We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balamku is Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 23 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Balamku is Awesome!”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at Balamku for 4 nights in March 2012 and loved it. The rooms are very nice and so clean! The views from all the rooms are gorgeous and look right out to the ocean. We had an upstairs room that was so airy and roomy with the soaring palapa as your roof. The breakfasts were included in your room price. There was fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, and juice set out for you to help yourself and then you order your hot item off of the menu. We loved relaxing in the hammocks under the beach-front palapa. The resort was very quiet if you wanted to be alone to relax, or you could always find people to socialize with in the restaurant/bar/lobby area. Carol, the owner, makes you feel very welcome, knows alot about the area, and does everything she can to ensure that your vacation is everything you want it to be. We went tarpon fishing with Nick--he is a great guide and fly fishing teacher. We would definitely go back to Balamku.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view and right on the beach. Upper rooms have the beautiful, soaring palapa roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miniwheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Well our guests are awesome too! Thank you for the positive comments and including the fly fishing with Nick. Mahahual has a lot ot offer. Hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    36
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
61
172
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed here in November 2011 for eight wonderful days. It was absolutely perfect. My wife and I were looking for a place to kick back and relax for a few days and we found it. We like to travel with a loose itinerary and basically walked in the door. This type of traveling generally works quite well for us and we were glad Alan and Carol were as flexible as we were. We were planning on staying a couple of days tops and that turned into eight nights of peace and tranquility. If we had the time we would have stayed a month. Before I sign off I must comment on the amazing breakfast. Deeelicioso y muy sabroso! Gracious!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josegrandeole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ball Ground, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at Balamku for a week in May 2011. The stay was wonderful on all ways: Maya ruins near at hand; beautiful coral reef; great service; first-class food; and engaging, friendly owner. We had easy access to a huge variety of interesting activities and locations.

Room Tip: All are great. Do you want upstairs or downstairs? That is the only issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Balamku is a wonderful, family runned Hotel with beautiful and spacious rooms. Carol, the owner, is always around helping with everything and she always has time for a chat. She creates together with the other people working there a very warm and welcoming atmosphere.
The Cleaning is doing a great job, rooms are always very, very clean. The women cleaning the rooms are cooking a rich breakfast as well, there is a big choice of different dishes and they are all prepared with fresh products.
Thanks to the gardeners the beach gets well cleaned every day and when you look for some tranquility you can sit there and enjoy the stunning view.
In Mahahual this is for sure the best Hotel you can find, we enjoyed our stay a lot and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for your comments on balamku. we enjoyed your time with us and hope you will visit from Austria again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I am a busy body & usually make travel plans full of activities. We spent 4 night at Balamku Inn as I was getting my open water diver certification in Mahahual. I was actually heartbroken when we left, because I could have stayed another week: Balamku Inn is so beautiful & relaxing that I was starting to learn what lying in a hammock by the waves doing nothing means. The units are airy & well designed, the bathroom roomy & spotless, beds are comfortable. Safes are available in the rooms, great when you go to swim. Breakfast is delicious & plentiful. Carol is extremely pleasant to chat with. We are now in Tulum for our first time, & I am completely disappointed by the experience here after the calm & beauty of Balamku Inn. Carol, you can expect us back sooner than later!

Room Tip: From our 2nd floor room we saw the sun rise over the ocean every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quebec_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
What a delightful review. We are pleased you loved what we do here . Merci beaucoup . It was fun to be with you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
5.2 km away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
3.6 km away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
161 reviews
4.4 km away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
5.6 km away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
31 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Maya Luna
Hotel Maya Luna
#3 of 23 in Mahahual
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balamku Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balamku Inn on the Beach

Property: Balamku Inn on the Beach
Address: 5.7 kms. south of Majahual, Mahahual, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,349 - ₹ 8,700
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balamku is a small ecological hotel that offers beautiful rooms all facing the Sea and directly on the beach. We guarantee privacy, tranquility and excellent service. Since we are 6 kms south of Mahahual, our hotel is never noisy or crowded. We do not work with cruise ship folks so privacy is never compromised. The newly improved beach road makes access to town easy in less than 10 minutes. Kayaks are free to explore the reef just metres from our beach for great snorkeling. Large breakfasts are included as well as taxes.Enjoy the Caribbean Sea away from the crowds and relax in our natural environment.Please join us for private YOGA here or in town. Exceptional experience! Look for our YOGA retreats on FB ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Balamku Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balamku Inn On The Beach Hotel Mahahual
Balamku Inn On The Beach Mahahual, Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing