We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I highly recommend the Old Palace Lodge, boy they certainly make you feel so special. They could not do any more for me and my guests. The food was outstanding, normally you get a couple of 'grumblers' but not here. The food was cooked to perfection and nothing was too much trouble for them. The cleanliness was outstanding. Now we come to the staff, well what more can I say, they bent over backwards for everyone - attention to detail was spot on. I will certainly be staying again! No negatives from me or may party for sure!! Superb!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    156
    68
    22
    12
See reviews for
86
100
16
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We use the Old Palace Lodge on several family occasions and also for functions for retired colleagues from Luton Borough Council. We are usually put in the Catherine suite, as there are usually over 35 at a time, and we are treated like Royalty.The food is out of this world and not enough praise can be given to all the members of Staff, who are superb,and always make our get togethers feel extra special. I would reccomend the Old Palace Lodge before any other hotel and restaurant in the area.
Stella Rathbone A very happy patron.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed for one night on a work trip
Not over impressed with the town but the hotel was located near the centre and within reach of shops, pubs, food outlets and cash points
There was ample parking at the rear and side of the building
Check-in was easy. My room was on the second floor but despite the hotel being quiet small it does have a lift
My room was large and clean with two single beds fastened together
The room was old fashioned but had been updated and looked ok. The bathroom had been modernised
The rooms have free wi-fi which was fast and easy to use
There was a wedding function on the night I stayed but the hotel provided a table in the upstairs function room even though we ate from the bar menu The food was excellent and good value
The breakfast (buffet fruit / cereals and cooked to order main) was also excellent
The staff were a credit to the hotel

Would not hesitate to stay here again

Only complaint was one noisy drunken guest banging on his door at 4am but not really the fault of the hotel

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mince963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Excellent place to stay. Great rooms, great service. Highly recommend.
They take their Trip Advisor rating very seriously.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambodio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed here with my husband and some more family members to enjoy a family party in Dunstable. The room was beautiful and very clean and comfortable, but the shower is no more than a dribble which was a real let down. The breakfast is expensive at 11.95 each when mcdonalds is only about a mile down the road and cost 6.50 for both of us. It is very central for all the shops. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalky2373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
6.7 km away
The Leaside
The Leaside
#4 of 26 in Luton
514 reviews
12.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Chiltern Hotel
Chiltern Hotel
#20 of 26 in Luton
395 reviews
9.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
10.4 km away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leighton Buzzard
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Palace Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Palace Lodge Hotel

Property: The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
Address: Church Street, Dunstable LU5 4RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Dunstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,442 - ₹ 9,269
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Palace Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel is a newly awarded 4 star hotel located in the historic Market Town of Dunstable.With 68 en-suite spacious bedrooms, designed to a standard or executive level, and three meeting and events suites, offering the perfect for business seminars and private functions, the hotel has been described as a jewel in Dunstable and it really is....The popular Henry Restaurant has welcomed Andrew Hill as the new Executive Head Chef. Andrew and his brigade have comprised a set of exciting brand new menus, from the A La Carte, Wedding, Banqueting to the room and lounge. Children and non residents are welcome.The Old Palace Lodge offers complimentary on-site car parking, Fully equipped on-site gym and complimentary WI-FI internet access. Ideally located, The Old Palace Lodge is in walking distance to Dunstable Town and situated only 10 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of the nearby Town of Luton and Luton Airport. The M1 junction 11 is located 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Palace Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Palace Hotel Dunstable
Old Palace Hotel
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel Dunstable, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing