We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in the Lake Distict”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Patterdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Weekend in the Lake Distict”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Again a very enjoyable stay.Nothing is to much bother for any member of staff. Very, very friendly. Food excelltent. Like somone once said I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berniemiddling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    286
    62
    14
    11
See reviews for
97
568
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We previously stayed here for two nights in February. This time we returned with some of our family and our 8 month old grandson. The value for money we received from this hotel is second to none. The rooms have both been clean, spacious and well equipped. Staff are helpful and mostly cheeful and friendly. The food we received on both occasions has been spot on, with enough choice and well cooked. No chance of going hungry here! If you, like us, are looking for a base to explore the surrounding areas,with fantastic walking straight from the door, then this is the place for you. If you on the other hand are worried about a few scuffs on the skirting boards and loose wallpaper in public staircases. You might want to think again and pay alot more for alot less somewhere else. We shall certainly be back however!

Room Tip: 132 has no good view but is very quiet. 101 is at th front with a good view and at the end of th cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitties63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed at The Patterdale Hotel this weekend for a two-night stay. Because we went on a deal we lowered our expectations. Needn't have done. The food was excellent and the staff were more than helpful. The only complaint would be the bathroom - it was room 223 with a shower over the bath. We were told by the receptionist that rooms 123 and 223 are the only rooms that don't have a shower cubicle, so would avoid them in future. Parking is an issue too. There is an overspill car park across the road. The evening vocalist was really good, just a shame that not many people were there to listen to him. All-in-all had a really good weekend (we were lucky with the weather too which helps) and would definitely go back. Would ask for a room at the front though - for an extra £10. View at the back is pretty non-existent.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 123 and 223 if you like a shower - these are only over the bath and not very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wapper24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just spent three days at The Patterdale Hotel with a group of friends, our fourth annual trip, and this was the best of the lot. The public rooms and bedrooms have been upgraded, the service was excellent, as usual, and the food was very good. All of the staff are really friendly. Some real ales on offer at the bar and the chance to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air on the lawn full of picnic tables.
Lots of parking available, a rarity in the Lakes, and an excellent venue for walks or sightseeing.
The bedrooms were huge,- a double, a single and lots of space besides.
Live music on Saturday night; if you don't like the sound of that, walk across the road to the White Lion which has a great atmosphere.
We'll definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

All I can say about this hotel is fantastic. 2 star hotel with 5 star service. Food excellent. Location, peaceful and quiet. Staff a1!. We have been a few times now and never been let down. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
1.4 km away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
7.4 km away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
14.7 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
17.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patterdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patterdale Hotel

Property: The Patterdale Hotel
Address: | Ullswater near Penrith, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,076 - ₹ 10,678
Hotel Class:2 star — The Patterdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patterdale Hotel sits on the main Penrith to Windermere route. Lying at the head of Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake, the village is in a fabulous central position for exploring the Lake District. The hotel is a popular base for both walking and activity holidays as well as more peaceful, relaxing break. Surrounding areas offer some of the world's most scenic walks and trails, and Keswick, Ambleside and Penrith are all within 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Patterdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Patterdale
Patterdale The Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing