We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, amazing time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Just came back from a week long trip. This resort is one of the best I have been to, it was our first time in Mexico and we really enjoyed this trip.
The resort is very clean and the staff are very friendly, helpful and pleasant.. Everything we asked for was taken care of. The rooms were good. The pools are great and extremely clean. There are a variety of restaurants which we enjoyed dinners at. The buffet is big and has a good selection of food. The beach is very clean with different kinds of entertainment available throughout the day. The shows at night were entertaining and fun with. The crowd was a mix of families, couples and young people. There is something to enjoy for everyone.
There is no reason why anyone should complain about this resort. Travelling into and out of the resort was easy with the help of the staff and we did an excursion to Coba which we enjoyed a lot. I can keep talking about how good everything about this resort is, don't hesitate to go here. Overall this was a great place to be at and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pinky1_2_312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (13,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,102 - 7,106 of 13,819 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

we just arrived home from the gran bahia principe coba last night. i would like to comment on a few things to help other travelers in their decision for considering this hotel.

when you book at the coba you are booking into one large resort that is 3 combined. the Gran bahia principe Riviera maya is 3 resorts; Akumal, Tulum & Coba. you can use all 3 facilities at any time no matter which resort you book with.

hotel is a 4 star
service is a 5 star
beach is a 2 star
pools are a 3.5 star

the hotel is lovely and clean. the rooms are spacious and have all the amenities. the food is very good, we've been to Cuba so food is important after that experience. staff is super helpful and the drinks flow freely.

the service was amazing. because there are 3 resorts combined, there is a lot of walking. the resort supplies trams to move you around with ease. these work great and we even had them drop us right at our villa on occasion. the key is to use the resort lobby's as the hubs to move through each resort. the restaurant staff are great, the bar staff as well. we had no issues with any staff member we encountered. everyone was happy, polite and friendly.

the beach....if you are going south for a beach holiday, pick a different resort. we have been to Veradero beach in Cuba and Bavaro beach in Punta cana. this resorts beach is not even close to those. little rocks, you need shoes. this beach is man made; there are man made barriers placed in the water to break the surf. this leaves small swimming areas that are shallow. the rest of the surf is big. i am a small guy and got knocked around. the beach seating is spread out and always full.

this is the biggest problem with this resort; there is not enough beach and pool seating!!! there are massive amounts of space, they could easily double their chair count. this would allow for a very less stressful beach and pool experience.

people get to the beach and pools very early(6 am) and place towels on chairs to claim them. if you do not have a towel on a pool lounger by 7 am you will not have a chair that day. chairs sit empty of bodies all day long, but there is a book and a towel on the empty chair so no one takes it. it is so frustrating and a holiday should not be that. we finally started getting up at 6 am placing our towels and going back to bed. who wants to be up at that time on holiday? we did not agree with this practice, but we had no choice if we wanted loungers. you will find loungers at the beach, but they are so far away from bathrooms, food and drinks that they are almost irrelevant.

the pools are beautiful and there are different types, quiet, activity, large and small. all were great and remember you can use all the pools at all the resorts.

all in all a nice holiday, met a lot of people, the staff is great, the grounds are beautiful, the food is good and the drinks flowed.

Room Tip: Tulum and Akumal are close to the beach. if you are staying at Coba, upgrade to Royal golden for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jesse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Going back to GBP Mexico in May, but, have stayed in Tulum both times, this year First Choice have allocated us to Akumal!! Want to know if anyone can advice us on location of rooms!!!!
We want to be fairly near restaurant for breakfast/ lunch, and fairly near pool, and if poss with a beach view!!! Lol, I know this is asking a lot, but if u dont ask u dont get!! Block 47 on the map looks good, please help??

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I travelled to this resort on Feb. 28/12 with my spouse, daughter and her boyfriend. This was our first time to this resort and our first time to the Mayan Riviera, we usually go to Cozumel. This resort is beautiful, if you just want to relax and enjoy the pool(s) there are several to chose from as you will have access to all resorts (tulum and akumel incl.) or if you prefer the beach, a short tram ride away you will find coba beach. The resort is very clean and very well maintained, the food is also very good and the buffet's are large so there is always lots to eat. If you enjoy a la carte's there are several to chose from although I would strongly advise to prebook your a la carte's before vacation as we found that they were booked solid up until 9:30 pm when we arrived, if you enjoy eating late this won't be a problem. Unfortunately the kids couldn't snorkel due to red flag so I was a little disappointed but in all fairness that's not the resort's fault. The pool bars are great and we spent quite a bit of time at the swim up bar, great bartenders and they are always willing to please with their own creations if you like to try different drinks...the mango tango is exceptionally good! The staff in general is very friendly and try to be accomodating, we did have an issue with the mini bar as it did not work and we requested four times to have it fixed and replenished, unfortunately is was not and that soured my husband. I should also forwarn that safe fees are not included in your package and I understand from other travellers that it was not included in the premium gold package either, so you will pay $5 per day but you will want one as people come and go from your room on a daily basis. The one irritating issue is the annoyance of the bahai staff of the "time shares", they constantly try to tell you that you have been given a free gift if you visit their new location, they also have access to your room and will leave little "presents" for you while your out. I found this to be bothersome and was not impressed that they had access to my room so I would advise after the maid has been in to put the do not disturb sign on your door unless of course this doesn't bother you. My other tip is to be at the pool(s) early to get loungers otherwise by 7 am they gone, this was also a bit annoying as there weren't enough loungers for the amount of people at the resort and several of us had issues with this, if you're a beach person this may not be an issue, we went down around 10:30 ish and were able to find some. Overall this is an amazing resort, lots of friendly people, both staff and other travellers, nightly entertainment at all resorts but the coba is the more happening place and the entertainment people are hilarious. I would definitely return again and would most definitely stay at the coba rather than tulum or akumel I just found it nicer but take into consideration there is no beach at coba and you must take the tram or a walk depending on your preference. Felt very safe here.

Room Tip: I requested adjoining rooms but did not receive them, we were next door to each other so not the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notahappycamper47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Wow, just Wow! And I am not referring to the beautiful Gran Bahia Principe Coba. Although I could use those words to describe this amazing resort. I am referring to a recent review dated March 2nd which I just read on this website. I don’t even know where to begin and perhaps this particular traveller does not deserve a retort, but anyone deliberating on whether to visit GBP Coba or not deserves the truth.

I travelled with 3 others to GBP Coba the 2nd week in February and all four of us are looking forward to our next trip there. This is not our 1st trip anywhere, my husband and I have travelled 15 times in the last 20 years to somewhere in the Caribbean and always stayed at a 4 or 5 star all inclusive resort. GBP Coba is right up at the top of our most loved list. And Yes, Yes, Yes, we also chose to travel with dark sunglasses and left our rosy ones at home.

I cannot comment on all the remarks made in the above mentioned March 2nd review; it would take me all day, but I can comment on a few important aspects. A few (very, very few) comments which were made might have had some small aspect of truth to them, but everyone should remember they are in Mexico, not Canada and they are on holidays, Relax.

First the service – we never had any trouble or complaints. They work hard and long hours and still manage to smile. We were friendly and respectful in return. We did witness some very ignorant guests who had no concept of manners or respect. And they wonder why the resort staff were not groveling at their feet and servicing their every need. There are thousands of employees at the 3 Gran Bahia Principe resorts and we never had a problem with any we encountered. Great Service.

Tipping – yes we did tip. Not all the time and not everywhere, but we did tip when service warranted it. Yes, we did tip a lot of the time, but it was out of gratitude for good service and nowhere near ‘40 to 50 usd’ a day.

Insects – we never encountered any cockroaches or any other insects in our rooms. We stayed on the 2nd floor of Bldg 19. We even made the comment that there were very few insects on the whole resort. One of the 4 of us did encounter bites on her legs upon returning to Canada and was told by her Dr. that they were sand flea bites which she could have gotten at Akumal Bay Beach or Playa del Carmen Beach as well. Some people do have an allergic reaction to such bites. For those who don’t like bugs or the effort put forward to eliminate bugs, should stay in Canada during the winter season.

Weather – although we had some beautiful weather, it did cloud over for a bit each day. February is not always the ideal time, weather-wise, to travel to Maya Riviera. But we cannot complain on a website dedicated to critiquing travel resorts as they were not at fault for any bad weather guests might have encountered.

Cleanliness – the grounds, including ALL OF THE POOLS, were always kept in immaculate shape. This probably was not always easy considering the habits of some of the guests.

Food – there was always something good to eat. If anything looked questionable, we did not dwell on the negative and make derogative comments, but chose one of the many, many other items. Our 3 A la Carte restaurants were the Mikado, the Dolce Vita and the Le Gourmet. Service was excellent at all three, but extremely slow at the Le Gourmet, even though it was almost empty. Our favorite was the Mikado. We did not partake in the Mexican night at the Hacienda Doña Isabel as it was our prerogative to pay and attend or decline to attend, so I can’t comment on it.

Size of Gran Bahia Principe – those writing reviews must have read previous reviews before booking the Coba. I was aware of the size and the access we would have to all 3 Gran Bahia Principe resorts. We took advantage of this access and enjoyed trying out a lot of the 18 or 19 restaurants or snack bars, 22 bars, 7 pools and every beach. The trolleys came by often and could get you to any destination quickly. We did carry the map we received at check-in with us most of the time and had no problem getting around. We never found the resort too large.

Children – unlike another traveller who stayed at the Coba approximately the same time as us, we never had any complaints regarding children. We saw very few. Perhaps it was because we stayed at the beach (usually Tulum Beach) more than at the pools. I don’t even recall many children at the buffet or the A la Carte restaurants or walking around the grounds.

Excursions – we chose to take the Colectivo (van style mini bus used by Mexicans and tourists) to the Tulum Ruins, Akumal Bay Beach and Playa Del Carmen. Never had a problem. The walk in from the Highway to the Ruins and Beach were short, approximately 5 minutes. The Akumal Beach was a hidden gem behind the Dive Shop which we walked by the 1st time. When leaving Akumal Beach the four of us opted to take a taxi as he was charging $9 to return to the Gran Bahia Principe, which is less than the $12 the Colectivo would have cost us ($3 each per person). He was also close to the Dive Shop and we did not have to walk back to the highway.

The only problem we witnessed during our week stay at the Coba was initiated by an inebriated hotel guest at the 24hr snack bar late one evening. We were amazed and relieved when hotel security, which you would never usually see, were there immediately and very professionally resolved the situation within minutes. Good job! And remember, that incident did not occur because we were in Mexico, but rather from a drunk tourist who could have been anywhere.

As I said, I cannot comment on everything mentioned by the unhappy traveller, that would take forever. A lot of his complaints seemed to be generated by other guests and therefore cannot be blamed on the resort or the staff. Also as I said, we had a wonderful and memorable vacation which we cannot wait to repeat. Thank you to everyone at the Coba for making our vacation so enjoyable. For those individuals who did not have even one nice thing to say... Yes, Yes, Yes, we are only happy that they will not be present at the GBP Coba on our next highly anticipated visit. Hooray!

Tips: Best beach is at the very far, far end of the Tulum Resort for sand and waves. Best beach for children is the Coba Beach. Best snorkeling is at the middle Tulum Beach near the sandbags, but bring water shoes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Sherry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
1.2 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
1 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
8.6 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
1.9 km away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 22 in Akumal
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: ₹ 10,244 - ₹ 23,968 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Prestigia so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Akumal, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing