We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, food, & place to vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Oasis Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Oasis Tulum
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great staff, food, & place to vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Beautiful beach, great resort. Attentive staff. Happy feeling. Excellent Buffet. We preferred to the specialty restaurants, We made friends forever. Many pools to enjoy and the best chocolate Mayan massage in their spa. Unlimited drinks & food made well to order. Big property but not "too big" where you are always losing your friends or family. We especially enjoyed the Mayan fire show or dance. Very entertaining and authentic. Lots of fresh fruit and healthy choices for meals. Special girls and guys on the staff, very sincere and kind and helpful, Roberto at the front desk, Rai, Leisy, Liberto, Orlando, Simona, the photographer girl, and Antonio the overnight man who called and confirmed my transportation reservation at 6 am in the morning at the end of his shift so I did not have to! and many more whose names have temporarily slipped my mind, Thank you for making our trip special and feel like a real vacation! We had a blast & We will be back! Keep up the good work! Angelique & Suzanne

Room Tip: There are ground floor rooms located 30 ft. from the buffet and are right on the beach. They have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelakaCoralSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Guest:

We are pleased to greet you at the same time thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Cancun. Likewise express our appreciation for the flattering words we received from your stay with us.
We are delighted to have met your expectations and that you had a great holiday.
It is a pleasure to serve you and make your stay with us an unforgettable experience.
Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    569
    228
    134
    138
See reviews for
640
787
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Grand Oasis Tulum has a beautiful beach. Nice rooms with rain shower. Pools are very scenic and pool bars. Roof top dining and entertainment. Nightly theater. Twice a day snorkeling tours on site. Daily movies at 6p. Kids club. Romatic veranda. Service is good. You feel very secure and safe. Several dining options. WiFi in lobby and costs extra. Signal at pool side but not in room. It was nice to stay pool side with WIFI and exotic beds and canopys, also pool fountains and jacuzzis. Infinity pool. Tours on site with Olympus. Coffee shop every morning. Beautiful sunrise and sunset. Staff is very attentive and eager to make your vacation memorible..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ultimate240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

From the moment we were welcomed by Jorge the Bellman, who greeted us by name, took our luggage, gave us a cool towel and asked what we would like to drink, the staff at the Grand Oasis Tulum treated us like royalty and family, all at the same time. Cesar at the front desk quickly checked us in, and was able to fulfill our request for a free upgrade to an oceanfront room. (The resort was not fully booked.) Our 3rd floor ocean view room was so clean and tastefully decorated. The wall-to-wall, floor-to-ceiling picture window offered a stunning, close up view of the gorgeous turquoise ocean. We have travelled extensively in Mexico and the Caribbean, and this was without a doubt the most beautiful vista we have ever seen from our room. The bathroom offered double sinks and lovely rainshower shower head, not to mention the ocean view from each! (Not to worry – there was frosted glass in the shower!) The modern décor was both pleasing to the eye and comfortable. What a treat to be lulled to sleep each night by the sound of the waves, and to awake each morning able to see that beautiful ocean from our bed!
The beach, as mentioned in other reviews, is gorgeous, (we walked down the beach to the Grand Bahia Principe, the only other resort on this cove, and their beach was much rockier than ours) and our favorite pastime was sitting under a palapa directly below our room, relaxing and watching the sea. Beach servers Leisy and Guadalupe made this an even more lovely pastime by quickly learning our names and favorite drinks, and bringing us snacks such as delicious guacamole and chips. Kudos also to Liberato, at the Beach Bar, who also knew us by name. The pool areas were very pretty as well, and had canopy bed- type loungers. The Grand Beach Club (2 pools and palapas on the beach) is accessible only to those on the Grand side, who are wearing gold (Sian Ka’an rooms) or black wristbands, therefore was quiet and not at all crowded. The Grand is called “The Calm Resort”, and it is! This is not the place for those who have come to Mexico to party wildly! Those staying on the Grand side may eat at any restaurant on the resort, whereas those not on the Grand may only eat at certain restaurants, or pay an upcharge. When we chose to eat at the specialty restaurants, each morning we made our reservations with the concierges, (Jorge and Ingrid – fabulous!) who informed the chefs of my husband’s gluten-free and my vegetarian diet. Head Chef Juaquin (sp?) and Jorge came out and talked to us most nights at dinner, and prepared our own delicious meals especially for us! It was like having our own private chefs! Even at the buffet, my husband had dishes made especially for him! All restaurant personnel worked very hard and were extremely friendly. We especially enjoyed Diana and Gaspar at the Arrecifes buffet and terraza!
The Grand Oasis Tulum is a resort in transition; the Grand side having only recently reopened after renovations. Yes, they are still making improvements in order to create a smaller, peaceful, boutique-type option for their guests. This is a lovely place where all of the staff works very hard to ensure that their guests have the best stay possible. If things aren’t perfect, please give them a break! Relax – you’re on vacation in paradise, and I, for one, cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Sian Ka'an rooms on first floor allow walkout directly on to the beach. However, if you close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaintCharlesLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

What can I say, this resort really blew my mind. It is officially my new favourite hotel.

Rooms: Beautiful brand new rooms, with flatscreen tv, ipod docking station, and rain showers . The most impressive rooms are the Sian Kaan rooms. They are oceanfront (not even partial), with a huge bay window and in room Jaccuzi. Just be careful as the windows have "0" tint so whatever you are doing in the room the person on the beach can totally see.

Restaurants: all of the a la carte restaurants are quite good. The great thing is they are exclusive to Grand guests. My favourite was the Careyes Terrece day lunch menu. The coconut shrimp was to die for. Another treat is the tasting menu restaurant at the Cafe del Mar. The website says it is open for breakfast and lunch but we had dinner there. It's a rooftop restaurant and although it's nice on a good day...I'm sure...it seems they don't have a rain plan Our meal was cut short when the rain came down. There are plenty of snack areas found on the Oasis Tulum side (Asian, Fastfood, Chicken joint) and of course you have access to the Oasis restaurants and buffets.

Pools: If you stay on the Grand side, you have access to the main pool that has a bar and wait service near by. They also serve natural juices at that bar. There are plenty beds and lounge chairs and the pool is rather big with a cold water Jacuzzi tub in the middle. There is also a lap/wading pool on the lobby level, with a swim up bar.

Beach Plenty of private beach space with lots of loungers. The sand is white and the ocean is magnificent. It can be a little choppy however.

Pièce de résistance: Cafe del Mar in the day time is a swanky roof top lounge area with plunge pools. It looks like something straight from South Beach Miami. In addition to amazing ocean views and a large stocked bar, it's a really chilled out area that I could spend hours at. It would be great for a private function (wedding reception, birthday party, etc.). I loved it, already started to plan a big event there...just don't know what yet :)

I totally recommend this resort! Urbantravelite approved.

Room Tip: Sian Kaan room all the way. It's worth the money and YOLO
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank urbantravelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is one of the best family vacations that we have taken in a long time. My brother and I decided to give my mother a special birthday present that included a trip with his wife and kids and my wife and kids with our mother to celebrate her 70th birthday. From the moment we arrived we were aw struck by the beauty of the lush grounds and vast entrance. The property has its own private entrance that is very exclusive and elegant. Once we arrived we were welcomed by very friendly staff and were given a personalized VIP check in with their Oasis Plus staff (Belen) that is very professional and warm. We were then offers an upgrade option to an Ocean front suite which had an incredible view of the beaches right in front of the hotel. The hotel itself is situated on a very private white sand beach and has many interesting rock formations were you can walk out to with it's own private Palapas. The kids really enjoyed this because the water is teaming with fish. This is an All inclusive resort and the food is amazing. We have traveled all over the world and to many all inclusive hotels in Mexico and this is definitely the best we have ever seen. The seafood specialty restaurant is amazing as well as the gourmet Mexican restaurant Careyes. The breakfast buffet has so many options you don't want to stop eating. All of the staff at this hotel is extremely friendly and the Kids club they have was a real bonus because the little ones played there for hours with all kinds of activities the entertainment staff set up for them. They also have a beautiful spa with all the amenities you can imagine and a Fresh Juice bar that we really enjoyed. They make you any kind of fruit and vegetable juice you can conjure up and they have delicious snacks. They also have an area called Cafe del mar where by day is a lounge with many Private Jacuzzi areas that you can use. By night this area is used for a very nice gourmet dinner and a spectacular show. If you are looking for the perfect Mexican experience in a first class all inclusive resort this is definitely a perfect choice.

Room Tip: Definitely take a look at the upgrade options that the staff offers when you arrive. I
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fernando F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.9 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
15.8 km away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
1.9 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.1 km away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#73 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,556 reviews
6.7 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
17.8 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Tulum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Tulum

Property: Grand Oasis Tulum
Address: Km 251 Carret. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez, Akumal 77776, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#14 Family Hotel in Akumal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,058 - ₹ 20,420
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious vacation that is delightfully down to earth: Grand Oasis Tulum is the place to go for a unique experience. This is "The Calm Resort," a haven of tranquility far away from the hustle and bustle of the city where our guests can discover the wonders that nature has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Grand Oasis Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oasis Tulum Akumal, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing