We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant property, fantastic hosts.”

Review of Hollybank House

Hollybank House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hollybank House
The log chalet & terrace The Barbecue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Hollybank House
The log chalet & terrace
The Barbecue
The Main Lounge
The Dining Room
The Blue Lounge
The Blue Lounge - another view
The Kitchen
The Hall and Main Stairs
Super Kingsize Bedroom - twin or double on request
En-suite Shower Room
The Main Family Bathroom
Twin Bedroom - one of three
The Family Bedroom
The Second Family Bathroom
New Parking Bays
The Garden
The Garden
The Garden
A View from the House
The terrace by night
Hollybank House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter D
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant property, fantastic hosts.”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our party of ten consisted of ages from four to sixty seven, plus a Labrador. The whole booking scenario was a breeze, Jo and Diana were so helpful and provided every possible bit of information that we needed or requested. On arrival, Jo and Diana were about to leave, having made sure that all was in order. They had kindly left an enormous hamper and gifts for each of the kids, a lovely thought. The house is very large allowing us room to be together or having a "bit of quiet". The heating and hot water systems are very modern and provide plenty of warmth and hot water. The kitchen contained every utensil, pot or pan we could think of. We all took bikes which were easily and securely stored in the bike rack in the garage. The Tissington trail is about half a mile away, accessed either at a car park/cafe/bike hire, or at the start of the old railway tunnel in the town. There is plenty of entertainment at the house with innumerable tv's, books and games plus the Chalet in the garden for darts and lots of other games. There is also a superlarge BBQ and patio area which would be great in warmer weather. We had a fantastic time, thank you Jo and Diana from us all.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.We are so pleased to get a group of cyclists as there are so many good cycle trails near Ashbourne ,as well as the Tissington Trail and it's nice to know that our cycle racks are being put to good use.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splod
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful house with so many lovely touches”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic family stay in a great location with everything as good as it can be, from the welcome pack to the quality of fittings in every room - and all a short walk from the town. So much thought has gone into this house!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.We do love to know that families have had a lovely time and these get togethers leave many happy memories.We enjoy providing things for all our visitors and the Market Place is a few minutes walk to the right and a lovely park just down the jitty opposite the house
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula J
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WHAT A FIND”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Hollybank House is a rare find - exceptional for comfort, location, number of bedrooms and
spotlessly clean. Oh, almost forgot - and pet friendly. Our welcome pack exceeded our expectations, especially for our three young granddaughters. The owners could not have done more to ensure we had a memorable 3 night visit and we had a fabulously happy time there. We also fitted 13 at the table for Sunday lunch! Top marks Hollybank House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous house
Liked least: Leaving on Monday
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.So pleased to know that all the family including canine members had a great time.There are pet friendly eating places within walking distance of the house and lovely walks nearby.The children's play area and wildlife nature walk is within walking distance for most ,so no need to take the car.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic base for adventure”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A pleasure to stay again , this time for a week with family ,son daughter,grandchildren and partners ( 10 ) and two dogs , everybody really enjoyed relaxing with BBQ s and now with fridge/freezer for chalet area for wine and food!!!
All in all a very good house in an enviable position with good walking and pubs nearby
Thank you Graham and family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: General feeling of nothing to much trouble
Liked least: Lack of storage space in kitchen (every possible utensil catered for !!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Hi Graham, thanks for the great review. We're so pleased you all enjoyed your family holiday again this year at Hollybank, and hope we can provide an excellent base for more adventures in the future! Best wishes, Jo and Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollieboo
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely fabulous X would recommend this to any group. We were celebrating a 50th and 60th with both young girls and and the older age groups it was great for both we loved it, the house is beautiful a couple of minute walk to the town which again had everything that you would every need X Jo and Diana were great X responded to e-mails quickly and made sure that we knew everything that we need to know about the house and surrounding areas X can't wait to return x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Hi Dollieboo Thanks so much for your fantastic review- it's good to hear that you and the gals really enjoyed yourselves. Following a long weekend relaxing, and even after all the great birthday celebrations, we trust you left feeling a year younger! We'd love to welcome you to Hollybank again sometime in the future. Best wishes, Jo and Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing