We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
69
87
56
24
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
87
56
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews american diner toast leighton buzzard basic breakfast no frills room was clean light breakfast lady on reception one night fruit juice milton keynes complimentary breakfast would stay again budget hotel tea coffee bath shower rooms are basic
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2018

We returned to Redwings Lodge recently as it offers excellent value for money and is conveniently situated for our purposes. On booking we requested (and were given) a quiet room which was clean and contained all we required for a brief stay......hospitality tray, plenty of towels and lovely hot water for a shower.
We thought the complimentary breakfast was a real bonus as most budget hotels do not offer or charge more for breakfast.
The staff have always been friendly and helpful and we were saddened to read the very negative comments which were posted recently. We feel Redwings performs really well in this price range.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the fields are quieter than those facing the main road.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank erilyn625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwings D, Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Thank you Erilyn for your wonderful review and for scoring us a 5/5. It is always so uplifting to get positive feedback from our guests especially the guests that choose to stay with us frequently.
We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your return stay and found the hotel suited your needs and the staff friendly and helpful, and that you appreciated the Free breakfast option which is available to all of our guests if they choose . It is dishearting when you get negative feedback but you have to take the good with the bad and , as both good and bad do enable you to see the areas we excel in and maybe try to improve upon the negative. The staff work extremely hard to try to make sure all guests leave having had a positive experience but unfortunately we sometimes are unable to achieve this with everybody.Thank you once again for you positive feedback it is very much appreciated and we hope you choose to stay with us again when you are back in the area.Karen Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We checked in a 1pm and checked out at 2pm the same day. There was mold on the ceiling of our hotel room... the bathroom floor was squishy like you were going to fall through the floor. Wont be staying here ever again

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Clancie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwings D, Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank You for taking the time to leave us your feedback.We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We only wished you had brought this to the attention of the hotel staff at the time of your stay who would have been more than willing to move you to a more suitable room.
The staff work extremely hard to try to make sure everybody leaves having had an enjoyable stay with us and the majority of the time we succeed but unfortuantely it would appear that on this occassion we were unable to manage this .Karen Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

I would personally recommend staying at any other location than this hotel.

Room very basic, dated, cold, smelling of dampness and can be very noisy, depending on room as hotel is next to busy main road, A5.

Hotel has a cheap diner adjacent to it but restricted opening times and no other options for food by foot.

Breakfast is light and offered in the cheap, scruffy looking reception area with plastic sheets on the tables with the added facilities of a vending machine containing quality essentials such as crisps and chocolate.

Front desk is rarely manned, so waiting around to check in, check out or when requiring assistance and the Manageress is not the most pleasant of persons in our experience.

Not a very nice experience whatsoever, with much improved options within a short drive away so would certainly recommend driving straight past to an alternate location.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank marksmith2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwings D, Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Thank you Mark for your feedback, we are sorry you did not like your room , and when you informed us that the room was cold we suggested that we could put the heating on or we were willing to move you to another room but your partner said that you were actually in the wrong place for where you needed to be, and that their actually was nothing wrong with the room. I would ask that only true reviews are posted on the web page and not reviews from guests who were refused a refund because they had picked the wrong location, this is not the hotels fault, this is not an honest reflection of this hotel.The review you have posted on Trip advisor is not a true reflection of this hotel and you should not have left this as you have given misleading information as you actually did not stay here and was only here for about 5 minutes before you wished to leave as you had booked the wrong hotel. You did not sample the breakfast , as you did not stay, you did not sample the American Diner on site either, these are slanderous comments from someone who used neither of these facilities so has no right to leave such bad comments on something they have not experienced, you cannot say the reception is not manned as you where only hear for 5 minutes.The reception is manned 24hrs a day. We have many guests who stay with us and have a really enjoyable stay as is reflected in previous reviews. We are sorry you are a dusgruntled guest who unfortunately was not entitled to a refund and is now faulsify THIS FEEDBACK FORUM.Only honest reviews are allowed on Trip Advisor and you could get into a lot of trouble for making faulse claims against a hotel you never stayed at, please bear this in mind when ever you leave future reviews. Karen Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Our second year of staying here,still as friendly and helpful, clean and as a base to explore it is perfect.We took our small dog , we came and went as we pleased.Rooms more than adequate lovely view of fields and very helpful staff.
Lite breakfast very good and ideal before setting out to explore the area.
Close to many attractions and the airport.

Room tip: we prefer the top floor room 19, 20 they overlook the fields
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank holidayloo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwings D, Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review,and for scoring us an amazing 5/5 score. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your return stay with us, it is always lovely to get positive feedback from our guests ,it is such a moral boost for the staff to see that all their hard work to try to make sure every guest leaves us with a good outlook of the hotel has not gone unnoticed .We hope to see you again next year and please bring your little dog with you.Karen Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night during a short stay in UK on our way back home. The room was spacious and also bathroom. There is a good continental breakfast included, nice lady at reception, spacious parking area. We had dinner at the american diner just next door. Great value for money.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwings D, Manager at Redwings Lodge Dunstable, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you Francesca for your positive feedback, it is always lovely to hear guests have enjoyed their stay with us, and found the staff friendly and welcoming and the hotel rooms clean and spacious, we hope you choose to stay with us again if you are ever in the area.Karen Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews