We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best "port adventure" of the week”
Review of Hotel Maya Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maya Luna
Ranked #3 of 23 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Our best "port adventure" of the week”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We took a cruise last week (cruising not being our typical style of trip, but it was a bit of a work boondoggle) and our ship docked at Costa Maya. Another TripAdvisor reviewer's post inspired us to forgo the port adventures here, rent a golf cart with our boys and just head south. Best decision of the week. We ended up at Maya Luna, where the new manager and his young sons greeted our family warmly and provided us a relaxing afternoon of sun, sea, hammocks, drinks and good food -- perfect beach day. If we return by car to this neck of the woods, we will definitely stay in this little slice of paradise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PasadenaBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    67
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
82
187
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Spend the day here away from the cruise ship crowd. We had the beautiful beach to ourselves. Gorgeous amenities, great food, and properly made margaritas (fresh squeezed limes. You'd think that would be standard in Mexico. Good luck finding someone that makes it that way). We had a great time and will certainly return for an extended stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Had dinner last week with 20+ friends & family at the Maya Luna that the new owners from Oklahoma were more than happy to accommodate; turning the dinner into an veritable feast of a freshly-caught 16-pound red snapper and potatoes wrapped in banana leaves, grouper filets in roasted garlic aioli, shrimp curry to literally die for, salads, vegetables, rices and heady, steady delicious cocktails. Fantastic service, simple delicious recipes using nothing but the freshest local ingredients while the setting beach-side is something to be savored. Beyond that, the new owners were an absolute pleasure to meet and their attention to detail throughout the entire evening is something to be envied. Can't say enough about this gem in the middle of paradise and I can't wait to get back to the beach road sooner than later!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

this place is on a beautifull location,just step out of your cabin and you are straight on the beach!
nice reefs to snorkel,kayak(for rent) or just relax on your own private beach.
the owners are very helpfull and the restaurant serves great food!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crap_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My partner and I spent 4 nights at Maya Luna in Feb 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. After the hustle and bustle of visiting ruins with many people, navigating our rental car out of Merida and brushing off tourist vendors, it was so relaxing to arrive at Maya Luna.

With only 4 bungalows, there are not a ton of people that you have to share the space with, which means it is very peaceful. Our bungalow was clean and comfortable, with a covered verandah out front looking out on the beach and the ocean, plus a rooftop terrace.

We enjoyed the kayaks, going out to the reef a few hundred metres off shore with our snorkel gear one time, and just cruising along the shoreline another time observing the bird life .

It is nice to have the restaurant on site, although if you wanted a change of scene the village of Mahahual was only a 5 min drive away. The food was good at the restaurant, and the hosts Carolien and Jan were friendly and laidback. We would definitely recommend at least a few nights here if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownbear390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahahualmexio, Owner at Hotel Maya Luna, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed your company at Maya Luna. Thanks for the nice conversations and we hope to see you back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
3.0 km away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
159 reviews
4.6 km away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
3.8 km away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
201 reviews
5.0 km away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
29 reviews
8.1 km away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya Luna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Luna

Property: Hotel Maya Luna
Address: Carretera Majahual | Xcalak km 5.2, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,076 - ₹ 5,629
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maya Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maya Luna is the place to go when you want to be away from the madness of daily life. The beach front studios have private bathroom, fresh drinking water, king-size bed, ceiling fan and hammocks. Each studio has its own private roof terrace and a parking lot. The restaurant-bar offers a selection of European & Mexican dishes. For its water supply Maya Luna uses rain water. Electricity is generated via solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Maya Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maya Luna Mahahual, Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing