We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Home for a rest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home for a rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just had a Mon-Fri break at Avaston Hall, lovely food, great entertainment and very friendly staff team. So much to do you can be as active as you like or just take in the lovely ambiance of the place. We crammed so much in with the group of friends that we went with and had so much fun. We all enjoyed the evening entertainment, Bruce Thompson was so funny and the dancing was great. Looking forward to going back for a Turkey and Tinsel break later in the year.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rivlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    356
    126
    55
    38
See reviews for
153
621
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with a friend. We booked a courtyard room as a "last minute" deal. We thought the room, restaurant and swimming pool complex were all great. Meals were plentiful and there was a good choice. We didn't do any organised activities as we spent the days exploring the local area.

Yes most people staying in the hotel are 65+ (and we are quite a bit younger) but we didn't feel this detracted from our visit....... why would it?

All in all a very good break at a very good price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShepofBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel in January 2012. The place is easy to find and you can get simple directions from them if you ring before going. The building is dated but surprisingly well maintained, with very clean and warming communal areas and an adequate leisure club (bit cold around the pool area but not too much of a problem). The staff were extremely friendly and always happy to help (especially the restaurant team which always had a smile). The food was varied and well presented, and there was plenty of it so we did not go hungry, we had a choice during evening meals of either a dish from the menu served to our table, or there is a carvery. Breakfast is a good mixture of everything you'd expect (continental and full english), we would rate it about 8 out of 10. Our room was very basic as expected for the price, but it was clean, nicely furnished and had everything we needed. Entertainment was excellent and we really enjoyed it (coming from a couple who are hard to please), especially the ELO experience who were fantastic. All in all our stay was very nice and we would stay there again, we would recommend this one as a handy location for access to Chester as it was only 15 minutes to the Park and Ride, the place is also on the outskirts of Nantwitch which can be reached by car in about 5 minutes.

Just a few tips: There have been one or two break ins in the area due to people being careless with locking their doors and leaving too many tempting valuables in view, so it is best to leave a light on in the evening (it's their electricity), and ensure you lock your door, they offer to hold your treasured possessions in the hotel safe if you wish. Finally, be very careful pulling out of the hotel lane onto the main road, as we found it to be very busy and quite a fast road (its apparently known to be a high risk collision area). Dont be put off by these two points as they are not negatives just tips. The hotel is lovely.

Room Tip: You can upgrade to a better room, but ring in advance to check availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed here Mon 12 Dec -Fri 16 Dec 2011 in a Royale Room in Grove House (1st floor, large balcony). We have stayed in this room before, it is large, well furnished and decorated. Only problem is squeaky floorboards in a couple of areas which may annoy people staying downstairs.
On our last 3 visits here we have booked the VIP Package. It is £70 for 2 for the 4 nights and is well worth it. You get cocktails and bottled water each night, unexpected chocolates and glasses of wine on other nights,so it ends up costing a fiver a night to sit in the best seats to watch the shows. The service was exemplary.
The food was very good be it the "Xmas Night" Gala Dinner, the served to your table off the menu or the self-service.
The entertainment was the usual 5 stars, quality singing and dance performances, great music from the Black Jacks and well hosted by Ian, the new compere.
There was a marvelous tribute to the great man himself, Mr.Bob Roberts, on the "New Years Eve", with the Black Jacks playing to a big screen video performance of Bob singing "Imagine". A standing ovation followed. Miss you Bob.
Our fellow guests may be getting on in years compared to us (52 & 56) but the dance floor was never empty and the New Year conga snaked around the cabaret diner with the odd zimmer and wheelchair in tow!!
A great week and so nice to see so many familiar faces - never had so many conversations on a break before.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank appink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My parents booked a weekend trip to this hotel and could not have been more impressed. They stayed in a room located above the main balcony, number 22. Their cleaner, Fiona, was delightful and extremely friendly, offering help with local directions and helping them to lock their door when they couldn't figure out how to do so. Turns out there is a switch to turn on the handle, they thought this is something reception should have explained when they checked in but were glad Fiona was on hand to help them anyway. The room was cleaned to a high standard and they couldn't fault it.
The food was great and the entertainment team was to the usual high standards. They were sad to hear the sad news about Bob but his replacement, Ian, is doing a great job.
All in all it was a pleasant stay and they would not hesitate to stay again.
They would like to thank all the staff for a lovely weekend!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the balcony above reception and the rooms above there are all great, though there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim2990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
3.1 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
9.0 km away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
6.8 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Nantwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
6.7 km away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
24.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel
Address: Middlewich Road, Nantwich CW5 6PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Hotel Class:3 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience this superb 19th-century half timbered house with a range of facilities including a 9-hole golf course, fitness studio and indoor pool. Relax in our stunning contemporary Signature rooms, top of the range Royale rooms or the Courtyard outdoors room accommodation. Enjoy the evening entertainment whilst you dine in our splendid cabaret diner, The Grove Ballroom. Nearly everything comes complementary to your room, so make the most of our facilities and the service offered by our friendly team. Location: Alvaston Hall is located 40 minutes south-east of Chester, and 30 minutes west of Stoke-on-Trent. Set in the pretty Cheshire countryside, it's ideally located near Manchester and Liverpool too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alvaston Hall Hotel Nantwich
Alvaston Hall Nantwich
Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing