We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,500)
Filter reviews
6,500 results
Traveller rating
3,808
1,752
581
220
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,808
1,752
581
220
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ribs mayan suite beach bar el dorado a la carte restaurants fish the salt water pool main pool the white sands colonial lobby outdoor shower punta emilia adult pool junior suite tikal buffet white party hemingway bar
Filter
Updating list...
2,829 - 2,834 of 6,500 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2007

Wow, what a wonderful place to have our honeymoon! We stayed in the Kantenah side of the resort, and were really close to the beach, although we couldn´t see the ocean from our 1st floor room. The service was really good, and the staff very friendly. The food was average, and the buffet seems to be the same everyday, with very little variation. We tried the Japanese and "Ribs-and-more" a la carte, but were very disappointed. If you´re a sushi lover, dont try this sushi! The spa was amazing, very relaxing, and of course only adults are allowed, so it´s nice if you´re looking for peace and quiet. The excursions were also very good, Xel-ha, Tulum, Chichen Itza are all must-see. We would definitely recommend this place for honeymooners.

Stayed: April 2007
15  Thank RelaxMayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

Thank you for taking the time to letting us know about your stay. 

We appreciate your kind words on our beautiful grounds and resort amenities. Our staff is always there to assist and make your experience even greater. We are very happy that we were able to resolve any problems you may have encountered. It’s our hope to be able to exceed your expectations once more.

Regards,
Santiago Escañuela
Asistente Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2007

Hello,

Family of 4 from New York City(including 6y old and 12y old). We traveled to Rivera Maya before including the Iberostar Tucan, Iberostar Paraiso, Bahia Principe and the service in those resorts is MUCH MUCH BETTER. Please go to the Iberostars or Bahia instead.
We paid for the Jr. Suite room and only got 2 beds for the 4 of us???
I called the front desk asking for an additional bed for my 6y old son, the answer - the hotel does not provide extra bed. 3 of us slept in one bed all 7 days. You go on vacation to relax but we spent days asking the front desk to give us the extra bed or to change our room, they wanted us to pay additional $700 to change to a suite. The staff and the management are very unfriendly. You ask for towels, they ask why you need towels, you ask a lazy bellboy to take you to another lobby in his cart, he will scratch his head, will talk to his friend in spanish and will say 'NO' most of the time, food in all buffets are BAAAD!!! The front desk people are terrible. Most of the staff do not speak english, the front desk people do but they are not trying to help and very unfriendly. The beach is very rocky and the seagrass is allover, there is only one spot near kantenah side without rocks. There breakfast is served only in the buffet and we had to go to the
lobby every morning to eat, they do not bring the drinks to the beach
like other resorts and you have to go to the bars by the pool to get
your drinks. I would not come back to this place for FREE!!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank ygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

Thank you for sharing your standpoint. We are aware that our huge, beautiful resort can not please everyone.
Although we weren't able to meet your expectations on this visit we would love to have a second chance to prove that we are more than capable to do it.

Regards,
Santiago Escañuela
Asistente dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2007

>we were here for 6 days and had a blast. paid for a mayan suite with outdoor shower which as it turns out is right on the beach.
>end of the beach was deserted, but had a nice beach bar for drinks. we could walk out for 500 m with no rocks and feed the fish.
>restaurants were perfectly fine. buy a bottle of wine at the buffet, and get some nice glasses to change you mood. Jorge at the el dorado was a great waiter, and the steaks were very good. Meditteranean restaurant was almost empty, but same steak can be ordered there.
>pleas tip your servers at the buffet and bars, they'll remember you for remembering them
>xehla just a few minutes away, and a perfect day. get a massage there at 4pm after ssnrkling through the carved wooded door, a perfect end of the day for $25
>and speaking of the spa, the Kanetenah spa wa sterrific. we each had one tretment each day. deep tissues ran $95-$125 but the co ed saunas, steam rooms, and spa pools reallly make this resort feel special.
>sportsm facilities are very active with soccer fields, volleyball, mini putt, etc plus watersports.
>you are trying hard to be miserable if you cant find fun and relaxation here. we'll be back

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank diamondseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

Thank you for your nice feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, We are beyond thrilled when our guests have a fantastic experience with us.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again very soon. 

Kind regards,
Santiago Escañuela
Asistente Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2007

We vacationed in January for 10-daysi at the Grand Palladium Kantenah, Riviera Maya. This was our 5th Riviera Maya vacation and the 2nd to Grand Palladium.

We have a major complaint regarding swimming in the ocean:.


The beach is beautiful, however, the entry to the water across from the Colonial side – the best area to swim – is strewn with rocks to the extent that it was very painful and almost impossible to enter the water. The hotel could easily clear a path into the water at a very low cost. When we walked north along the beach toward the El Dorado Sea Suites hotel, workers were cleaning the rocks from the shoreline. In November 2005, during our previous visit to the same hotel, there was a path to enter the water across from the Colonial. This was one of the main reasons we decided to come back to the Palladium.
There is a clear entry into the sea across from the Kantenah; however, swimming was bad in this area. We attempted to call the attention of management to this problem, but, nobody cared.

A lesser problem:

We realize that January was the peak season and the hotel was full, however, this should be planned for and it does not justify the slow service in the dining rooms. In particular it was difficult to get a cup of coffee in the morning and once we got the coffee, it was almost always lukewarm.

The Palladium hotels are beautiful, especially the landscaping and the spa.

13  Thank Road809183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review on the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa.

We regret to hear we weren’t able to meet your expectations. Of course this was not our intention. We always try to provide our guests with the best possible service and for this reason we find it unfortunate you did not experience the service we like to provide.
Therefore, we have taken note of each matter you have had and will pass them on to the appropriate members of our staff. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and we regret that we fell short during your stay. The issues you experienced are very rare and we do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. 

 thank you for your visit; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to provide you with another enjoyable experience. 

Regards
Santiago Escañuela
Asistente Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2007

Me and my girlfriend (26-29y) stayed at the G.P Kan. from Feb28 to Mar7. Of course when you get perfect weather for 7 days, it's hard find things wrong with a resort. Loved the selection of food at buffets, not as bad as some people make it out to be. A la carte's are very good and great selection. Beach is very nice, big, has quiet spots. Pool is huge and a little deep, 5'3". The only reason why I couldn't give this place an excellent rating is that their was not alot of nightlife at this resort, or we could not find where people were hiding. The spa is nice and quiet to get away from kids. Hotel has many european guests, not a bad thing, european women are much nicer to look at on the beach than North American whales. Bonjour to our French friends. Good resort for families, good for a group of friends, not far from Playa del Carmen (20min/$20). Piece of advice for a first timer, don't book tours through your travel rep, too $$$$. We went Air Transat, our rep Jean Pierre was an ---, useless french tit! Take taxi's and collectivo to get around it's cheaper and safe. Huge resort and not a pain to get around, I would go again and stay at the Kan. or the Colonial and get a Mayan Suite!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank rmazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

In short... thank you. For your words, for your trust, and for your time. It was lovely having you here and we are looking forward to see you back again anytime near soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews