We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for big family party”
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Relax in the pool relax with a song or two by the piano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Relax in the pool
relax with a song or two by the piano
DINNER TIME FOR ALL YOU HUNGRY GUESTS SET THE TABLE FOR 17 OF YOUR CLOSEST FREINDS AND FAMILY
Plan tomorrow
After a tiring day put your feet up by the fire with a glass of red
Midnight swim
Morning papers and coffee by the pool
feed the ducks
how about that view
Unexpected snow in March certainly kept the Anthony family busy 22-24 march
looking through snow covered tunnel on many walks around us
Another snow tunnel the scenery is breath taking
Stairs to the main areas
Relaxing areas ot the gardens
More planting
Large gardens to walk the dogs or simply relax
Just a small part of the decking
Planting around child safe pond
Large Seating area for all guests upstairs and downstairs
Seats 18 in the open plan kitchen and lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dafjohn
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great place for big family party”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We spent a weekend celebrating my wife's birthday with 10 adults and seven children. All had a wonderful time except one child who was poorly. Tim and Marie were very helpful over this and everything else. Saturday night we had dinner cooked for us by Charlie from The Private Chef Company on Tim's recommendation which was superb. The pool and hot tub were the children's highlight.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed atmosphere, everyone thought it a great w/e
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review The Gate House.We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed their stay with us.The kids always love the pool and sounds like they had a great time
Thank you again
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa E
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a fantastic time!”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We travelled as a group of couples ranging from the age of 25-44. To summerise the house is lovely! The pool/ sauna/ and hot tub were great and everyone loved getting in as soon as we arrived. The pool is warm and there is a fridge in the gym area next to the pool so you dont have to keep running upstairs for drinks. All of the bedrooms had comfy bedding and were nicely decorated with lots of storage. The kitchen is well equiped and the double oven meant cooking took hardly anytime.

A few things I feel could really make this rental even better, but admittedly they dont enhance your stay. Mirrors - I didnt see one full length mirror and there was hardly any in the entire house (except in the bathrooms). I think adding a few more would really help the ladies. Matching cutlery/ plates - I know only a small thing but I feel odd everyone sitting down to eat with a mismatched bunch. Soap/ Handwash - I think its hard to remember to pack handwash for numerous amount of toilets/ bathrooms (7 in this property (I think)) it would be a nice touch if this was supplied.

Tim the owner was a lovely man and very kind. I wouldnt hesitate to return!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words .We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and that you consider The Gate House for the future
Kind regards
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenSiew...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Hen Weekend - Already planning to return”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a long weekend at The Gate House where we held my daughters hen party. Seventeen women between the ages of 23 and 63 and we had a fabulous time. The house is beautiful. Everyone commented on how clean it was and the beds were very comfortable.
The pool, sauna and jacuzzi were a wonderful treat and we spent a lot of time in there - including an impromptu pool party which lasted until 6am. I felt I should apologise to the owners for the noise, but they were lovely and said they didn't hear a thing!!
The garden is really pretty and well equipped for alfresco dining. The lawn was big enough for a sumo wrestling ring which was hilarious.
A taxi ride into Derby for a night out cost around £12 and the walk into Belper takes about 30 minutes with several nice pubs on the way. The Holly Bush in is 100 yards away and we were told provide an excellent Sunday lunch - although we never actually made it because I couldn't get the girls out of the pool.
Overall an absolutely amazing weekend which we'll be talking about for months to come. Thank you Tim and Marie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym
Liked least: Taxi's struggled to find it and needed really clear directions although this was easily resolved.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
Your review means so much to us and future guests ,thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay and it's great that all went well and you all had a wonderful time with us
Kind regards
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol H
Willenhall
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Girls weekend”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just retuned from a fantastic weekend away to celebrate our friends 40th birthday. Our party was a very mixed age range group of 18 and everyone agreed that this was one of the best short breaks we had taken together. When we arrived our pre- ordered shopping had been taken inside and was ready and waiting in the kitchen for us. We were greeted by the owner Tim who was great and showed us around the property. The house definitely had the WOW factor . The entrance has a beautiful wooden staircase leading onto a galleried landing. The entrance also has a lovely more formal seating area complete with a grand piano.
Upstairs is the very well equipped kitchen and large seating area. The kitchen has all the mod cons you could need ranging from twin ovens, dishwasher and large American style fridge. There are more than enough pots, pans and crockery to deal with the largest of parties. Next to the kitchen was a great utility room with washer dryer etc.
The bedrooms were all beautifully decorated and everyone commented how comfy the beds were. The bathrooms were all very modern with lovely showers and some with deep baths as well. An added bonus was that all towels were provided.
The outside space was one of the things that we enjoyed the most. The decking area outside was fantastic. There was plenty of lovely tables and chairs to relax in and also a gas BBQ. A lot of work has gone into the landscaping of the garden and this was something we all appreciated. The seating area at the top of the garden by the duck pond was a lovely place to sit with a drink to catch the late evening sun, a real little sun trap.
Perhaps the icing on the cake for us was the swimming pool, sauna and hot tub. Without a doubt this really made our break extra special.
Everyone has had a fantastic break and really couldn't have asked for anything better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities on offer.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
Thats great !

Thankyou for your quick response and putting your review on Trip Advisor.
I am so pleased you and your friends enjoyed your 40th Birthday .

Thankyou for your kind and detailed description of The Gate House

We look forward to seeing you all again

Kind regards
Tim & marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Perfect layout of the property
Liked least: Nothing...
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
How kind !

we would like to thank our guests for writing such a complimentary comment.You were such a pleasure to have and we are so pleased the party went well and that your friends and family enjoyed their stay with us.
Hope to see you all again
thank you

Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing