We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, excellent ales”
Review of Holly Bush Inn

Holly Bush Inn
Ranked #8 of 87 Restaurants in Belper
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A warm welcome awaits you at our family run pub, a hub for real ale drinkers and walkers alike. A traditional 17th century village inn, where highwayman Dick Turpin is reported to have frequented on his travels. An increasingly rare breed of unspoilt inn, where time has stood still, encapsulating the character and charm of the building. With fresh homecooked food, a selection of fine real ales and warmth from the open fires, there is much to tempt you. Nothing comes close to our pork pie and a pint!
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a Sunday lunch here. Attractive quirky pub with a garden. Friendly service, good food and an excellent selection of quality real ales. Catered efficiently for a group of 10. We pre ordered the day before.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MSwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We had been for a while so we chose the Holly Bush for a family Sunday get together.
Great food with different veggie choices (Inc jack fruit) plus the roast potatoes are to die for
Ice creams are well worth trying and the cheese board is great value (4 cheeses).
Beer and Cider choice (less fruit more real Cider please) always good plus the gin board is a bonus
A real family Sunday lunch in a proper pub
And the bowl of roasties on the way out was too hard to resist

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank 128maurices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

a bit small, seems friendly but still felt very much for locals not travellers in the evening. clean, nice beers.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank ralphee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

This pub was recommended to me, so we decided to pay a visit. This is a real ale pub serving home made food and delicious pies to take away. The Eaton mess dessert was amazing, we will definitely return

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank anne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had pre booked a table for Sunday lunch here whilst we were on holiday in beautiful Derbyshire. We were not disappointed! Warm welcoming staff showed us to to a table in the front bar initially where we sampled some real ale before dining. At the appointed time we were shown to a delightfully quirky dining room full of history! Jane our waitress couldn’t be more helpful and we ordered the roast lamb dinner ( small size) and it turned out to be more than adequate. We had saved room for the Eton Mess and boy were we glad! It was to die for! Before leaving we decided to purchase one of their famous home made pork pies to take home to enjoy. It was delicious. We will certainly be returning to this memorable establishment and well done to Alex and Chris Wilbraham who run it so well!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank bambi000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holly Bush Inn also viewed

 

Been to Holly Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing