We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Lake District break”
other travellers have booked this property
Buckbarrow behind Greendale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Buckbarrow behind Greendale
Seatallan Ground Floor Apartment Great Gable
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Buckbarrow behind Greendale
Seatallan Ground Floor Apartment
Great Gable
Lounge
Lounge / Dining Room
Dining Room / Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Sink in Shower Room
Shower
The Loo
Small Room with Cabin Bed
Dogs are welcome!
The approach to the Apartment
Over the road
Down at the Lake on a calm day
Wasdale Head from the path across Great Gable
Wastwater Shore
Wasdale Hall
Buckbarrow behind Greendale
Nether Beck that runs into Wastwater
Time for reflection
Great Gable in the late afternoon sun
The Screes from Greendale Gill (behind the apartment)
Mosedale Beck
Wastwater on a warm summer's day
Nether Beck
View from the Wasdale Head Inn
Greendale Gill (behind the apartment)
Herdwick Sheep
Walking down past Wasdale Hall
Behind the apartment (Buckbarrow)
Drigg Beach
Windermere (about  1 1/2 hours drive)
St Bees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Wasdale Head, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gillhopb
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Lake District break”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend here in October - great, cosy accommodation with all the facilities we needed for our walking break. hope The surrounding scenery is absolutely spectacular and with a great pub and village only a short drive away, we found this a perfect base. Will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2016
Thanks for the review.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortunity
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Small apartment 500yds from Wast water and 3 miles Wasdale Head”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is an out of the way small apartment reached by a single track road (in places). We had the best weather ever so hardly spent any time at the apartment apart from sleeping. This was lucky because as a family of four we would have been quite cramped if we had to spend any significant time in the place. I can concur that the apartment did need a refresh and note from the owners response to another reviewer that this is now in hand. A bit of a makeover and refresh plus some attention to house keeping would do wonders. Only reviewing it now as prompted by TripAdvisor.

Nice out of the way location, OK as a base for walking.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to say that since your visit in May 2016 we have completely re-decorated, the shower room has been re-furbished and the apartment re-carpeted throughout.

There are photographs in our listing which show the layout and size of the rooms.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and walks.





We would
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanpjohn...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Housekeeping problems?”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Whilst Seattallen Cottage is perfectly located for those who like the wilds of Wasdale and the surrounding countryside the cottage is ‘tired’ and needs updating, the housekeeping is appalling. Pictures added show the main issues.

The house structure is damp, this is acceptable as it is only a few miles away from the wettest part of England. As soon as we arrived we put the dehumidifier on and over a few days extracted litres of water. By about the fourth day the house felt quite warm and dry as long as the dehumidifier was left on a few hours during the day. The result of the damp shows in the windows and walls where mould has been left to grow.

The settees are awful with the mock leather lining coming away and the carpet in the main room is dirty with odd stains, some obviously from spilt drinks but others probably from dogs etc. Also some damage to the carpet where I suggest a dog has been trying to get to its owners in the bedrooms.

In the kitchen there were no new cleaning sponges/clothes, only those used by the previous occupants. The chopping boards are old and unhygienic, one with mould.

The shower does not empty so you end up standing in a puddle after a few minutes, it drains over the next ten minutes or so. There are mould stains in the shower area and water leaks into the room – probably why three wet j-cloths were left on the towel rail near to the leak.

I had to empty the vacuum cleaner as it was absolutely rammed full as if the housekeeper did not know how to empty it.

We have phoned the owners and alerted them to these issuesand we have declined a reduced rate return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2016
We are sorry to hear that our cottage failed to meet your expectations.

Since your visit (3rd – 10th September) we have taken steps to ensure that all future guests will continue to enjoy and appreciate the cottage.

In particular:

• The carpets will be replaced throughout the apartment by mid-October;
• We have spruced up the windows, and the bathroom is in pristine condition;
• Any localised condensation issues have been treated and the room redecorated;
• All other issues (of any merit) have been addressed.

Photographs to indicate the current condition are presented in the listing, and so your Review is out-of-date.

We are somewhat perplexed by the kind comments that you left in the Cottage Visitor’s Book. You describe a very pleasant week, with no issues of any real substance. Indeed you describe the cottage as ‘cosy’.

So your phone call some 10 days later, in which you expressed concern over the state of the cottage, surprised us. Whilst we could not offer you a refund, we did offer you a discounted return visit to give us your stamp of approval on the improvements and you declined our offer. This was followed by the Tripadvisor Review two or three days later.

A couple of things:

The first few days of your visit coincided with record humidity levels in the Lake District. Assuming 19 g/m3, a dew point of 22 degrees Celsius and cottage volume of ~150 m3 would mean 2.8 litres in the cottage air alone (assuming you did not replenish the air, which of course you do). Add to this the 1 litre (approx.) that you each exhale or sweat each day (and if you dried clothes in the cottage - several litres more) and your collected water volumes sound quite reasonable. Well done.

The two settees are Italian and leather, not mock leather as you describe.

-/-
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven Jo...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Service was very good. The property is in an excellent location, perfect for the wasdale fells. It was more than adequate for our needs, warm, with everything we needed for a self-catering, cooking wise and reliable wifi for a accurate mountain forecasts. The perfect base really. Apart from the bathroom, I did feel the apartment needed sprucing up a bit, a fresh lick of paint, and the carpet certainly needed changing. I would stay there again, however.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The carpet
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to give us valuable feedback on our cottage. Much appreciated.

We have spruced up the bedrooms and bathroom (although you had no issues with the bathroom) and the carpets will be changed throughout the apartment by mid-October.

Many thanks for your kind and useful comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monnraker...
Calne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Lakeland”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This rental is situated in a beautiful location, close to Wastwater, with outstanding views. The apartment is one of several in the same location, with parking across the road. We found the rental to be clean and well organised, with everything as you would expect. The only drawback that we found was with parents, two teens and two dogs, it felt a bit small at times. Also, there was no washing machine, which could be a drawback if you went later in the year and needed to wash out hiking gear. On the whole though, these were minor issues and the location made up for all of this. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the remote location and amazing views were gorgeous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outstanding views.
Liked least: Long way to any local shops, so make sure you do a big shop first.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing