We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
716 results
Traveller rating
223
272
114
59
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
272
114
59
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sausage large shower beans hot food good size breakfast was included great shower the breakfast area buffet style free wifi self service luton airport whipsnade zoo reception staff shower room budget hotel double bed
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 716 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Great location for me as it was near my business location. Great staff and very clean rooms. Excellent choice at breakfast with plenty of room to sit. Plenty of parking space and located near Luton airport

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Woody8276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your last trip into Dunstable, your review was received and we thank you for letting us know of your impressions, here we do share all the feedback on our team meetings and always aim to do better, sometimes when we are not at our best we know how to take feedback and embrace any new challenges.
We hope to see you again soon in our property

Thank you again and wishing you all the best

Kind Regards

Amy and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Arrived here and booked in with a nice welcome.
Then it all started to go a bit wrong. The electronic card to open the door didnt ! Someone had clearly messed with the tv and this took time to sort out. Then the toilet wouldnt flush!
The end !
We were going out to celebrate our 10th anniversary so didnt have much time to mess about.
J went off to reception and when she returned we had a different room to go to. All done though without any sign of an apology. Apparently there was no one in the hotel to fix anything so a new key was thrust across the counter.
At least that one worked.
Decamped to the new room where the air con refused to retain the heat setting, the toilet roll holder kept falling off the wall and the lights didnt work properly in the bathroom!
Breakfast was a bit lacklustre as well. Scrambled egg was excellent but the sausages and bacon were so watery that we didnt eat them. We had breakfast just before 8am and was surprised it had deteriorated that soon.
The positive bit is that the bed was comfy , the shower was excellent and the room was very clean with great blackout curtains.
Disappointingly there was no one on reception when we left the key to talk to about our problems.
We stay in the Holiday Inn Express at Milton Keynes where we've never had a problem with the rooms.
Clearly the rooms at Dunstable are regularly cleaned to a good standard but are not checked or maintained in the same way.
It was lucky for us i suppose that another room was free. What if the place had been full !

Room Tip: Check everything works before you unpack !
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Containsnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide such detail with regard to your experience here with us.

I am sorry to see quite a number of things that have impacted on your stay, the feedback has been shared with the team in order to continue to develop the service we provide to all our guests.

I hope if you are due back in the area again any time soon you can email me directly on deputy@hiexdunstable.co.uk and I can oversee all the details of your reservation for you.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon

Kind Regards
Ella Hiscott
Deputy GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

A modern hotel a mile from the centre of Dunstable with staff that go the extra mile who are happy knowledgeable and friendly. A Special touch of writing a welcome message on the mirror in our bedroom made my wife's birthday weekend, what a different novel thing to do but brilliant. The room was spacious, clean with a up to date bathroom with modern shower, easy wi fi connection, tv, coffee/tea facilities and good heating.The receptionists were very friendly with nothing to much trouble to ask for i.e. asking for shower cap or booking a taxi, all with smiles. Even at 3am in the morning the receptionists were no different, a night cap drink was not a problem a chat about the Dunstable night life was responded to in a friendly smiling way, full marks to the staff.There is a restaurant and a snack counter selling crisps,chocolate and soft drinks/water which you pay for at reception also there is ample free parking and with the hotel close to Luton airport i'm sure it will appeal we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Watfordchaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Dear WatfordChaps

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us.

We are so pleased to see you like our special touches! We really look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards
Ella Hiscott
Deputy Gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

I've just got back from a recent stay at this hotel. The room was excellent and very clean with a very good shower. There's lift access to all floors. I can't comment on the food as I had to leave early. All in all a very pleasant stay. I'd recommend that you book in advance as the price can vary a lot.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

well where to start, i stayed at this hotel after booking with hotels.com. Once i got to the hotel they did not have my reservation from hotels.com but we showed them the email and they checked us in.

went into my room and everything was fine till 3:30 in the morning when a random person gain a key to my room from reception and walked into my room.

the next morning the manager of the establishment insisted on a refund and another night at the hotel free of charge. instead of gaining a refund which i was given a receipt for i actually was charged again for the nights stay.

after being in a 2 week battle with personal at the hotel and also customer services and be thrown back a forward between people like a tennis ball i have been told that my case will be closed and that a refund of the original payment will not be made as they have refunded the second unauthorised payment they took from my bank account.

Room Tip: book another hotel
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SoMeSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Dunstable, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dunstable, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear SoMeSee,

Thank you for sending us your thoughts as well on TripAdvisor,

We wanted to point out that the hotel has taken a genuine steps on charging your card for one night and refunded you right away the next day once the confirmation from Hotels.com came through.

We did not held any more funds from you as explained and there was no other refund that you were pending to receive after we both looked into your bank account statement as hotels.com, IHG customers service as well as the hotel explained to you on numerous occasions, i fell sorry that i could not be of any further support even after you did mention to us to write about your experience on Trip Advisor, TripAdvisor will not unfortunately be able to support however is important for us to point out that your feedback in not entirely reflecting your experience and i am sorry to see that we had to read your comments to this extent.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Robert
gm @ hiexdunstable.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews