We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical Christmas at The Gatehouse”
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Relax in the pool relax with a song or two by the piano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Relax in the pool
relax with a song or two by the piano
DINNER TIME FOR ALL YOU HUNGRY GUESTS SET THE TABLE FOR 17 OF YOUR CLOSEST FREINDS AND FAMILY
Plan tomorrow
After a tiring day put your feet up by the fire with a glass of red
Midnight swim
Morning papers and coffee by the pool
feed the ducks
how about that view
Unexpected snow in March certainly kept the Anthony family busy 22-24 march
looking through snow covered tunnel on many walks around us
Another snow tunnel the scenery is breath taking
Stairs to the main areas
Relaxing areas ot the gardens
More planting
Large gardens to walk the dogs or simply relax
Just a small part of the decking
Planting around child safe pond
Large Seating area for all guests upstairs and downstairs
Seats 18 in the open plan kitchen and lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lianne P
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical Christmas at The Gatehouse”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We have returned from an amazing stay at The a Gatehouse, a magical place to stay over the a Christmas period. 10 adults, 4 children and pet dog loved every single minute. The location excellent, the house big enough for everyone to have their own space, yet comfortable enough for us all to congregate in the living areas. Fully equipped with everything you need. The pool was a massive bonus, we made full use of this everyday, the kids loved it as did the adults, lovely and warm, a relaxing space. 3 magnificent Christmas trees, and presents for the children left beneath the biggest one by the owners Tim and Marie. We always go away together every other Christmas and can honestly say that this is the best Christmas break we've ever had. No one has matched the attention to detail to make our Christmas so special. A big thank you to Tim and Marie for whom nothing was too much trouble, we have such great memories of a truly magical Christmas in a wonderful house x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: Doesn't apply
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words It really means a lot to us when people take the time to send their comments especially out of the blue like this .
Totally thrilled with your comments
Thankyou
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin H
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant Family Holiday”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here - it was a friend's 50th and there was a wide range of adults teenagers and small children and everyone had a great time. Big well equipped kitchen, excellent choice of bedrooms. grand piano in the hallway and beautiful lounge.
Of course the biggest draw for the kids (and the adults) was the swimming pool which was so much bigger than we'd expected, warm, fun and just as good for a calm few lengths as it was for volleyball.
There were also good walks from the house itself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming Pool and Lounge
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2013
Thank you for your really nice comments .Iam so pleased you and your family enjoyed their stay at The Gate House hope to see you again
kindregards

Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Nov 2013
Thankyou so much for your kind words i hope to see you all again in the future
kind regards
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jemma1988...
Barnoldswick, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing! Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Well I have just arrived back from my hen party, a three night stay at the Gate House and I have post Gate House blues.

When I arrived I was overwhelmed at how beautiful and well kept it was, the house had everything we needed and I thought that may have been a problem for 17 girls! The pool was a lovely place to chill out and relax, as were the beautiful gardens, the duck and chickens kept us entertained.

The owners were welcoming and friendly and were on hand to answer any queries.

I do not have a signal negative about the house, its amenities or the location (There's a pub very close which serves good food a supermarket near and plenty of shops)

On behalf of my hens we would like to thank the owners and recommend the house! Everyone is still discussing how amazing the house is! We have decided we are making it an annual girls holiday :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Nothing!!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2013
Thank you so much we really appreciate your comments and may i say it was a pleasure having you all .Hope to see you again next year
kind regards
Tim & Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was good
Liked least: Would like to see blinds at bedroom windows
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jul 2013
thankyou for your kind comments and hope to see you and your family again
kind regards
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing