We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage which felt like home for us and the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house Glendene and the roses
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Front of house
Glendene and the roses
Large log burning fire
Large country range cooker
the private garden
the private garden
Nearby Yew Tree Barn Cafe with a beautiful view over the fields
The beautiful fells for walking nearby
'Harry's Cafe' at the lovely Yew Tree Barn
Lovely modern bathroom with great views
The wonderful Crown pub, just a 2 minute walk away, with great food and live jazz music at weekends
Views from the village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sopday
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage which felt like home for us and the dog!”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed in this lovely cottage with our cocker spaniel and another couple. It was spacious both upstairs and downstairs with lovely lounge and kitchen (with dishwasher!!!) and all other necessities. Very clean and decorated beautifully.
The only downside was just one bathroom but we didn't mind too much. There was plenty of hot water and a good shower.

Great location for cartmel. Also went to the pub in the village which was nice.

We will hopefully be returning soon!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Cosy lounge
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Many thanks Sophie for this lovely review!

Just wanted you to know - that since you stayed, we ve put in a downstairs bathroom - as understand the challenge of only one. Also the upstairs bathroom is completely new - (no more green carpet!). Hope you ll get a chance to come back. You re very welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoboJo
1 review
“Beautifully situated in a quiet village, a cosy cottage and lots of interesting places to visit locally. Perfect.”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

A wonderful weekend location for catching up with old friends or for taking family away. The picturesque cottage is well equipped, clean and cosy. The local countryside is beautiful and away from the hubbub of the central lakes. The nearby village of Cartmel is absolutely lovely with some amazing restaurants.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel T
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Glendene for a few days over the half term with the kids. It was perfect! Such a lovely house - really spacious but cosy too. Tanya has thought of everything and it really felt like home from home. The place was spotless and beds really comfortable with toys and books for the kids - an added bonus. It was so quiet and peaceful, but easy distance to plenty of activities. The pub in the village was really lovely and it's a great location for exploring the lakes - near to Morecombe Bay, Lake Windemere etc. Love loved loved it and will definitely be booking again. Thank you Tanya!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A delightful house with everything we could need
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the large well equipped kitchen
Liked least: liked it all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
S K
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just Perfect!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What a fab property!! Spacious, clean, well equipped.. it felt like we were walking in a friend’s home, not a rented cottage. Every little detail for a traveller is well thought of and planned. Previous reviews have covered a lot so we would rather add than repeat.

Other than almost everything you need or want on a holiday – it has wifi, alarms in every room, hair dryer, a classic multi-purpose music player (bring your LPs and CDs with you to unwind after great walks around the lakes and fells!!). We discovered a cabinet full of good board games, a stocked book cabinet. Not for a moment we felt like we were away from our own home. It was like we have a dream home in the lake district.. Just perfect!!

Our 3 year old and 1 year old enjoyed as much as we did. We will be back.

Practical info: Two cars can park easily in front of the house, Walking distance to pub, 5 minutes to farm shop or the famous Yew antique yard, great walks to fells, 10 minutes to Windermere, 7 minutes to Grange-over-sands (Hazlemere Café is great for lunches and pastries), The restaurant at the Swan Hotel (newby bridge is only 5 minute drive), petrol pump at 5 minutes. While you are there, don't miss visiting John Ruskin's house (30 minute drive). It also has a scrummy Tea Room!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Facilities, Clean, Child friendly, Instructions, outdoor and indoor spaces.
Liked least: It raised the bar for investments in our own kitchen.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing