We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Cumbria?”

Fourpence Cafe & Shoppe
Ranked #2 of 81 Restaurants in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Went for breakfast. Was so blown over by the wonder of it all, we turned up for lunch the next day. Simply amazing.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank daveconway56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018

This cafe has everything in it which is old. There are so many things from olden days you will almost forget what you went in for!! We just had a latte each which was alright and reasonably priced but have had better. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Old fashioned cafe and seemed to be a place for 'locals'.Popped in on our recent visit to Ulverston as we needed a quick lunch and this pkace is number 1 on trip advisor . Quaint and old fashioned but the place was cold and the welcome not much warmer. Chowder that is mentioned in previous rooms was average at best. Tea and coffee offerings are of average standard. Its towards the upper price range for cost vs quality and as there seem to be so many cafe options in Ulverston we wish we'd wandered around rather than relying on trip advisor.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank 667tinkerbell84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam w, Owner at Fourpence Cafe & Shoppe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

thaknyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic lunch in this cosy and unusual cafe. Highlights were the limeade and rarebit. Portions were large and prices very reasonable. Food is homemade and very tasty

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank pytheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Lovely old fashioned cafe with lovely owners. They have fish chowder on the menu every day or they have complaints! We called twice to have this, it was excellent. Whilst there others came in just to have the same. We certainly recommend this to other customers. They do other soups, sandwiches, jacket potatoes etc. But my choice every time would be the fish chowder.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fourpence Cafe & Shoppe also viewed

Ulverston, Lake District
 
Ulverston, Lake District
Ulverston, Lake District
 

Been to Fourpence Cafe & Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing