We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Bacchus

Bacchus
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Prestbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 34
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Bacchus is a Modern British Restaurant(with a hint of European influence) Serving the Best of Locally Sourced Quality Produce
Reviewed 7 November 2018

First visit. Comfortable seats, white tablecloths etc.
Duck main voted best ever by two of us
Summer pudding same
We chose red & white wines (less than £20). Both excellent

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2018

Sunday lunch great food and service at a good price really nice staff and nice added touches like the petit fours

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mung M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

I don’t quite understand the link between the name Bacchus (the Roman god of agriculture) and the restaurant, only to say that the meal in itself was somewhat agricultural. The Romans copied this god from the Greek god Dionysus who represented vines and ivy !

A business associate and I visited the restaurant on Thursday 27th September for an early dinner. The interior of the restaurant is looking a little dated, especially as there are so many newer restaurants to choose from in this area. The staff were polite and friendly, we were shown to our seat quickly and ordered from the A La Carte Menu.

I ordered the Scallops & Crab starter, pan fried scallops with a crab and sweetcorn veloute. The scallops were well cooked, but the whole dish was lacking flavour and I expected so much more. To have such fine ingredients and not make them shine is such a shame.

For the main course I ordered the Roasted Loin of Venison, roasted pink venison, with a slow gin pie, creamed potatoes accompanied with a blackberry and juniper sauce. I know what you are thinking….. this sounds wonderful. Unfortunately the venison again lacked a little flavour (whether under seasoned or not I don’t know), the slow gin pie was dry and the vegetables and the sauce once again lacked flavour.

It is such a pity as the menu reads so well and increases your expectation levels, only for the food (in this instance) to let it down. So perhaps Bacchus is the right name after all.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Food and service were excellent and we will be returning at some point. Parking isn't easy in Prestbury so allow time to find a space somewhere.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ClarkeSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Our first visit and we would love to return. It was excellent. The food is superb and the entire team was friendly, attentive and created a warm, fun environment. Highly recommend the scallop and crab starter and the fillet steak.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bacchus also viewed

 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Prestbury, Macclesfield
Prestbury, Macclesfield
 

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing