We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gosforth Hall Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$ 139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(St Bees)
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacote Hotel(St Bees)
US$ 84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stork Hotel(Frizington)
US$ 105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pennington(Ravenglass)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridge Hotel(Buttermere)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
92
41
14
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
41
14
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiesmain buildinglive musichigh standardsteakmy partnerbar areaoak beamsunderfloor heatingdecent tvamazing foodgreat showerfriendly atmosphereattention to detailold stylea wonderful staylovely touch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Gosforth Hall is famous for its pies.They're still going strong, providing they haven't run out, which seems to be increaingly common. They are delicious though - with generally two or three options and real ales at the bar to wash them down with. They used to serve them with real chips, sadly, these days oven chips are you all get. Still good, but not like it used to be.

If you're staying, Gosforth has some comfortable guest rooms both in the main building and in the annexe. Modern, clean, great shower, tea/coffee facilities, decent TV, comfty bed - not bad at all. The big let down these days is the wifi, which is so awful you may and well kiss goodbye to doing anything with it, which is a great shame, especially if you need one for work.

Breakfast is pretty disappointing I'm sorry to say. You can expect to make your own cuppa from a flask of hot water and there' a small selection of cereal and, sometimes, a pretty underwhelming apple/banana selection. The hot food is better, but unfortunately, breakfast only runs from 7-8 (or maybe 8.30), so if you're up early then cornflakes and hot made tea is all you get.

Room Tip: Rooms is the main building are nicer and more spacious
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank tvlr431979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

just got back from a one night stay at Gosforth Hall. what a place, stunning building, good food, amazing staff! we were made to feel like a local that had been going to this place for years. came as a guest left as a friend! we will definitely be back. thanks to all the staff for looking after us and for the way they dressed up the room! see you all again! gaz and anna room 3

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gaz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Went for our yearly catch up with friends. The meals are okay more quantity than quality. The starters were a little large a bit too much when the main meal arrived so soon after eating your starter it was a bit off putting. Most of left part of our mains. Nice surroudings and the staff were very helpful.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed here a few weeks ago, but very disappointed with my stay. Had a room in the annex but the shower did not work and there were no toiletries. Went down to the bar, took ages getting served, was about half hour despite it not being busy. The bar was freezing cold. Driving back from meeting in the afternoon I was shocked to receive a rather rude voicemail saying that I had inadvertently removed something?? Tried calling back no answer. On plus side food was OK.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
8  Thank Dav19821982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

If your thinking of staying at the inn make sure you get what you pay for, I booked a £150 per night room with shower I'm afraid no shower, room No. 2 has a corner bath which was a waste of time, it took 25 minutes to have a reasonable amount of water in to wash, we had to share the bath water yes share the bath water, my wife and I. Lack of storage only 4 coat hangers, no shelves for tee shirts jumpers etc. Not worth the money, I see it as work in progress, they have surposibly spent £1.8 million on the property, a couple of hundred on a descent shower and storage in room No. 2 would have made all the difference. What work they have done has been done quite well. The staff are friendly enough ,what ever you do don't let a women pull you a pint unless she knows what she's doing, she took the sprinkler off because it was to lively I ended up with a flat pint, not good. The food in the restaurant is o.k. Just pub food. The wine list is very limited. What I'm trying to convey is that the inn is to expensive, you can stop in Keswick's only 4 star for less with room service, coat hangers, storage, shower etc.etc.and a decent pint. Oh I must say the room was lovely and clean and warm.

Room Tip: Make sure when booking you get what you asked for.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews