We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub”

The Pig and Whistle
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Cartmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: For Easter opening hours - please look at our events page on our website! A traditional oak beamed pub with a real log fire! Situated in the lovely village of Cartmel, well known for its Priory, Sticky Toffee Pudding and Cartmel Races. The Pig offers an intimate dining experience in the small cosy bistro and a small bar where a range of cask and keg beers are on offer. To the rear the pub has a large beer garden and patio with views over the village and the Cumbrian fells. Kind regards Tim, Emma and the team, since September 2015. Opening hours detailed here on Trip Advisor are food service hours. Our pub hours are 16.00 - 23.00 Monday to Thursday with lunchtime opening hours Friday - Sunday 12.00 - 23.00.
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We stayed in Cartmel for the week and visited The Pig and Whistle x3 times and each time the food and service was lovely.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Me and my husband found this by accident after having a bad experience at a local restaurant. We were so impressed by the service and the food that we booked a table again for the next evening. The food was very tasty and the ambience of the bistro was really good. We were particularly impressed by the landlady who was very efficient and clearly cared about customer service. I would definitely recommend this bistro for a meal.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank neet181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

I was looking forward to a superb meal in this Gasto pub. It was a Wednesday evening and we were on holiday so should have been not too busy. We were seated in the Bistro where there were only 2 other couples. Our order was taken promptly enough, we ordered a mains intending to have a dessert afterwards. We sat and waited, and waited, watched one couple eat their starters and mains, and saw lots of orders of food going into the bar. We waited 50 minutes and then the manager came over to tell us our order was next, meanwhile the other couple were starting their dessert. The food arrived, mine was pan fried chicken and Tagliatelle, and it was very average for the price. My OH have venison burger and chips which he enjoyed. We decided we couldn't wait another 50 mins for dessert so left, me feeling very disgruntled. Having spent 30 mins in the small bar prior to going into the Bistro where no one was ordering food, it seemed that the locals were being served first and we were just forgotten. Goodness knows how long we would have waited if the Bistro was busy too. Very poor service and no better food than my local.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

We visited Pig and Whistle for a light dinner. We ended up jus having starters and pudding which were both excellent. We sat outside in the humble pub garden and had a lovely meal. Excellent cooking. We would love to return to Cartmel to try he main courses! Great country pub, reasonably priced.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank sophiah343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We visited the pig and whistle during the Cartmel Rocks festival
We et in the comfortable bistro section of the pub, warm welcome, nice menu and good service, will visit here again

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank nigel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pig and Whistle also viewed

Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to The Pig and Whistle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing