We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to crow about.”
Review of The Black Cock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broughton in Furness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Black Cock Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nothing to crow about.”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Wednesday evening, 8.00 pm and we were just about the only customers.

Beer was as flat as the atmosphere. Menu and decor unchanged since the 1980's - and it's not retrospective chic!

Hardest working member Of the team is clearly the deep fat fryer and he was overdue an oil change.

Give it a miss.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryBanham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    42
    8
    10
    10
See reviews for
41
56
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We had such a great time at this Inn. Amazing home-cooked dinner and desserts, and was so cozy. Super friendly hosts make you feel very welcomed and will fill you in on what is around to see and great funny stories. The pub was full of friendly locals with a great atmosphere.

Rooms were well equipped with comfy beds and super clean. Gorgeous quiet relaxing place, a real escape from the busy rat-race of normal life.

Plenty of free parking, and cozy place. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europe-travellers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Trev and leseley are as welcoming and friendly as we remembered them! Such great characters with a great sense of humour that had us smiling all weekend. Still amazing food, from top chefs and warm, welcoming and friendly staff and locals. They all made our stay even more worth while (along with the great beer and wine). The hotel was really cosy and inviting and had the most snug duvet! Even if you dont stay the night its definately worth calling in to try pea wee, steve and the teams wonderful homecooked food. 10 out of 10, such lovely people and place - we will back again soon. Thanks everyone at the black cock, for making our stay so enjoyable yet again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoladrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Had a fantastic time.Spent two nights there and was really hoping to get snowed in as the pub is so cosy and inviting.The food was excellent,more like resteraunt quality than your usual pub grub and served by really friendly staff.There is a good selection of real ales and the wine was good too.The room was very clean and comfortable and the basket of shampoos,conditoiner,shower gel and body lotions provided made a nice touch.A big thankyou should go to Trevor and his wife for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

my wife and i stopped here 30th jan for a light lunch.my wife had quarter pound burger with chips charnised with a lovely salad she ate it all and declared how nicr it was i had the tomato soup and roasted pepper it exploded in my mouth with flavours off chilli and garlic wonderful my wife then finished with chocolate lumpy bumpy and fresh cream the plate was wiped clean by the time she had finished all the food was home cooked and highly recommened to all so nicr then when we picked our daughters up from school we went back and got the girls the same pudding all this for 22pounds give it a go think you will be very happy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenhambly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broughton in Furness
18.0 km away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
330 reviews
13.1 km away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#7 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
110 reviews
4.0 km away
No photo provided
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 2 in Kirkby in Furness
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Brockwood Hall
Brockwood Hall
#1 of 3 in Millom
304 reviews
10.1 km away
Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn
9.4 km away
The Farmers Arms Lowick Green
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Cock Inn

Property: The Black Cock Inn
Address: Princes Street, Broughton in Furness LA20 6HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Broughton in Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Broughton in Furness
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,261 - ₹ 4,522
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Cock Inn stands in the heart of an attractive small market town of Broughton in Furness, within easy reach of some of the Lake District's finest scenery. The 16th Century Inn has low beamed ceilings, an open fire to sit around on those cold days and which provide wonderful traditional ambiance. There is always a selection of real ales and lagers on offer, and we serve locally sourced food lunch and dinner. We have 5 en suite letting bedrooms which boast of an'olde worlde' charm. We also have a secluded 'beer garden' which is a haven for those nice summer days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Black Cock Hotel Broughton-In-Furness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing