We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but pricey”
Review of The Boars Head

The Boars Head
Ranked #25 of 119 Restaurants in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 20
Cuisines: British
Description: Premium dining and pub set in the heart of beautiful Cheshire countryside. Freshly cooked food, cask ales and continental lagers. Part of the Parogon Pub Group
Restaurant details
Description: Premium dining and pub set in the heart of beautiful Cheshire countryside. Freshly cooked food, cask ales and continental lagers. Part of the Parogon Pub Group
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely meal, definitely an occasion place as our bill for 2 people was £95 (over £100 by the time we added a tip)
The duck sharer starter was beautiful, better than any I’ve had from A Chinese.
My husband had the lamb which he loved and I had the sea bass. Lovely but they forgot the green beans so it did look quite empty and bland. Desserts were to die for!
Happily go back on another special occasion :)

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Kay1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018

All of our party enjoyed their lunch, each ordering something different from the menu.The food was well cooked and delicious. It was well presented and well proportioned for a lunch menu, (ie not too big or too small). The place had a great atmosphere and staff were very hospitable too, well worth a visit.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DevonRadleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

The pub looks so lovely from the outside, on the whole the food was pretty good except for the hake fish dish which had loads of large bones still in it, a restaurant of this supposed standard you’d have thought it would have been filleted.

Our main dissatisfaction was the amount of flies in the conservatory, they were landing in our food, my wife and daughter didn’t finish their meals £15 & £17 respectively due to the flies landing on their food. I spoke to the supervisor who said it wasn’t her fault and there’s nothing they could do about it, I was told they had fly catches up however when I had a good look there weren’t any around. The supervisor did shut the doors after a while however the flies were still in there.

This was a family meal to celebrate our 18th wedding anniversary, if anyone asks me to recommend it I would have to say no due to the flies most unhygienic. No apology from anyone when we left after paying £85 for 2 adults & 1 child for the pleasure.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely place. Great staff. Excellent food. One of the best Sunday dinners we've ever had. £13.95 for a Sunday dinner. Not the cheapest but worth every penny. Highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank RichnRach1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is beautifully presented and the food is great, with a good selection on the menu. I highly recommend the duck to start and the Thai green curry. They also have a good selection of cocktails and mocktails. The staff were very friendly and professional. A great find and will definitely be returning!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank cojd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boars Head also viewed

Stone, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stafford, Staffordshire
Wybunbury, Nantwich
 

Been to The Boars Head? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing