We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Food good / Atmosphere Poor

Booked a table for 7 when family had visited from London. On arrival we had to find a member of... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
LoubyBedfordshire
,
Bedfordshire
via mobile
Great local

Our group use the ewie as our local. Friendly atmosphere and good prices for drinks and food. Quite... read more

Reviewed 10 August 2018
Dean M
via mobile
Read all 103 reviews
  
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
26
21
21
10
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
21
21
10
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pub restaurant watch the football few occasions food menu lovely meal birthday toilets
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Have been a regular here for over 30 years until recently, returned after having surgery to find the manager "Nicky" had left, leaving 2 young ladies in charge who clearly were not experienced enough to run such a busy pub, trying to get served on a weekend was a nightmare, although to be fair they were 3 or 4 staff down for various reasons, and there was never enough staff normally due to budgetary restraints.
Went in Wednesday (26/4/2018) to watch football and have a few beers with friends, there was a temporary manager in charge " Marianne" who i believe runs the Jolly Milliner in Luton, what a wonderful experience, Real ale was beautiful, efficient friendly, stress free experience. I believe a temporary manager is taking over now, they will do well to match this experience. Also a well done to the new barmaid whose name i didn`t catch, a young lady again friendly and efficient, who when she wasn`t serving was out collecting glasses and wiping down tables, which we are not used to,
One down vote the Mens toilets yet again were a disgrace, the toilet was full of used paper as apparently it hasn`t flushed for about 6 weeks, (According to a staff member).

Thank kierin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We were a large party of 14ppl for Sunday lunch on 25 March, last minute booking, so didn’t pre-book food in advance which normally you would be expected to do in any pub/restaurant for that number of people. And I have to say the food was excellent. Served quickly by an efficient, friendly waitress. All piping hot and delicious. Many thanks to the Ewe and Lamb for accommodating us at the last minute!

Thank jess j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Visited this evening with friends for dinner. Amazing steak! Best in ages! Lovely food, great waitress, fabulous service. Friendly people with a great ambience! Well done!

Thank Michaela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Although we go to the Ewe and Lamb fairly regularly, we are usually happier with the food. We had sandwich and chips lunch for two with two pints of beer and some nuts for under £17.
The food was ok but we realised half way through that the drinking glasses weren’t clean on the outside of the glass- which made us wonder whether they weren’t clean inside either. The salad was sparse and limp as if it had got warm at some point. We both had a bit of an upset tummy later in the afternoon which we felt
May well be linked to lunch. Would try again but if we have a repeat issue, would probably not do lunch there again
Click below if this was helpful - Thanks

1  Thank Cathinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

I am going to be away on March 11th (mothers day) so thought I'd take mum out before. As this pub/restaurant is close to my mother's house thought I'd give it a try.
So glad I did... The staff were very friendly and the food excellent. Great atmosphere and a enjoyable time.
Thank you Sheila especially for making my mum's day.
GJ from Amptill

Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews