We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,552)
Filter reviews
6,552 results
Traveller rating
3,842
1,761
583
220
146
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,842
1,761
583
220
146
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ribs mayan suite beach bar a la carte restaurants el dorado fish the salt water pool the white sands main pool colonial lobby outdoor shower punta emilia adult pool junior suite hemingway bar white party make reservations
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 6,552 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We have stayed at Grand Palladium in Dominican but this was our first time to this side of Mexico. When we arrived the bellboy took our luggage to the room promptly. When we arrived the room was boiling hot the air conditioner was not on, we fooled around with it for a while but we still couldn't get it to work. We ended up calling the front desk and they sent someone to fix it which only took about 15 minutes. Our fridge was warm as well and was leaking water all over the place, he ended up fixing that at the same time. The room we were in needed a little TLC, it was nice but you can tell that it was ready for even just a paint job. The maids did a great job cleaning everyday and refilling our fridge.
The pools were nice but we preferred the pool at Whitesands. It was very quiet there, great drink service and the pool seemed a lot warmer then at the Colonial.
It was a short walk over to the beach which was pretty nice with lots of lounge chairs. If you went further down by the Colonia side it was extremely rocky.
We were able to take in a few of the a la carts - Steak house - this was our favourite. The steak was tender and the service was amazing, Italian - This was our second favourite but the one downfall was the portions were really small but very tasty. , Brazilian and Ribs and more, I would not recommend at all the service was awful at both and the food was very salty and tough. The buffets were good but we found ourselves going over to Whitesands often as the food there seemed more fresh, warmer and it wasn't as busy as the other buffets.The sports bar is great for some last night snakes and the food was pretty good as well.
Get your walking shoes on because it is a very big resort. Thankfully they have carts available all the time to take you around the resort.The more entertaining side is the Colonial, we were there every night. We didn't watch much of the entertainment in the evenings but others seemed to enjoy it.
Overall we would probably stay again at this resort.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank oceanbreeze77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the trust you have for our Palladium chain, we were delighted to welcome you for the first time in our Riviera Maya complex.

We are very pleased to hear of your favorite restaurants, pools and your appreciation for the night entertainment in the Colonial area.

On the other hand, we deeply regret the situations presented in your room upon arrival, even do we are proud of our team for responding and fixing everything, we apologize as we recognize that this should not have happened, rest assured that this will be addressed with the corresponding department Management.

We will also inform our chefs about your impression of the restaurants that were your less favorite and your observations will be considered to improve them, thank you for your feedback!

It will be wonderful to welcome you again, hopefully you will also make the Riviera Maya your second home in the Caribbean!

With kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We traveled to the GP resort last October. It was our first visit to Mexico and one we will never forget. The fact it has been half a year and only now am i writing a review shows the quality of the place. The resort is absolutely fantastic! I can't even sum up how immaculate the area is kept, the wildlife is incredible!! So much to see around the resort! The food is out of this world! I literally cannot understand how people can leave a bad review on this! The only meal which wasn't as good as others was in the Brazilian restaurant. The thai restaurant and El dorado steak house were the best - the cowboy steak is a must have!!

Me and my partner went to the adults only pool in the white sands area daily. It has a terrific little pool and lovely bar. Freddy made our holiday! He is an outstanding employee and one who i'd love to see again, he really could not to enough for us.

We will almost certainly be back to visit with the next year or 2, certainly caught the mexico bug!

Thanks again for making our holiday so special!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brello777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear Guest,

We are the ones that need to thank you so much for finally writing this wonderful review about your stay in October!

We feel very proud for making your first visit to México a memorable and unforgettable experience in this paradise, that we work very hard to keep beautiful, taking care of the nature and wildlife surrounding our facilities, so you can appreciate the real beauty of the Mayan Jungle.

Our chefs will be very proud to have managed to captivate your palate in different restaurants, and more attention will be placed on our Brazilian restaurant to be up to the qualities in others.

We will send these comments to Freddy so that he is also satisfied with his incredible performance when serving you at la Isla Bar.

It was a pleasure to make your holidays special and look forward to welcome you again!

Kindest regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

This was our third time at this resort, we were excited to go back as our previous two times were fantastic. We were given red wrist bands which said VIP on them, which doesn't get you anything more than other guests at the resort. We arrived at the resort at 10:30 in the morning hoping to check in early. We were dealing with a trainee at the front desk so he asked a co-worker if our room might be ready earlier than the regular 3 p check-in time. We were told to come back in an hour and see if our room was ready. When we went back we sat around in the lobby waiting for someone to figure out what was going on with our room. Finally after going back up to the counter over and over they said or room would be ready by 2pm. So we dug through our luggage and changed in the washroom. Went to the pool, for a bit, went back to the counter at 2 our room was not ready. We waited until almost 3:30 for our room. We had booked one of the Mayan suites because that is where had stayed the other two times. They are lovely rooms very close to the beach with an ocean view through the trees. We found that our room was a bit run down compared to just a year before. Not sure if it was because it was a different building than in 2017. This year we were put in Villa 34, room 3406, half the lights didn't work in the room, we had no outer deck lights working, we would get an over-whelming sewage smell in the room at least once a day. There was termite damage to the closet door trim. Our shower would run super hot every once in a while, so hot we couldn't stand it. The plumbing made weird noises all night. The stairs to our room needed some repair as well. We hit a few loose boards. The one robe in our room was stained.
On to the food, we ate at the El Dorado steak house one night, service was slower than usual but still good, I had the filet steak, other than being more under-cooked than I asked for it was good. My wife had the T-bone which was awful, full of fat and grisle, needless to say she left most on the plate. The next night we ate at the Brazilian place, I believe it was called O'Pavao, it was decent food and service there,except after waiting for 10 minutes and not seeing our waiter we just left without getting our dessert.
The buffets were about the same as previous except the nightly theme was a weekly theme. Every night we ate at buffet it was Oriental night, kind of disappointing to have the same food every night.
The El Gran Azul buffet for lunch was quite good, good selection and nice hot food.
The pools were good, water was a good temperature in all three pools we went to, bar service was good. We were very disappointed that we were not able to use the salt water pool anymore as it is now exclusive to The Royal Suites section only.
All in all we were not as impressed with whole resort, the rooms are adequate but not worth what we paid, we will not return for a fourth visit.

Room tip: Mayan Suites are the only rooms we have stayed at, this years room was a bit run down
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank PaulTeresa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear PaulTeresa2014,

Thank you for returning for the 3rd time to our Hotel Grand Palladium Kantenah, it has always been an honor welcoming you!

We feel very sad to read the impression you took home of our Hotel services and facilities on this occasion, as we would have love to know about it while you were here, to make sure your stay was nothing less than grand, starting with the irregularities in your room.

We truly apologize for not fulfilling your expectations also in terms of food, we can assure you that your observations regarding the quality of dinner and service at our restaurants “El Dorado” and “O´Pavao” will be improved by our chefs and all their team.

We hope to restore your faith in us, the same faith that made you choose us for your vacation during the last 3 visits to the beautiful Riviera Maya, rest assured that the most important is your satisfaction and we will do everything in our power to provide you a better experience, should you decide to return in the future.

With kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We have been to all the different sections of the "Palladium" including the Colonial, the White Sands, the Royal suites and the Riviera over 25 times and if you want a quieter closer to the beach room, this is perfect.. Just a short walk away from the Restaurants, the main pool and a plus is that the "royal section" beach is right there!

Date of stay: May 2017
4  Thank EileenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Eileen,

We are so glad to hear of your satisfaction with our rooms in Kantenah!

It is truly fantastic to have your trust for all this years and welcome you during this trips to México is our greatest honor.

We know that our readers will appreciate your suggestions in termos of room location, especially with your experience in the different areas of the Hotel.

All the staff, that considers you part of our family, its anxious to give you a warm welcome back on your next visit, your home away home remains with the doors open until you return!

Kindest regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Beautiful location

Location is super, hotel complex is large with little carts and trains to take you around the other resorts. You don’t feel like you are over-crowded

Rooms
Junior suite large enough for 2 adults and 1 child, marble flooring so take some comfy shoes for padding around the room as feet get tired.
Tip – take a 3 way /4 way extension plug as not enough power points in the room.
Bathroom a good size – Built-in Hairdryer in the bathroom. Good mirrors and working order toilet. Take note RIU: bath is actually contained in the bathroom
Large safe and plenty of space in wardrobe for clothes and empty cases.
Fridge –not very cold but filled with water and non-alcoholic drinks. Coffee is an old-fashioned filter machine so if you like your tea or special coffee take a travel kettle. Cups in the room so again if you like a large cup of something take travel mugs.
Good aircon and fan.
Numerous channels on the TV if you would like to watch it.
Free wifi – mostly good sometimes, understandably, patchy at the beach.
Maids do a fantastic job of cleaning rooms – no set time to when they will come.

Grounds
Beautiful grounds – feels like you are walking through the jungle – lots of covered walkways to get you from A to B and – raised walkways through the mangroves.
Lots different types of birds, Iguanas, Coatis, Butterflies, Moths & Agoutis to see on your walk through – you may even be lucky enough to see a spider monkey. Oh and of course the odd resident cat that look likes it need a good feed but think they do fairly well from tip bits.
At dusk you get hear the resident frogs although as they are so tiny – we have yet to see one.
The ground staff work really hard to keep it special for us all – thank you to them for working in the hot temperatures for our enjoyment and protecting the environment.
Flamingos near receptions well cared for by the hotel staff and in a natural environment.
As you are located in the jungle I would highly recommend strong DEET mozzy spray and to be applied at dusk and buy sunscreen with it in for during the day – the walk back from the beach/pool at the end of the day is when we got bitten!

Environmental Policy
Good environmental policy – separate waste for paper and alternatives – drinking straws only handed out when asked for which is super so they don’t end up at sea. Plastic cups for around the pool and beach are reused – and locations to drop them off. Well done Palladium.
Beach
Kept very clean and the staff do a fab job of cleaning up any sea grass that gets washed up.
Very special turtle enclosure where the Mexican turtle conservation programme staff do a wonderful job, absolutely a once in a lifetime opportunity to see these baby turtles released back to the sea. They work long and hard evenings making sure the adult turtles coming in to lay their eggs are safe and the baby turtles make their way back out to sea. Please respect the conservation staff when they ask you not to get too close, touch or use flash photography. In my opinion, seeing their conservation work is an experience which puts the cruel sham of the dolphin encounters at other resorts into perspective. There are reasons for us not to touch - they wear special gloves and the majority of us are wearing mozzy spray – human touch could ultimately mean an unwell turtle that does not survive on it’s journey. Flash photos confuse the baby and mother turtles and often results in mothers returning without laying eggs and babies getting confused or blinded by the event. Expect to stand in the dark to watch this amazing wildlife experience and it not to be at a set time for us – has to be right for the staff and the turtles. NB it’s not part of the entertainment programme!

Beach bar staff are very friendly and can’t do enough to help you. Ice cream available at the beach bar and at lunch time buffet.

Entertainment
Large theatre for night time entertainment and the dancers and entertainment team work very hard to please all. Very professional shows.
Food
They do offer a card system for those with special diets – we didn’t need one for being vegetarian however - see this as positive for those with very special diets. As a vegetarian, there is choice although don’t expect that choice to change throughout your stay. The same products /meals pretty much every day. Would be nice for the hotel to maybe add some different meals to their repertoire as it has pretty much been the same choice for years.
Not so positive:
Buffet - reduction in quality over the last few years. Food is not served at the correct temperature – often cold. The only way to get hot food is by the show cooking, soup or the pasta bar. The staff seem to be just putting out ready prepared food – pizzas are stone cold and vegetables often hard sitting in luke warm water. There doesn’t appear to be any mechanism for the staff to heat or bring out food hot – it appears to be just a preparation area behind the closed doors where food is brought in. The food temperatures was mentioned to the managers on several occasions especially at breakfast where you could get a cold hash brown! This is the same in all of the buffets in the evening that we experienced.
Evening Buffets – the maitre d that asks for your room number and take you to a table are not that friendly – they don’t take any preference request and again seem to favour the travel club members. Not sure why but we were often offered a table where everyone else is queuing (kind of feeling not very special) this happened even when we were dressed for a special occasion. We were, as a family, not asking for special treatment just some respect and a table out of the way. Disappointing.
Evening buffet – on the last week we were there we did see some cockroaches around the deserts. This we have never experienced before on any of other 5 other visits to this resort. This was mentioned to the management at the time.

Lunch time – buffet (near pool)
Food isn’t great but OK for lunch time snacks and there are plenty of different breads and salad for you to choose from. There are staff preparing hot food fresh – tip: wait for a new batch to be put out – lunch simple food such as wedges, burgers, paella and fries. Strangely the pizza rotisserie still stone cold!

Palladium – please sort out your food temperatures in the buffets – this would make a huge difference to people’s opinion and is letting down the awesome resort you have. W have noticed even some of the latest reviews (Jan 18) still talk about warm food. We know that you are capable as have enjoyed hot food with you on past visits. Please consider addressing.
Restaurants – Italian we tried – food actually arrives hot – however they preference the travel club so you may need to wait for a table. There could be a queue however the travel club always jumps to the front. This didn’t used to be a problem however, on observation, this seems to have increased this last visit. They also seem quick to ask you to complete a satisfaction survey!
Bar drinks – evening
OK but not a great choice for those who don’t like beer, rum or vodka. Wine also not the greatest.
Most of the staff are lovely. They work very hard – long hours in high temperatures so keeping a smile on their faces must be difficult at times but they manage it! A special mention goes to the team at La Jarra bar.

Travel Club/ Royal guests
This does seem to be taking over somewhat – from observations on our from our last trip. Less carts/buggies available to the rest of the resort – more whizzing by just specially for travel club members. We do realise that these people pay a premium however without the regular customer the resort would not be in existence. Do hope that this does not grow to the point that other guests are completely disrespected. We travel a very long way to visit this hotel and spend good money to do so – Last trip we were starting to feel like second-class guests. Also worth noting, The royal areas are for adults only and as we travel as a family we do not like to be excluded from better pools, better areas of the beach or better restaurants.

We hear rumours of plans to expand beach areas specifically for travel club and royal guests at the Kantenah – this would sadden us – we are happy they have their own little exclusive areas but if this expands to make us feel closed-in, when we feel we have space with the way things are, then we would not find this acceptable.

Overall – beautiful hotel, fab rooms.
Some teething problems with the food temperatures – which can easily be resolved by management. Staff training for some on how to treat a customer politely – again, easily solved and Travel Club needs to be kept in check.

It pains me to write negatives about this hotel however we see this as an opportunity for the hotel to take on board comments and resolve as they are all easily fixed.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for thinking of us again after your last visit in August last year.

We truly appreciate your comment and it is fantastic to know that you have been here for 5th times and still love our comfortable rooms, entertainment, our environmental policy and our care for the natural surroundings.

Regarding the food temperature, this subject has been addressed by our Food & Beverage Manager and his team, we feel sad to know that this is still an area of improvement, we can assure you that they will find the best way to resolve this situation.

We also feel very concerned to read your opinion about the golf carts, no cart was taken from those that already existed for our regular visitors, on the contrary, we made sure to purchase more carts to offer service for Travel Club Members and TRS guests, with the purpose of releasing the regular carts to meet the demand of our guests.

Nevertheless, we will consider your comments as this is the best way to know, what our clients consider of the changes we make in our complex. Ultimately, what interests us most is that our guests are satisfied and return year after year to enjoy an excellent vacation.

We look forward to giving you a warm welcome back on your next stay.

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews