We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Ashbourne's famous Shrovetide Football match held every Shrove Tuesday and Ash Wednesday
Ashbourne's famous Shrovetide Football match held every Shrove Tuesday and Ash Wednesday
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Glenn H
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Cottage”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Second Visit to Pegges Alms-house. a great place to stay with everything you need for a relaxing break in Derbyshire. Spotlessly clean and well furnished. Lots to do only a short drive from Ashbourne and good walks along the Tissington trail.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful old building in a great location. Lots to do in the area
Liked least: Pegges is a listed building with single glazing as a result light sleepers may be disturbed by traffic noise in the morning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2014
Hi
Really pleased that you enjoyed your second stay at the cottage and thanks so much for adding the review.
Look forward to your next visit !
Kind regards Maria and Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella_tat...
1 review
“A breathtaking little cottage, wonderfully run, in a wonderful surrounding, a wonderful place to experience.”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This cottage took our breath away from the moment we stepped in the courtyard. We were well greeted with wine and chocolates and a smile, the cottage was well equipped, everything was very easy, from finding your way around the cottage to finding your way about the town. Such a relaxing break for those looking for just that with a cherry on top!
The cottage was absolutely spotless, the decor was absolutely beautiful, cosy, so comfortable, I absolutely adored the little cottage with its little quirks and character.
Ian and Maria made the process very easy with great communication, wonderful manner and they couldn't make it any better.
I will be recommending it to anyone wanting a beautiful stay away, romantic, relaxing, luxurious, and we would definitely love to go again, and the price of staying here I thought was fantastically reasonable.
I couldn't praise it enough :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2014
Hi
Thanks for adding the review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. Thanks also for recommending us, really appreciated. Hope to see you again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 May 2014
Hi really pleased you enjoyed your birthday whilst at Pegges Almshouse cottage.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards Maria and Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amanda S
Gretton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage that's full of character”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We loved Pegges and the reality lived up to the photos. It was a lovely warm and cosy cottage full of character. It was also spotlessly clean. Maria is a lovely lady and there were some really nice touches including a box of gorgeous local gingerbread biscuits (that tasted homemade) and a bottle of wine plus, we were also provided with a bathrobe each. The cottage is conveniently situated for the shops in the centre of Ashbourne....about a 5 minute walk. And for those who love shopping there is an excellent selection of individual dress shops, gift shops and tea shops. There is also a Sainsbury's and a Waitrose within easy walking distance (5 minutes to Sainsbury's / 5 to 10 minutes to Waitrose). All in all we really enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2014
Hi
Thank you so much for adding the review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay so much, look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards Maria and Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect Honeymoon”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for a week as our honeymoon. We absolutely loved the cottage and the location was great too! It is so quaint and quirky, we wished that we had longer there! we would definitely return here again. Thank you for the gift and cake too, was delicious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its cosyness
Liked least: parking, but there was a good solution
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2014
Hi
Many thanks for adding the review and so glad you enjoyed your honeymoon at the cottage.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards Maria and Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 110
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing