We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Patterdale Hotel
Nearby Hotels
YHA Patterdale(Patterdale)(Great Value!)
US$ 51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Old Water View(Patterdale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brotherswater Inn(Patterdale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,036)
Filter reviews
1,037 results
Traveller rating
611
319
74
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
611
319
74
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschoice hotelshalf boardlake districtevening meallakeland viewkirkstone passwalking grouppooley bridgebuffet breakfastpacked lunchsteamerswhite lionullswater steamergreat weekendrestaurant staffwalking holidaykippers
Filter
Updating list...
790 - 795 of 1,037 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We previously stayed here for two nights in February. This time we returned with some of our family and our 8 month old grandson. The value for money we received from this hotel is second to none. The rooms have both been clean, spacious and well equipped. Staff are helpful and mostly cheeful and friendly. The food we received on both occasions has been spot on, with enough choice and well cooked. No chance of going hungry here! If you, like us, are looking for a base to explore the surrounding areas,with fantastic walking straight from the door, then this is the place for you. If you on the other hand are worried about a few scuffs on the skirting boards and loose wallpaper in public staircases. You might want to think again and pay alot more for alot less somewhere else. We shall certainly be back however!

Room Tip: 132 has no good view but is very quiet. 101 is at th front with a good view and at the end of th corridor so is quiet. 106 is above the lounge so noise can be heard on a weekend ask for a room on a higher floor. There is a lift available.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitties63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed at The Patterdale Hotel this weekend for a two-night stay. Because we went on a deal we lowered our expectations. Needn't have done. The food was excellent and the staff were more than helpful. The only complaint would be the bathroom - it was room 223 with a shower over the bath. We were told by the receptionist that rooms 123 and 223 are the only rooms that don't have a shower cubicle, so would avoid them in future. Parking is an issue too. There is an overspill car park across the road. The evening vocalist was really good, just a shame that not many people were there to listen to him. All-in-all had a really good weekend (we were lucky with the weather too which helps) and would definitely go back. Would ask for a room at the front though - for an extra £10. View at the back is pretty non-existent.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 123 and 223 if you like a shower - these are only over the bath and not very good.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wapper24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just spent three days at The Patterdale Hotel with a group of friends, our fourth annual trip, and this was the best of the lot. The public rooms and bedrooms have been upgraded, the service was excellent, as usual, and the food was very good. All of the staff are really friendly. Some real ales on offer at the bar and the chance to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air on the lawn full of picnic tables.
Lots of parking available, a rarity in the Lakes, and an excellent venue for walks or sightseeing.
The bedrooms were huge,- a double, a single and lots of space besides.
Live music on Saturday night; if you don't like the sound of that, walk across the road to the White Lion which has a great atmosphere.
We'll definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the second floor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

All I can say about this hotel is fantastic. 2 star hotel with 5 star service. Food excellent. Location, peaceful and quiet. Staff a1!. We have been a few times now and never been let down. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Second time we have stayed at the Patterdale and throughly enjoyed our stay yet again. Great value for money. Staff are friendly and can't do enough for you, all you have to do is ask and they are willing and obliging. Room spacious, clean and comfortable. Food superb and excellent choice and following the evening meal, tea and coffee is provided free of charge in the lounge room, which is an added bonus. Will definately be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustJulie1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews