great little place and Strutt Cottage is very well-placed for a holiday with everything at hand yet situated in a lovely quiet spot. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we're very happy to be welcoming you back again next year! Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 56
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing