We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A welcome retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Lodges by the rafting pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodges by the rafting pool
BarnGarth Lodge Lodges in Autumn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Lodges by the rafting pool
BarnGarth Lodge
Lodges in Autumn
Rafting
Field End Lodge
WoodBank Lodge
Living Room and Kitchen
Living room
Double Room
Twin Room
Rafting pool
Sunset on the Veranda
One of many fabulous clear swimming pools
View from Woodbank Veranda
Rafting on the pond
Wastwater
Lodges toasty and warm in winter.
Play Area
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scott M
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A welcome retreat”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Had the pleasure of a five day break in one of the log cabins on the site, the cabins are well equipped, fitted kitchen with oven, dishwasher etc, bath/shower, tv and a fantastic log fire. Lodge is well situated for walks both long and short and within easy reach of the King George pub and a further stretch to the Brook House Inn which offers a fantastic menu of food and an array of fine real ales. If you feel like a nice break away from reality and going back to comfortably basics give it a whirl.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An idyllic New Year break”
Reviewed 20 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

These are for you if you love waking in the morning to beautiful surroundings, enjoy setting out on beautiful walks that start just outside your door, cherish peace and tranquility, welcome a friendly local pub with excellent food just a few minutes down the road, appreciate spending your evenings in a warm, cosy log cabin with a real wood fire. The perfect way to spend a week in the midst of winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezza-74
Northop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday, Perfect Location”
Reviewed 10 January 2013 for a stay in September 2011

I came about these lodge as I was looking for somewhere that would take 3 dogs. The owner was very helpful and we stayed here in September 2011. The lodges are lovely and very clean and the grounds are perfect. I would certainly recommend staying here and would love to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Lodge
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven!!!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fabulous, quiet and relaxing week in one of the Fisherground lodges. The lodges are well equipped, very clean and comfortable and well laid out. There is lots of useful information provided including local restaurant menus, maps of the area and things to do and we made full use of these. We had a small problem with the plumbing so we contacted the rental company and within 5 minutes someone came along and sorted it out ...we were very impressed!!! We spent most nights at the very friendly local pub (which is 5 minutes walk away) chatting to the landlord and locals who are all very friendly and welcoming (coming from London this is a rare experience) and of course sampling the local ales which are all very good. The minature railway is a must and the walks following the Eskdale Trail and the Muncaster Fells are well worth doing as the scenery is beautiful. We took our two dogs with us who had a ball, Archie our westie is now sulking because we are home and I think he is missing his friend 'Guinness' the border collie who is a regular down at the pub. This 'little slice of heaven' is a real find and we will definately be returning (if we can get booked after sharing this review!!!!!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Every thing was good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rblossomg
Ramsbottom, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing location, cosy and convenient lodge with lots of little extras”
Reviewed 27 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in June with our 9 month old baby. I was very nervous as this was our first trip away with the baby and I have to say that it couldn't have been better. The owner was very patient with my multiple questions (in retrospect I find it quite funny that I had been very keen to get the quietest lodge- they are all very, very quiet).
Location: very peaceful, walking distance to a good pub, easy to park, walking distance to stop on Ravenglass railway.
Accomodation: big lounge, kitchen well laid out, lots of outside space, good powerful shower. There is a picnic table outside each lodge as well as garden chairs. The TV was bigger than ours at home. The lodge was warm at night despite unseasonably cool weather (we didn't need the heating on and only lit the fire once even though we had been using these at home). Nice clean carpets in the bedrooms and lounge.
Baby stuff!: cot and high chair were clean and of good quality. I also noticed that there was a bed side available for the bunk beds if we had needed them.

Extras: the play area was well used by children staying in the other lodges- swings, slide, big log for climbing on, stream fed pond for paddling and messing about.
The games room is not smart but was great fun.
We had swallows nesting on the outside of the lodge- our little boy loved watching them fly in and out- not something you get in any old holiday.

We had a smashing time and really want to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in Eskdale
Liked least: The WiFi was very slow.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing