We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Crosslands Farm

Crosslands Farm
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crosslands Farm
Ranked #9 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I, sister-in-law and niece stayed at Crosslands for one night in October 2011. With loads of atmosphere, this very loved house was a delight, but big people beware! Low beams and small rooms may not suit.... Our hosts were lovely, genuine people, our breakfast delicious and immaculately served on Spode china. Beautiful countryside. I loved it and if it had higher ceilings and doors (or my husband were smaller...) I would certainly be back.

Room Tip: "Private bathroom" does not mean en suite, but is along along the main passage with low be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgieLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

Positive impression made from website doesn't match reality. Despite refurbished, our room was very small with low sealing and small window not suitable for more than 2 nights stay. You can find many other better bed and breakfast with better location in the lake district for almost the same price. Breakfast was good but not exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gileroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Myself, daughter and 3 month old granddaughter stayed at Crosslands for three nights. Crosslands is a traditional whitewashed Cumbrian farmhouse, a lovely garden, low beams and age-old furniture. We were greeted by Anne who gave us tea and home made cakes on arrival in the beautiful living room with a wood burner giving a really welcoming feel. The rooms were lovely, the breakfast including home made granola, local bacon, sausages etc was superb. Anne and husband David couldn't do enough for us.

The countryside around is just delightful, I'm more familiar with the (wilder) west of the Lake District but the tiny lanes and rolling hills of the Rusland Valley are wonderful.

Crosslands is a delight, we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186338AlanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We visited the Lales District from Australia in spring and were overwhelmed by the beautiful scenery and the quaint villages and stone-walled roads. Crosslands Farm was set in beautiful rolling farmland, a four hundred year old stone house with low oak-beamed ceilings and white-washed walls. It had been in the family for generations and was full of lovely antique oak furniture and domestic utensils. Ann welcomed us warmly and showed us a cosy guest lounge with plump sofas in front of a charming inglenook fireplace. Our room had a very comfortable bed and a spacious ensuite bathroom with deep silled windows looking out over the hills. A delicious breakfast next morning was served on picture perfect blue and white china. We stayed two nights and had gourmet meals at very quaint local pubs - the White Hart in Bouth and the Anglers Arms in Haverthwaite. The farm was within a short drive of the magnificent Holker Hall, home of the Duke of Devonshire to the South (open to the public) and Hilltop, Beatrix Potter's house at Near Sawrey to the North.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bullengarook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulverston hotels
3.1 km away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
95 reviews
1.6 km away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
79 reviews
2.8 km away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#4 of 5 in Ulverston
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#4 of 26 in Ulverston
108 reviews
1.5 km away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#12 of 26 in Ulverston
84 reviews
1.6 km away
The Farmers Arms
The Farmers Arms
#2 of 8 in Ulverston
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosslands Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosslands Farm

Address: Rusland, Ulverston LA12 8JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range: ₹ 6,952 - ₹ 7,334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crosslands Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crosslands Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crosslands Farm Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing