We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time at Tropicante!”

Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill
Ranked #1 of 75 Restaurants in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 10
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Mahahual’s premier ocean front dining experience. A unique cultural and culinary blend of the best of Mexico and the US. Our food, music and ambiance combine the tastes and flavors of both of these two wonderful countries. We are located on the Malecon right in the center of the downtown beachfront. We offer comfortable inside dining as well as tables in the sand, just a few steps from the beautiful clear Caribbean waters. Best food and conversation in town!
hauppauge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Time at Tropicante!”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had a great afternoon at Tropicante. Spent the morning viewing the Mayan Ruins, arriving at the restaurant at 1:00. Steve had our loungers in the shade for us. We had great drinks and food and a 1 hr. massage on the beach. What a great way to relax after the tour!
Will stop at Tropicante again on our next trip to Costa Maya.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linkeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    50
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing beach with clear water!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We visited this restaurant for a few hours while our cruise ship docked in Costa Maya. It was a great time, I wish we could have stayed longer. I had e-mailed the owner ahead of time to make reservations. He replied back right away with the instructions on how to get there. It was very simple and easy to get to. The taxi ride cost $2 per person. Once you arrived you felt like family. They were ready to serve you. The wait staff worked hard and were very friendly. The food was very good and portion sizes were big too. The price was also affordable. My hubby got a massage on the beach for $25 for 1 hour! The water was crystal clear and we saw fish swimming around us too! I would definately go back here again when visiting Costa Maya.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canadianmom1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL DAY!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We had a wonderful day at Tropicante. This was the highlight of our NCL Star cruise. When we arrived, we walked through the port area just as we were told to do and sure enough, one gal told us we were headed to a dead end and had to take their taxi! Well, we walked on and sure enough found the taxi stop by Hard Rock and made our way to town ($2 per person each way). We had 2 taxis full. We arrived and were greeted and taken to our chairs with a beautiful view of the water. We even had one extra guest and that was no problem, they brought us an extra chair. We had great food and great drinks. We couldn't believe how reasonable it was. We thought for sure they left something off our bill as it was so cheap. We will be sure to tell any one we know going to Costa Maya about Steve and the Tropicante. thanks for a wonderful day.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank debrajean222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youngstown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best day ever!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

When I think of Mexico, I will now think of Costa Maya and Tropicante! This day was one of the highlights of our cruise, best relaxing day of the week for sure. I contacted Steve ahead and reserved chairs for our party of eight. After following Steves instructions in his e-mail, we effortlessly arrived and were directed to the best seats in the house! Taxi's are cheap, drinks are cheap, and the food was delish! $25 massage on the beach, yes please! The kids brought snorkel gear and swam around in the warm water all day. There are little shops and restaurants along the beach, some vendors on the beach may ask you to purchase but they are not pushy. Great deals can be had. Steve makes a point to visit with everyone to make sure they are enjoying their day, nice touch. The servers were the best, we never wanted for a thing. Thanks Steve and the whole gang at Tropicante for making this a day we will remember forever and oh yes, we WILL be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jakenashleysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, vt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greatest place ever”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This ended up being our best excursion, so much better than anything hooked directly from NCL. After taking a $2 cab ride to Tropicante, we were promptly greeted and we had incredible seats on the most picturesque beach ever! We ordered a bucket of beer for about $10 (maybe $12) and they kept making sure the ice wasn't completely melted and taking away our empties. The jalapeño poppers were amazing as was the rest of the food! The is THE PERFECT beach restaurant / bar! I can't recommend this place enough!! Also, plenty of shopping along the boardwalk-like path, with better deals than right by the port! Keep up the good work!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReverendScoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing