We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful house and incredible service”

Review of Hollybank House

Hollybank House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hollybank House
The log chalet & terrace The Barbecue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Hollybank House
The log chalet & terrace
The Barbecue
The Main Lounge
The Dining Room
The Blue Lounge
The Blue Lounge - another view
The Kitchen
The Hall and Main Stairs
Super Kingsize Bedroom - twin or double on request
En-suite Shower Room
The Main Family Bathroom
Twin Bedroom - one of three
The Family Bedroom
The Second Family Bathroom
New Parking Bays
The Garden
The Garden
The Garden
A View from the House
The terrace by night
Hollybank House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ben C
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful house and incredible service”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I stayed at Hollybank house with our extended family in July 2015.

Firstly, our dealings with Ron and Jo were amazing from the start. Ron called us in Australia to provide further details and was always available by phone or email to answer any questions and help with our arrangements. We made our booking quite late and had the last minute addition of my sister's dog (when her house sitter fell through) but it was all made very easy and painless by Ron and Jo's amazingly helpful attitude.

On arrival, the welcome packs were a total surprise and very much appreciated by all. Hollybank house itself is beautiful and the presentation impeccable. The grounds as well were immaculate and we made good use of the barbeque and outdoor area between the showers!

With games to play on rainy days and grounds to enjoy on sunny ones, a two minute stroll to the centre of Ashbourne and short drive to the heart of the Peak District, Hollybank house was the perfect place for our family reunion.

The house was beautiful, dealing with Ron and Jo was a pleasure throughout and we cannot recommend Hollybank house enough - the whole experience was truly exceptional!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.We are so pleased that having travelled so far you were not disappointed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonC5150
Woking
1 review
“Lovely house at the gateway to the beautiful Peaks”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Hollybank House is in the heart of Ashbourne and just a stones throw from the Peaks. Perfect for large families and small groups of friends.

From the moment we arrived we felt comfortable and were welcomed, with a thoughtfully arranged welcome pack and even small gifts for the babies! The house had everything we could possibly want. It is spacious, has 2 sitting rooms both with large tellys but we found we didn't need to watch them for the entire bank holiday weekend! We were kept well entertained by the board games, garden games, barbecue, the beautiful Peak District and, of course, the many real ale pubs in the area! The new chalet is definitely a bonus, I really want one now!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.We are so pleased that the new chalet is a success
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare R
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a fantastic long weekend at Hollybank House. Ron and Jo were very helpful throughout the booking process and leading up to our stay, even providing extra information on one of the activities we were planning.

The house had everything we needed for our group of nine adults. Plenty of space, super-comfy beds and an excellent welcome pack on our arrival. We had five cars between us and never had any problems parking them out the front of the house.

The house is really well equipped and Ron and Jo are clearly aiming for (and achieving) a high standard, but what made this extra special is that it feels like a family home and that you can treat it as such - you don't have to treat it with kid-gloves fearing for your deposit if you don't clean it properly on leaving.

The location is excellent - 5 mins walk into the centre of Ashbourne to the shops and to the start of the Tissington Trail.

I would highly recommend Hollybank!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds, the welcome pack, being able to treat it like home....
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.Pleased that our new Parking Bay is a success
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude B
1 review
“Beautiful welcoming home and garden, perfect for our family holiday.”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Right from the first email to our experience of the house, the service Jo & Ron provided was amazing, making us feel so welcome in their holiday home, nothing had been over looked. We were greeted with a huge welcome hamper, which was very kind but they also left colouring and puzzle books for the children, individually named and a birthday card for my niece, which was a very special touch. The house itself was so well equipped e.g the kitchen, and again with those extras touches that really make a holiday, such as individual bathrobes for everyone, subtle instructions for all the tv's and electrical equipment and lots of toys and books for the children, not to mention all the information on Ashborne and the surrounding areas. The sitting rooms and bedrooms were very comfortable and the whole house still felt spacious with 9 of us staying. The children had more than enough room inside and out to play and explore, the gardens was truly lovely, with squirrels, cats and bathing black birds as the norm. Ashborne itself was a very friendly town with a great mix of shops which we visited more than once, we can recommend the George and Dragon for outstanding food and a great welcome. All in all we cannot fault the house or the surrounding area, a wonderful time was had by all and I would recommend Hollybank House to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere of Hollybank
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.This was my family home and I loved to watch the squirrels jumping about in the trees,and the blackbirds having a shower every morning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect for a group weekend away!”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Probably the best organised place I have ever rented.
The "getting in" was made super smooth by a keybox on the door.
On the table was an amazing welcome pack with everything needed to get us started , incl wine and fantastic individual gifts for the kids/ teens.
The bedrooms and bathrooms were beautifully finished( and I am pretty fussy). The walk into town gave everyone the opportunity to shop at their leisure without anyone driving.
In a nutshell, yes it is as good as all the other reviews and I would recommend it to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.It is a bonus not to have to use your car to visit the shops and there are plenty of local attractions in the area within walking distance.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing