We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crosslands Farm

Crosslands Farm
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crosslands Farm
Ranked #5 of 28 Ulverston B&B and Inns
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I, sister-in-law and niece stayed at Crosslands for one night in October 2011. With loads of atmosphere, this very loved house was a delight, but big people beware! Low beams and small rooms may not suit.... Our hosts were lovely, genuine people, our breakfast delicious and immaculately served on Spode china. Beautiful countryside. I loved it and if it had higher ceilings and doors (or my husband were smaller...) I would certainly be back.

Room Tip: "Private bathroom" does not mean en suite, but is along along the main passage with low be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Positive impression made from website doesn't match reality. Despite refurbished, our room was very small with low sealing and small window not suitable for more than 2 nights stay. You can find many other better bed and breakfast with better location in the lake district for almost the same price. Breakfast was good but not exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gileroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Myself, daughter and 3 month old granddaughter stayed at Crosslands for three nights. Crosslands is a traditional whitewashed Cumbrian farmhouse, a lovely garden, low beams and age-old furniture. We were greeted by Anne who gave us tea and home made cakes on arrival in the beautiful living room with a wood burner giving a really welcoming feel. The rooms were lovely, the breakfast including home made granola, local bacon, sausages etc was superb. Anne and husband David couldn't do enough for us.

The countryside around is just delightful, I'm more familiar with the (wilder) west of the Lake District but the tiny lanes and rolling hills of the Rusland Valley are wonderful.

Crosslands is a delight, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186338AlanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

We visited the Lales District from Australia in spring and were overwhelmed by the beautiful scenery and the quaint villages and stone-walled roads. Crosslands Farm was set in beautiful rolling farmland, a four hundred year old stone house with low oak-beamed ceilings and white-washed walls. It had been in the family for generations and was full of lovely antique oak furniture and domestic utensils. Ann welcomed us warmly and showed us a cosy guest lounge with plump sofas in front of a charming inglenook fireplace. Our room had a very comfortable bed and a spacious ensuite bathroom with deep silled windows looking out over the hills. A delicious breakfast next morning was served on picture perfect blue and white china. We stayed two nights and had gourmet meals at very quaint local pubs - the White Hart in Bouth and the Anglers Arms in Haverthwaite. The farm was within a short drive of the magnificent Holker Hall, home of the Duke of Devonshire to the South (open to the public) and Hilltop, Beatrix Potter's house at Near Sawrey to the North.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullengarook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
3.1 km away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.5 km away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Ulverston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.2 km away
Rock House
Rock House
#14 of 28 in Ulverston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Red Lion Inn
Red Lion Inn
#1 of 28 in Ulverston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.5 km away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#10 of 28 in Ulverston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.1 km away
Red Lion House
Red Lion House
#1 of 1 in Swarthmoor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosslands Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosslands Farm

Property: Crosslands Farm
Address: Rusland, Ulverston LA12 8JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,989 - ₹ 6,474
Hotel Class:4 star — Crosslands Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Crosslands Farm Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing