We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Overall very good. If only they could sort the entertainment !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
durham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Overall very good. If only they could sort the entertainment !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is brief and to the point. The hotel is a good 4 star all inclusive in Mexico. You will get some very good meals and some which are ok but always plenty of choice. Coba has the best buffet but try them all. Try and upgrade to hacienda area of tulum if you can. The exclusive pool is just quieter and less crowded.

The golf course is very very good. If your a golfer you must play.

Visit tulum ruins and go by the cheap mini buses on the main road. Go to coco bongo club and generally out for a good night up at playa del Carmen.

The entertainment on an evening at the resort just needs more. And better quality. The nightclub on site is ok to a point but music is same most nights.

I would go again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank toptoonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickivanden, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member:

On behalf the Management and all the staff of the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum resort, we would like to send you our warmest appreciation for choosing to be guests in our resort. We realize that there is a myriad of other resorts for you to choose from and we are grateful because your choice was to spend your special vacation at our resort.

Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with the rest of the team, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services and make sure all our guest feel welcomed.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to our resort sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

11,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,610
    3,169
    1,206
    445
    258
See reviews for
3,482
5,146
125
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,172)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed at the Hacienda Tulum from 14 -28 May and were very impressed with the hotel in general. Room was spacious and comfortable and kept immaculately clean by our room boy Carlos who is truly talented when it comes to towel sculpture. We had a couple of minor issues with the air conditioning leaking onto the floor but this was tended to within 10 minutes of our reporting the issue.
We found the food in all three buffets to be OK, could have been a bit hotter and we found the buffet restaurants a bit too big for our liking. Staying in Hacienda we were able to use Tequila for breakfast and lunch which we much preferred, it may not have as large a selection but we found it to be much more homely. The A La Carte restarants were all of a very good standard, our favourites being Mikado, Arlequin, Le Gourmet and Pescador. Long trousers are not required for all of the A La Carte restaurants only for Arlequin, Le Gourmet and Pescador.
We had great fun trying out the bars in all three resorts, very easy to do by taking the train between lobbies. Premium brands are avaialble in most of the indoor bars on request. Entertaiment in the lounges is provided usually by a duo all of who performed to a relatively high standard. Bars close at 11 but the fun starts at The Hacienda Dona Isabel when the bars close. The band there was amazing, very like Gloria Estefan with lots of Latin and Salsa. They finish at 12 and the real party animals can then go to the Disco until very late.
The grounds are kept immaculate by the very hard working and courteous gardners and are enhanced by the many iguanas who wander freely. Sun beds at the pools are taken up very early by the towel layers. Sure the management could put out more beds but this would then make the pool areas seem congested. Plenty of beds on the beach.
We ventured out a few times and found that the colectivos (mini buses) were easy and very cheap to use - 130 pesos to both Playa del Carmen and to Tulum Ruins.
If you only leave the hotel once take a trip on the Fat Cat. Best boat trip we have been on. The crews hospitality is second to none and we even got within touching distance of a huge sea turtle.
Weather while we were there was a bit mixed with quite a few heavy downpours. The heavy rain had an impact on the the indoor areas - lobby and buffet - making the floors very slippy and quite dangerous.
Overall a great place to take a holiday, maybe not 5 star but definitly 4 and great value for money

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank prinnyinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickivanden, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about Gran Bahía Principe Tulum.

The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service in the Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort

We want to invite you to visit us again soon, please write us a little message before your next visit and we will do all our best to accommodate your wishes.

Kindest Regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

What can u say, it was a amazing holiday the hotel or should I say hotels where just stunning. We was in tulum which was fine are room was stocked up and cleaned everyday. Our maid Daniel was lovely some mornings he would knock after a rouch night at the nightclub and come back later on. Every day he gave us a new towel arrangement, the room was always spotless, clean towels and linin everyday.
Great choice of things to do day and night, of a day, You could swim with the dolphins, for a price. I am not sure I agreed with the dolphins. There is five male dolphins in a small pool, when I say small to them maybe not us. But it looks a bit cruel to me but apparently it can hold 12, maybe just our thoughts be the judge for yourself. around one pool in each hotel there was a dj doing activities and games. Beware of the pool bars u will notice people never seem to leave the bar to go to the toilet.... Just a personal observation. The pool and beach were both better at akumal be sure to get your sun lounger by the pool early.

The buffet in akumal and cobo did seem to be better then tulum. As for the restaurants we only got to pick 3 a week some get 4 if your in the hacienda rooms. Word of warning book as soon as you can. The best had to be don Pablo and the japanese if u book Japanese book with the show, it is a little hot in there. You gents also don't have to wear trousers in all restaurants just 2 out of 12. The only downside about the food was in tulum if u went to late there would be a few empty trays. Also in our second week the snack bar was closed for a refit which looking at it, it needed compared to the other two. However they opened one of the nearby restaurants till 5pm, and then this reopened at 11pm all night so we was given a alternative.

There evenings they were ok there was a show every night in each hotel, although some are poor it passes the time by. The only downside of the evening is that the bar would should at 11pm then the only option was to go to the nightclub which was ok but they say it's just for the people staying at the hotel. It wasn't it would be busy with locals which is fine, but we found getting a drink hard if you wasn't A local be prepared to wait at the bar for a drink. We went down about 4 times and noticed this each time which was disappointing.
We done some great trips while we was there, we booked all ours with the Thomas cook rep I think u can get these a little cheaper if u was in playa Carmen, it's just trusting them. If ur young and lively the TC project is great and a great way to meet people. Coco bongos must see for all ages, it's a late one. We done fat cat boat trip which was brill as much to drink after 45 mins swim in the reef with a guide who is a bit crazy in a good way, he is like the fish whisperer. We swam with the turtles we done that with the hotel it cost $100 for 2 of us really good morning. Also done a trip called explor, I was recommend it from someone at home, if u like a bit of adventure it's well worth it zip wires rafting caves and karting. Fantastic day.

Overall a fantastic hoilday, fantastic hotel and fantastic place. Can't wait to return.
Hopefully this helps, and those who have put bad terrible comments must be hard to please, or just people who like to find things to complain about.

Xxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Milo_missy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickivanden, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member:

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with the rest of the team, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services and make sure all our guest feel welcomed.

We want to invite you to visit us again soon, please write us a little message before your next visit and we will do all our best to accommodate your wishes.

Kind regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon Hill, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My wife and I are health care professionals living in the USA. We went to the Bahia Principe Tulum resort last august (2011) with our 3 kids. We have traveled much of the Caribbean but never thought a vacation could be so much fun. This vacation spot topped the beaches hotel in the Turks and Caicos islands! Some person on these reviews (marilyn c?) gave the resort a one star and said to 'stay away'. I would say please never take her review into consideration. So what if you see a few bugs? Hello? that entire area seems to be a nature preserve.
The food was awesome. The service was awesome. The grounds were awesome. The snack bar was a big hit. The staff are awesome...all of these categories gets 5 stars all the way!
There is a problem at the beach. The first 10-15 feet of water has a lot of rocks (looks like dead corals) so you have to maneuver your way past them to get to the sandy area...so beach shoes are necessary. There are quite a few spots, however, where there are only a few rocks to get by. But after you pass the rocks there is about 100 feet to the man made sandbags (they break the waves). The water is totally clean. everyone loves hanging out on top of the sandbags.It's so much fun when waves come in and gently knock the kids off the bags..these are real life cool slides for kids and adults too!
We went on a snorkeling trip (xel-ha) which is located next to some mayan ruins. It was the most incredible snorkeling trip of a lifetime!!!!! Kids can zip line and jump off small cliffs. They have an endless supply of food and drinks. The water is incredibly clean and there are literally millions of fish. I suggest spending an entire day there. If there is anything you do before you die then visit xel-ha!! Mexico is off the chart awesome!!!!!!
We only had one major problem with the hotel. Smoking!!
The tourists smoke like crazy..everywhere. It seems like foreign people smoke a lot more that americans. Sometimes you have to walk through a gauntlet of smoke to make it to the main dining restuarant. The are people sitting around everywhere on the couches smoking away.
The lobby is absolutely awesome but you can't hang out there and enjoy it without someone lighting up at any moment. The main bar is so incredible in size and design with really cool nightly live entertainment but you cannot have a good time in there without choking on cigarette smoke. There are no designated areas for smokers. If you find an area in the bar or lobby where there are no smokers, at any moment, someone can come and sit right next to you and light up. One of my children is asthmatic and she had to walk around with a wet tissue over her nose everyday. The issue with smoking is the only reason this hotel does not get a 5 star!
Otherwise it's an awesome spot. in fact we are going back this July and I am bringing 14 family members from Canada as well !!
Dr. Peter Merai

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickivanden, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Peter

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions and your suggestions, to improve the service we are offering.

The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service in the Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort

We thank you for the good publicity to family, friends and other future travelers. Please inform us prior to arrival on July , to accommodate your requests.

Kind regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 weeks in April 2012 and had a fantastic time. We were slightly wary of being all inclusive but can honestly say the food was fantastic, varied and we never got bored of it. There was always something new to try, the a la carte restaurants were superb and the buffet was so much better than we expected with freshly cooked meat, fish, salad, pasta, Chinese, Mexican, etc.

I had my birthday whilst we were out there and the hotel arranged for balloons to be delivered to my room and then gave us champagne and gave me a birthday cake and sang happy birthday in the restaurant in the evening. Such a lovely touch.

Yeah the sea isn't great for swimming in but it really didn't bother us. We enjoyed the waves and when we fancied something calmer we either used one of the pools or got a collectivo to akumal.

Our room was large and clean. Obviously not brand new but in good condition and perfectly adequate for us.

Overall a fantastic hotel that I will be recommending to anyone travelling to Mexico.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank donnalovescheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickivanden, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Donna

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions and suggestions.

At Gran Bahia principe Tulum, we are 100% orientated to customer satisfaction, reason why it makes us very proud of our staff and the management to the comments like the one you kindly posted.

We thank you for the good publicity to family, friends and other future travelers and hope to see you back in the GBP México to celebrate your birthday!

Kindest Regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
1.0 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
1.0 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.8 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
14.9 km away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
32.8 km away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#71 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Address: Crta Chetumal - Cancun km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,664 - ₹ 28,221
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 960
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (1 h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing