We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,398)
Filter reviews
6,398 results
Traveller rating
3,752
1,721
573
215
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,752
1,721
573
215
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsribsmayan suitebeach barel doradoa la carte restaurantsfishthe salt water poolmain poolthe white sandscolonial lobbyoutdoor showerpunta emiliaadult pooljunior suitetikal buffetwhite partymake reservations
Filter
Updating list...
2,866 - 2,871 of 6,398 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2006

my wife and I stayed at the palladium kantenah side from july 17 thru july 24. this was our 25 wedding anniversery. We had this booked in march, while waiting for our trip, I continued to read reveiws and pictures of this resort. I must say I was a little nervious after reading some of the reveiws. After a long bus ride to get to the resort, we got out of the bus, and it took our breath away, pictures does not do this resort justice, it was so much more beutiful, than the pictures. I can not think of one bad thing to say about this trip. I would recomment it to anyone. The people were polite, service was very good . The rooms were great, food was great, was concerned here because of all inclusive, but plenty to eat, and was good, the ala-cartes were fantastic. My suggestion is not to read to many reviews before you go. For anyone wanting to book a side trip, you should try the snorkling adventure, we took 3 trips and this was the most injoyable. WE plan on returning next year with our sons and there girlfriends. Thanks palladium for a great 25th for my wife and I.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
33  Thank Jessejg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that everything was perfect during your stay.
We so much appreciate your kind tone; and feel happy that we were able to live up your expectations

We feel honored that you would return and can’t wait to see you on your next vacation! 

Best wishes
Santiago Escañuela
Asistente Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2006

This is a truly awesome resort. It has been a while since we have gone there, but the memories of this wonderful hotel never fade. We are a group of 6, ages 13, 15, 30, 41, 43, and 49.

Flight: Edmonton to Cancun on Air Transat (economy). Nothing Special, but the food was pretty good for airplane stuff, but make sure to bring your own snacks, such as Stix and Bits, and stuff. Drinks plentiful.

Check-In: It was fast and the front desk were helpful. We went straight to our rooms and checked them out. We got the exact villa that we wanted. Perfect. Check out was the same, except we were disappointed to leave.

Rooms: They were awesome, although we don't really care what they looked like. There was a coffee maker and a mini fridge with beer, water, and pop. The bathroom was total marble and was filled with amneties. The beds were large (we had 2 double beds) and the TV was at the right spot for watching at night. The terrace (we were on the ground floor) was medium sized, but comfortable. If you have others going with you, bring all of your chairs to one balcony.

Staff: The staff were totally down to earth and nice people. Rolo, Carlos (all 2), Claudia, and all the others were awesome!The bartenders were a bit mad all of the time, but the waiters and waitresses were always smiling and we couldnt help but smile back :D

Beach: The beach was AWESOME! There was lots and lots of sun chairs and papalas. You dont have to get up at 6 to reserve chairs, either. The sand was extremely white and the water was turquoise blue. The coral in the water was plentiful, and you could always see many different types of fish and sea urchins.

Pool: The pool was HUGE! There was so much room to roam around although shorter kids may have a problem with the depth, but there was a childrens pool for them. The swim up bar was cool, but it was too out of the way for us (we like to stay by the beach more, but we visited there twice. The in water chairs were extremely comfortable and unique.It was one of our favourite places.

Watersports/Activites: Many activites were provided throughout the day, and there were many signs saying the time and place of all of them. They also included them in your information package. We especially enjoyed the rifle shooting, archery, mini golf, tennis, and all of the other games they did throughout the day. Kayaking was quite relaxing, but do not go out on a yellow flag! Stick to the green flags. Snorkelling was to die for and apparently windsurfing was great.

Entertainment: The nightly entertainment was great. The dancers all seemed professional. They all looked happy, and the Mayan Theme was aweome. If you're staying for 2 weeks, some of the shows are repeated. Didn't try the disco.

Dining: The buffet was monstrous, and good food was plentiful. Some things tasted funny (enchiladas BLECH) but some things were awesome. Breakfasts had many different kinds of fruit and veggie smoothies, and there was lots of cereals for the kids (mmmm...Trix) The a la cartes were great, the food was well prepared and decorated. We would put our favourites in this order (from best to worst) Japanese, Steakhouse, Italian, Mexican. They were all good however, and make sure you reserve for a show table at the Japanese (the chef cooks right in front of you!). Also, make reservations for the beach barbeque. It tastes great, and there is lots of meat and veggies there.

Drinks: Many of the drinks there are awesome. We can still see the bahama mamas and the crazy canucks with all their goodness. They will NOT serve alcoholic drinks to minors, which made a downfall seeing as the teens couldn't get the drinks for the older folk. The drinks were tasty, and some of the people were a bit rude in butting and pushing, but that is at no fault to the resort. The beach bar also had a grill for hamburgers, fries, tacos, and other things. The fries tasted a bit 'fishy.' Oh, and make sure you try the Pepsi there. It tastes SO much better than the stuff we have here.

Grounds: The grounds were lush and full of foliage. A scenic walk of pure tranquility will have you immersed in the fountains, tropical flowers, and the light chirping of birds. Also, sitting on our terrace, we peered into the jungle and we saw, delightfully, a large rodent-like creature. It was by no means a mouse, but we fondly nicknamed it a "Chinchilla."

Shopping: There was on-site shopping here, but it is better to go to Playa Del Carmen to do it. You can get things WAY cheaper in PDC.

Excursions: We went to Xcaret, which was and awesome, yet pricey excursion. We also went on the Coba/Mayan Village tour. Coba is the tallest mayan ruin in the Yucatan Peninsula. It is a definite site to see. On the way to the Mayan Village, we stopped at a Cenote to cool down. Very cool. The Mayan Village was a downfall, as the place we went to there was no Mayan feel to it and they use solar power and things. The tour guide said that they used the same ways they had for many generations. This would include not feeding dogs and leaving them in the hot sun to die. It was the saddest part of our trip. I would recommend going on the Coba/Zipline tour instead.

Lastly, the MAJOR downfall of our vacation was a contractor who was painting at our villa. One of our members went back to the room and sat out on the balcony and was reading. One of the contractors walked around to her terrace and started talking to her. He proceeded to climb over the terrace and try to kiss her. It was terrible, she had to run inside and lock the doors. The man continued to follow her around for a few hours after. It was scary. This is, however, not the resorts fault as he is a contractor.

Anyway, this is a FIRST CLASS resort in the Mayan Riviera for a modest price. Sorry for the long windedness. The only reason we would not stay here again is because there are many other places and resorts to see!

42  Thank Yoshi1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

We so much appreciate you taking the time to share such a wonderful review about your recent stay at the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa. It’s always a pleasure when our guests have a wonderful time with us.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back very soon! 

Kind regards,
Santiago Escañuela
Asistente Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2006

My boyfriend and I loved this resort. We stayed for a week and didn't want to leave!!! Here are some of our thoughts:

Rooms:
We stayed in the Maya Suite. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. Some of the best nights sleep we've had in awhile.
The room was a decent size and the bathroom was luxurious. If you use the tub with the water jets, make sure the tub is full before you turn the jets on! I ended up flooding the bathroom! There was a make-up table and chair in there which I loved and both of us really enjoyed the outdoor rock shower! Rooms made immaculately every day. The room was facing the beach. We walked out of our room and were on the sand about 20 yards from the sea.

Food:
The buffets were alright. We can see why people complained about the food not being great but we were always able to find plenty of food that we enjoyed. There's no need to have to like everything in the buffet and there was some stuff that was not nice but far more that was delicious. The a la carte restaurants were very good, we particularly liked the Brazilian. They gave you plenty of time between courses to relax and chat where are others (particularly the Mexican) rushed between courses and you'd barely finished your starter when the main course was out. There was a beach bbq on Friday which was great fun. We had to share our table but met some nice people from Canada and enjoyed the meal talking to them. The corn on the cob was great!

Pools:
We loved the pools! The main pool was very nice. It is 5ft all around which wasn't too deep for us as we both can swim. We particularly liked all the smaller or hidden pools around the resort like the adult pools where the pools were more shallow. There were no kids being noisy and we could relax and read and swim in complete relaxation. The Jacuzzis were great as well. Oh, and at the smaller pools there were friendly iguanas that you could feed with bananas from the pool bar!

Resort:
We really enjoyed all of the walking. The buffet and pool were about a five minute walk from our room and we had great fun going through all the walkways through the jungle looking and listening for all the different wildlife. We were constantly told by the staff that it was too far to walk from Kantenah to the White Sands (the far end of the resort) but we did it all the time and found it quicker than waiting for the train, especially when you are running late for a dinner reservation!

Bars:
The service at the bars was good. A couple of times we had to wait for a while but tipping a couple of dollars helped to speed it up! The beer was great! We were expecting some dishwater as beer but it was actually very tasty!

Service:
The service overall was excellent. Everyone was so friendly and constantly smiling and eager to help. No problems with anything ever.

Overall:
A fantastic resort that we found perfect for a relaxing week away. We would have loved to have stayed for two though. We only left the resort once to go snorkeling at Cozumel (which was excellent) because we were enjoying the resort so much we didn't want to leave it! We're not the type of people to ever go to the same place twice (there's too much of the world left to see) but if we were we would definitely go back here.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank phlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your stay at the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa,  we are delighted to note that you had a pleasant experience on our lovely resort.

 It's our pleasure to have you visit and we look forward to your return. 

Best wishes
Santiago Escañuela
Asistente Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2006

My husband and I stayed at the kantenah with our two teenagers for 10 nights at the end of June. We had a fabulous vacation and are so glad we decided to stay there. The breakfast and lunch buffets were essentially the same every day but that was fine with us because there were so many choices. The evening buffets had a different theme each night and the food was good. We ate at the brazillian, italian, and steak restaurants. The steak restaurant was by far the best. I would not recommend the italian....not enough choices and the salads were rediculous. The resort had alot of planned activities to help keep the kids entertained. Xel-ha was a wonderful day trip. It's only 5-7 miles down the road so I would recommend just taking a taxi and forget about the tours. The one tour I would suggest taking is the one to Coba. If you can get on one of the Apple tours with Miriam your guaranteed to have a fantastic time. This was by far the best tour we have ever taken and the kids loved that they could climb the Coba pyramid (the only ruins where you can still climb the pyramids). The beach at the resort was beautiful....the fish practically would jump out of the water if you went out in the water with bread to feed them. The only complaint I had was the humidity. If we ever go back we'll make sure it's during the winter or spring. Overall it was a glorious place to stay.

Stayed: June 2006
23  Thank jlvdesertgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review and recommendation.
We appreciate your kind words on our beautiful grounds and resort amenities. Our staff is always there to assist and make your experience even greater. It’s our hope to be able to exceed your expectations once more.

 thank you for your visit; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to provide you with another enjoyable experience. 

Best wishes,
Santiago Escañuela
Asistente Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2006

We stayed at the Palladium-Kantenah in the Villas. The rooms was very nice and clean.
Food was terrible. All the buffets had different themes but had the same food.
The pasta bar was horrible. Couldn't imagine how that could be so screwed up.
You had to make reservations for the resturants. Only allowed 3 visits per 7 nite stay.
Food was not good there either
Not enough bartenders at any bar. At the swim up bar one poor bartender tried to please over 30 people. I am very thin and don't drink very often so I thought the drinks were weak.
Don't go there unless you want to do a TREMENDOUS amount of walking. I felt sorry for elderly and couples with babies. The train does not come every 15 minutes as advertised.
Beach was dirty with litter even first thing in the morning.
I would not go back..

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NIGELSMOM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2015

Thank you for taking the time to hare your standpoint about your experience at the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa.

It is of deepest regret to learn that your recent stay with us was anything less than exceptional. We appreciate that you took the time to provide this feedback as the points you have described are being reviewed by our Management Team as they share a common interest to ensure that these issues do not occur again. We apologize that we have missed the level our guests have come to expect from us. 

In short, thank you for your trust and hope that despite the issues you comment, you were able to create a nice memory of your vacation.

Regards
Santiago Escañuela
Asistente Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews