We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Spud-U-Like

Spud-U-Like
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

After a long wait in a queue that only had four or five in front of me I eventually was served one baked potato. Then told I would have to wait for second potato as no other potatoes ready. Second potato was brought down quite quickly but both were not properly cooked - really disappointing after waiting so long in a queue. We returned the food and were given a full refund. Staff were very pleasant.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

The restaurant is pleasant and clean, the staff are friendly and efficient, there's a good choice of fillings for the potatoes, and the prices are okay. We were the only ones in there which is a real shame given that its a very healthy meal choice. The pizza and burger places were all full of parents with young children. Only one small negative point; we weren't given straws, which is good, but we were given single-use plastic cutlery even though as we later realised, metal cutlery was available, and that's not so good.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

If you are after a quick meal which will keep you filled for long this is a place to go. Friendly staff.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank burhandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Went in at lunchtime and had to wait 15 minutes for potatoes to be cooked. Was told I couldn't have a drink whilst waiting as part of the meal deal, even if I prefer paid. When served eventually, the coronation chicken had no flavour. Would not recommend this eaterie and now know why it was almost empty on a busy Sunday lunchtime!

Date of visit: March 2018
5  Thank HAREM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

They sell jacket potatoes. They can't even get that right! Four jacket potatoes sent back (x 2 each) as they were hard then the Manager refused a refund and to bring fresh cooked ones, just offering a "sweet treat" with new ones. Back on Black Friday were given uncooked potatoes here too. At least three other parties sent their food back as we were waiting for our replacements. Brought free coffee out and given refund with fresh potatoes, although they were STILL hard!! Ate what we could! Floor walking staff very apologetic and sympathetic, feel sorry for them dealing head on with complaints.

Date of visit: March 2018
5  Thank mashtonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spud-U-Like also viewed

 
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Childer Thornton, Ellesmere Port
 
Little Sutton, Ellesmere Port
Little Sutton, Ellesmere Port
 

Been to Spud-U-Like? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing