We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place to get married”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cliveden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cliveden House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magical place to get married”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

My husband and I got married last week at Cliveden in the Spring Cottage. Our family and friends stayed in the main buidling. I would not normally write a review but the experience was so pleasureable I am. There was one hiccup at lunch but once I mentioned it to the manager everything went well from then. Karolina the event manager handled our wedding plans very well and was accomodating and helpful at all times. We had two excellent butlers for the evening in Spring Cottage (Raddock and Gracjan) and all our guests commented on how marvellous they were at making the evening go well. they were fun yet discrete. Both boatmen, Ken and his colleague were also very good with our guests especially the children. The chef did a great job with dinner. All in all, I would recommend Spring Cottage to anyone looking for a stylish, discrete, special wedding dayl.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
I thought by now you might be back from your Honeymoon so wanted to thank you for your kind review. Being responsible for a couples wedding plans is something we take very seriously as we all wish it to be completley magical and memorable. I am delighted that you can look back on your special days and smile. The team and I would like to add our many congratulations once again and needless to say we hope to see you for your 1st Wedding Anniversary. Ken will be waiting for you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    150
    69
    33
    20
See reviews for
181
472
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

A beautiful day with views overlooking the grounds down to the Thames, was a great setting for a birthday celebration with friends.
The 3 course set lunch is £28, plus £8pp for the National Trust unless you all remembered to bring your membership cards! Nice food, good service and the overall ambience is magic.
On certain days they have NT tours of parts of the house which will jog memories of certain political happenings in the 60s.
Even if you can't afford to stay, it's well worth a visit. Lovely walks and gardens and do try your luck in the new maze to work-off the lunch!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank for your review following your recent visit for lunch. I hope you agree that the Partarre is looking wonderfully colourful and that it is a real treat to see it in full bloom. One of many reasons to visit the House & Estate. I look forward to seeing what scheme the Head Gardener comes up with for 2013. I do know that there are 22 thousand bedding plants in the current scheme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Today my friends and I had a lovely lunch and day at cliveden. The food was really delicious, well cooked and beautifully presented. The service was great and it was lovely to talk to the hotel manager who enthusiastically described the new plan for the hotel - we will be back soon to experience this lovely hotel thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemeister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
A belated but sincere thank you for your kind review.I am delighted the team looked after you well and that you enjoyed your visit. Lovely to know you will be back, I hope you get a sunny day when the house looks at its very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here in late July 2012. Would I return? Without hesitation!

My experience at Cliveden House was wonderful, from the moment we checked in.

Our suite was superb, dinner was magnificent, breakfast was the best. I am still amazed by the beautiful grounds and facilities.

I have no hesitation in recommending Cliveden House as must visit destination.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for your recent review, your comments were lovely to read and I am delighted you were able to make the most of the house. Your feedback has been shared with the team and we will look after the house until you return.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead - UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Living nearby, staying at Cliveden House has been on my wife and my bucket list for some years. with even the cheapest rooms normally starting at £400 this was somewhere I did not expect to actually stay, but last night they had rooms going a little cheaper so I booked for the day.

We started the day in the spa (check-in is at 3pm but you can use the spa from 7am on both arrival and departure day). We luxuriated in the Canadian hot tub and sun loungers when it was sunny, and ducked into the Jacuzzi when it rained. Quickly it was time to go to the house and check in. We got lucky, and were upgraded the a luxury double room, massive bedroom on the 2nd floor with a great 4 poster bed, nice bathroom and walk in wardrobe.

A quick change later and it was down for afternoon tea. Another item ticked off the bucket list, tea in the library was almost everything I had hoped for. Cakes were great, the scones and cream very filling, my only very slight complaint was the 4 finger sandwiches did not equate to even a single normal round so we filled up on the cakes instead.

Two hours later and it was back to the room to change again and then a walk around the many acres of grounds (now closed to the public).

We finished the day with a carpet picnic back in our room (complete with Champaign). Definitely a cheaper option than the £60 per head dinner (before drinks) and probably just as romantic.

A great night's sleep in a very romantic bed, waking with views down the drive to the shell fountain followed.

Breakfast was a real let-down after everything else. whilst there was lots of choice the eggs were undercooked, the mushrooms flavourless, the tomatoes soggy... you get the picture.

If you get the chance to stay, take it.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room to benefit from the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam_in_the_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and I acknowledge that we missed the mark at breakfast. Please be assured this will be addressed. We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back before too long.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
6.5 km away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
9.4 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
29.6 km away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
7.7 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
5.9 km away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliveden House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliveden House

Property: Cliveden House
Address: Taplow SL6 0JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,547 - ₹ 1,11,315
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliveden House 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliveden is unique. One of the world's finest luxury hotels, this grand stately home is set in the heart of the Berkshire countryside, surrounded by 376 acres of magnificent formal gardens and parkland and with wonderful panoramic views over the River Thames. It is one of the finest luxury hotels near London and Heathrow Airport. Guests have included every British monarch since George I as well as Charlie Chaplin, Winston Churchill, Harold Macmillan, President Roosevelt, George Bernard Shaw, John Profumo and Christine Keeler, and many other well-known names from the past and present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cliveden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliveden House Hotel Taplow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing