We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect accomodation - GREAT weekend”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wigton, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Voyage753...
1 review
“Perfect accomodation - GREAT weekend”
Reviewed 3 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed here for a three day weekend and it was utterly perfect! Joanne was a warm host, very helpful and told us about great walks to do in the surrounding areas. Joanne was great on communication while booking, and throughout. The accomodation was extremely clean, and very comfortable (the beds were the best I've slept in!). It was very peaceful and quiet, with a lot of space for kids to play. There were baby cows, lovely sheep and two gorgeous friendly dogs, it was heaven!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zrenfrew
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic accommodation, warm welcome and lovely views in a unique but little known corner of Cumbria”
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed for a weekend stay at The Old Bothy in Red Hall Farm Holiday Cottages in April and I would highly recommend it to anyone. The accommodation is lovely: top quality furnishings, full of comfort and character. It was so interesting to see photographs of how the building had been converted from the bothy where the farmhands used to sleep to a spacious but cosy cottage complete with log burner and, beams with hi-spec kitchen, bathroom and furnishings. The master bedroom with its high ceiling was lovely with a comfortable bed. There was also a private outdoor space from where we could enjoy tranquil views and experience life on the farm – it would be a great place for children to stay. We had a warm welcome from Joanne who brought us a basket of home-made scones and a jar of delicious Lakeland jam. Joanne was very helpful in giving advice and information (also very kind in posting back to us various belongings we had left!). The log basket starter kit was also a great bonus.

We’d never stayed in this part of the Lakes before and were really impressed by the area – it’s close to Cockermouth which is now my favourite Lake District town and the pleasant town of Wigton, but it’s also near the coast and Solway Area of Natural Beauty which was something of a revelation. Then, of course, the Lakes National Park itself is right on the doorstep. Another plus was the wealth of great pubs and hotels nearby where (unlike as is often the case in Keswick), it was possible to get a seat. And the very reasonable price was for a three-night stay which came as a pleasant surprise as we thought it was for two (although we had been told on booking), so we got to stay another night!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjdoonan
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family friendly accommodation in a lovely location ”
Reviewed 13 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We have just had a fantastic week in the Old Bothy. The cottage is spotlessly clean and really well equipped with everything we needed and more! The owners had even provided age appropriate toys for our 2 year old son which he played with more then his own toys from home! The cottage is perfect for small children with a lovely enclosed space at the back with ride along toys and a big grassed area with a slide. There were also calves and lambs which we were able to feed. Joanne and Martin were so welcoming and more than happy to help and answer any questions we had. We would thoroughly recommend staying here and wouldn’t hesitate to book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom76...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely part of the world, excellent accommodation and welcoming owners”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
3
people found this review helpful

We spent a great week here in March, excellently located for the north of the lakes and the bottom of Scotland.

The accommodation is very well appointed within everything you could possibly need. The conversion has been completed to a very high standard and was spotlessly clean. We received a really warm welcome from the owners (the dogs were also very friendly too - always made an appearance when you get back at the end of the day.) and the welcome gifts were extremely tasty.

Lots of really nice touches that makes the accommodation stand out from others, guests book with recommendations of places to visit, to eat or walk worked really well for us.

10 out of 10 for us - thank you

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maddenk80
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five star accommodation”
Reviewed 7 February 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Five stars! My husband, daughter and I stayed here over Christmas. We were very lucky as there happened to be a cancellation and were able to stay. The owner, Joanne, is lovely and really made us feel at home. There were freshly baked mince pies waiting for us and a big, beautiful Christmas tree and decorations. The cottage is gorgeous and spacious but feels warm and cosy too. It is spotlessly clean and everything was laid out perfectly. My daughter is 2 years old and Joanne had put children’s books, toys, and dolls out for her to play with, which she did! I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others. If only everywhere we stayed was so nice!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing