We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
29
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade jams biscuits lots of local produce tea coffee making facilities pub next door yogurt lovely place the pub would definitely stay here again easy access short break good size two nights peak district valerie wheelhouse hosts
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Have just returned from a two night stay in this charming B&B. Brian and Valerie were very welcoming and attentive. Our room was full of character and was spotless, every detail was well thought out and the biscuits were a real treat after a long journey! There were lots of choices for breakfast and it was very tasty, it's easy to see why this B&B has such good reviews, not only about the food, but everything else that comes with it! An added bonus is the pub next door which does outstanding food. We would definitely stay here again, hopefully for a bit longer next time so we can explore more of this beautiful area.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie S, Owner at The Wheel House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for your very kind review. We would be glad to have you visit us again. Still plenty to see and do in the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Lovely place to stay very comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast was yummy! Homemade yoghurt and jams. Brian and Valerie were very attentitive couldn't fault anything. Easy access for visiting the Peak District. Black Horse pub next door did great food.

Room Tip: Bronte room is charming, massive shower!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickymx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie S, Owner at The Wheel House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments. We hope that you will visit us again. Brian and Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We travelled to The Wheelhouse B & B for my birthday weekend on the 13th January after my husband booked it as a surprise. We were met at the door by Brian. He was very pleasant and immediately made us feel comfortable. We was shown to our room and I was extremely pleased on how clean it was.We were the only guests there that weekend and the house was very peaceful . The bedroom was spacious, warm and well supplied with everything we could possibly need from fresh milk daily for coffee/tea etc to shampoo shower gel etc . Plenty of drawers and a double wardrobe. We were given a front door key so we could come and go as we pleased.
The following morning we went down for breakfast at 8:30 and there was plenty of choice, from home made yoghurt to a full English and everything in between. Brian and his wife Valerie were very attentive and made sure we wanted for nothing. There is a very nice pub next door where we ate both nights which also was really friendly and the food was delicious .
Overall the stay was delightful, friendly and relaxing.
We will definately be returning and would highly recommend it to friends.
Thank you Brian and Valerie for making my birthday so nice.

Room Tip: Dickens room is on the back is a very quiet room
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent B n B. Very comfy bedroom. Spotless throughout. Superb choice for breakfast. Very friendly hosts. Would definitely recommend. Great location fir exploring the Peak District. Lovely, friendly pub next door with great food.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank awalisonwrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Stayed 3 nights at the Wheelhouse for a long weekend break to explore the area and just relax. The room (Dickens) was very comfortable, very clean and just what we needed. The owners were very accommodating and friendly and very helpful when it came to suggesting places to visit or eat out. The breakfasts were great and a selection was on offer although we stuck to the Full English (rude not to eh) The toast was the best we have had in years done with home made bread. The bed was comfortable and it seems all shower gels, tea, coffee etc were fair trade products which was nice. If we are ever in the area again this would be our first stop. Hope this is helpful to all Clive & Sandra 24.10.16

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clivejeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews