We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muncaster Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't wait to return!!!!!!”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My fiance and I stayed here last night as we were going to the Halloween event at Muncaster castle. We thought it was exceptional, from the warm welcome, to the very clean room, and we thought it was superb value for money. Sue & Vin were very helpful suggesting places for us to visit and made us feel like we were at home. Although we didn't have many requests, I could tell that if we did they would go out of their way to fulfil them. The breakfast was really nice with a great variety to suit most people. We didn't get to try the evening meal as we had to be at the castle early, but I had a look at the menu and it sounded very nice. We will definitely return and have also decided to buy a voucher for an overnight stay for our parents for Christmas.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
69
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Sorry to say that we only stayed for one night. I would have liked to stay for more. The room was clean and modern. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room although tea was provided in the guest lounge when we arrived. The guest lounge has sky tv so husbands can still see the football. Toiletries and hair dyer were also in the room and for once the socket for the hairdryer was in a place which allowed the mirror to be used, often this is not the case. The bed was huge and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with local produce. Mobile phones do not work in the guest house but you can use the landline any time. We could not get the wifi to work but we were there such a short time this was not a problem. Actually it was nice to be unavailble for once.
Its also extremely handy for Muncaster Castle, which is a great day out.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the superking bed it is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkmeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and could not fault anything about our stay. The place was lovely, the breakfasts were top knotch and the couple who run the guest house were friendly, helpful and very welcoming. We have been telling family & friends how impressed we were, and will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chezzerhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Sue and Vin have refurbished this lovely old school beautifully. Muncaster Guest House is situated in beautiful countryside, opposite Muncaster Castle, a couple of miles from Ravenglass and the estuary. The "laal ratty" is about 2 miles away.
We were welcomed warmly with a complementary hot drink and shown to our lovely ensuite room at the back of the building. The room was immaculately clean and the bathroom was gleaming with complimentary toiletries. Our view from our bedroom window was divine.
Vin and Sue made our one night stay very pleasant, they were friendly and even dug out some old school photos to show us (one having my grandfather on when he was Schoolmaster there).
The lounge are is very comfortable with a lovely log burner and a honesty bar.
Breakfast was wonderful. A variety of cereals and breads with loads of fresh juice. The cooked breakfast was delivered hot and beautifully cooked by Sue. The quality of the sausages and bacon exceptional (of course it was Cumberland sausage).
Congratulations to you both for a tasteful renovation, wonderful hospitality and excellent food. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueCrilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This warm and friendly Guest House is situated opposite Muncaster Castle. It was great value for money, the room was spotlessly clean, spacious and modern, with a homely feel. The bed was most comfortable, providing a good nights sleep. The room had all the aminities that we required, tea making facilities, television, hair dryer, wardrobe...etc. The en-suit was very modern, and had a heated towel rail, large bath and power shower.

There was also a comfortable guest lounge available with sky tv and an honesty bar, with a wide variety of beverages available, which was reasonably priced. There was also wifi available!

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful without being over familiar. We were even offered a complimentory pot of tea upon arrival.

The breakfast was lovely, with a great choice of locally sorced foods available.

In the immidiate area we could not find many suitiable places to eat, however the Guest House does offer an evening meal menu which was very resonably priced. We did however try a few takeaway venues in the nearby town of Seascale, which we enjoyed while looking out to sea, before a nice walk along the sandy beach.

Do not be put off by the Guest Houses location on the road. We slept with the window open and did not hear any traffic noise. We did have a lovely view though!

We would definately recommend this Guest House, and stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeRhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
1.5 km away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
347 reviews
7.4 km away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
3.9 km away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
1.6 km away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
1.5 km away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muncaster Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muncaster Country Guest House

Property: Muncaster Country Guest House
Address: Muncaster, Ravenglass CA18 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price range (per night): ₹ 28,861 - ₹ 41,272
Hotel Class:4 star — Muncaster Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tastefully and sympathetically converted schoolhouse providing 8 ground floor bedrooms. Ample secure parking for 15 cars is provided. Most rooms en suite with TVs, hairdriers and tea or coffee making facilities. Free WiFi. Evening meals by arrangement. Licenced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Muncaster Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing