We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just been back a second time and it was great.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alston House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alston House
Ranked #2 of 13 Alston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just been back a second time and it was great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We have just been back to Alston for our second visit and this was just as good as the first. This time we spent more time walking around Alston and the scenery is just as impressive and different from the lakes. Well worth a visit. This time we had a lovely double room with a roll top bath. Superb. We had the special Pizza/Pasta Menu the first night. Great value for money. The second night we ate of the a la carter menu, I had the pie and my husband had steak. I cannot fault it all. Thanks to the Mike and Carole the owners and all the other staff who made us feel welcome.
Great place.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel. Its a good size double with a roll top bath. Lovely bubble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billy1shoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    61
    14
    8
    0
See reviews for
36
116
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed there for two weeks and i have to say what a gem this place is.

I have stayed in 3 different rooms and all were great. All well laid out and immaculate.
There is plenty of room to park and it is so quiet at night with very little passing traffic.

But what really makes this place great is the staff and the food.

Everyone there is so nice and nothing is too much trouble for them. The owners,the bar staff and the chef are all part of what makes this place so good.

Now on to the food!!!! Great,fantastic and gorgeous are words i could use to describe the food here but none of them would come close to doing it justice.
DO NOT LEAVE THIS PLACE WITHOUT TRYING THE RIBS!!!

I will,without doubt, be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We have been eating here every Friday night for over a year now. The food is exceptional & the Owners & staff are so friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We’ve stayed in many, many different establishments over the decades: from campsites to B&Bs; five-star hotels to hostels and everything in between. They all have their qualities and often their charm is inherent in their quirky nature and unique characteristics. So to find a place with such a mixture of styles is unusual to say the least. The food here is fabulous, prepared personally by owner Michael with 30 years experience. The produce is mostly locally-sourced and/or produced, unpretentious in nature and attractively presented and priced. Michael’s wife Carole is an ever-present friendly smiling face, always eager to help and very hospitable. It truly is a family-run business with a charming, honest approach.

We decided to return to the AHH after an enjoyable one nights stay some time ago. Knowing AHH to be a reputable, decent, dog-friendly hotel in a quiet town with lots of walking opportunities, it seemed the ideal get-away for a short break over New Year. Just the luxury we deserved to recharge the batteries before returning to work and study.

We couldn’t fault the food. Lovely menu, beautifully cooked and seasoned (although perhaps too heavy on the garlic for some palates). The coffee in particular a welcome speciality. Local ales and good selection of wine available at the bar. Breakfast was also a delight with everything cooked to order and very appetising (no kippers offered though – that was a disappointment).

We thought it was strange that the TV didn’t work in the room, but we weren’t there to watch TV anyway and forgot to mention it to Carole. However, upon check-out another guest mentioned this problem too, so I’m not sure whether this was a hotel-wide issue (?) Also worth a mention - the radiators go off during the day and at night. We were fully aware that there were ‘additional heaters available if required’ (according to the guest information folder) and that actually the weather was unseasonably warm outside. However, I think in the depths of an English Lakeland Winter, it is reasonable to expect to have the heating on for most, if not ALL of the day and night (or am I being greedy?). This would also have been useful to dry off some items after the predictable rain, as the drying room was not really warm enough for this, or designed for muddy boots! Fortunately, our bed had the benefit of an electric underblanket, which was a God-send during the night – especially for Dizzy (but don't tell)!!!

We stayed here for 4 nights which included New Years Eve - which was an experience in itself that I have blogged about here: www.ursies.blogspot.com. I wouldn't stay again over NYE, but would definitely return another time. Love the area, love the surrounding pubs, love the peaceful walks. A perfect get away.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wowzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Great place to stay. Third time back which must say something. The staff could not do anymore.

Food excellent and good value.

Rooms were comfortable and warm and the public areas clean and comfortable. Michael and Carol take an obvious pride in the welcome that they provide. I don't hesitate to recommend the Alston House hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuzzleSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
4.2 km away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 km away
Cumberland Hotel
Cumberland Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
19.9 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 km away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
26.0 km away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
0.5 km away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alston House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alston House

Property: Alston House
Address: Townfoot, Alston CA9 3RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,630 - ₹ 8,094
Hotel Class:4 star — Alston House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding food at this family run hotel. There is a cafe, restaurant and bar and seven ensuite rooms. The cafe serves homemade cakes and scones with lattes, chill out and meet your friends. The popular evening restaurant has extensive menu catering for all. Most of the rooms are spacious with lovely fell views with comfortable beds. The service is friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. Situated in Alstonwith all its facitities and within an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alston House Hotel Alston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing